We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming home from home”
Review of Fell View

Fell View
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fell View
2 reviews
“A welcoming home from home”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I love it here. There is a gentle and kind family atmosphere with the generous owners own children highly involved in making your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are clean and fully equipped with Wiis, DVD player and a selection of DVDs and their own convenience store just below. They even went out if their way to get me and my friends bacon sarnies in the morning of my wedding. Could not recommend it more than you MUST stay here. A true home from home. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symmoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here the night before my wedding. The rooms were a great size, the staff were friendly and catered to all my needs. It was also conveniently next to a shop. The area was lovely with lots of great pubs and tourist attractions close by. Plus we got an amazing breakfast in the morning! 5 stars. Will definitely be coming back. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamAlfredBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Although basic this B&B had everything you could need. The staff were extremely friendly and keen to offer tips. The rooms were a very good size and with a TV and DVD player. There was no cooked option for breakfast but the selection was fantastic.
Considering the location it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter-Dean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Fell View for two nights. It's a 1 (maybe 2?) room B&B above the local newsagent, run by a lovely couple. They were very accommodating, making every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. The room was ideal and had every amenity (see previous review - the list is long!). Breakfast was simple bit entirely adequate, and we were offered a choice of paper each morning which was a lovely touch. We asked check out late on Sunday which was no problem as they had no guests that night. The location was really ideal. All in all this was a super little find, not 'luxury' but then we didn't want that, and Fell View was far better value than other places in the area. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester - England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A lovely little B&B run by a very friendly couple. Room had everything you could need & more. Fridge, DVD player, Wii, toiletries and even a bowl of mints. Breakfast was continental but still lots to choose from and very enjoyable. There is a pay & display car park on the street behind the B&B where we paid £15 for 3 days parking (saved keep returning to put more cash in the meter).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in February 2013 and it was fantastic! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

We had a double room which was en suite, and was much bigger than we expected. We had gorgeous mountain views too. The room has excellent facilities; Sky TV, DVD player, Nintendo Wii, a blackboard (!!!) and an extra heater as well as the radiator. The room is decorated very nicely, very tasteful and relaxing.

A continental breakfast is provided and the dining room is left open for you to use if you get a take away etc.

It's located within walking distance of shops (A corner shop being literally next door) restaurants and pubs.

The owners themselves couldn't be more helpful, they explained everything to us as soon as we arrived (eg about the dining room) and were extremely helpful when we didn't know where to park our car. They let us know that if we needed anything we could give them a knock and they'd see if they could help, offering to get us the morning paper etc.

The only downside is the parking, but even that isn't too big of a deal. At most it's irritating having to get up to put more money in the meter as it runs out at 8am, but it's only £1 to park overnight so you really can't complain too much!

I've already told friends and family about this hotel, and we will definitely stay again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After visiting the lakes for years paying high prices for B&B that at the end of the night are a place to rest your weary head after walking eating and drinking, it was nice to find a nice place to stay at a reasonable cost. This coupled with the really helpful owners and the extensive continental breakfast provided in the morning made for a great short break. It was incredible that the owners had the newsagents and store, ran the B&B along with bringing up their young baby but nothing seemed to phase them. Good luck to the young couple in their business venture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciferManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smallwood House Hotel
Smallwood House Hotel
#58 of 103 in Ambleside
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Churchill Inn
The Churchill Inn
#83 of 103 in Ambleside
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell View

Property: Fell View
Address: Cambridge House Church Street | Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fell View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fell View Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing