We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning mountain scenery - great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning mountain scenery – great little hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

There’s lots to like about the New Dungeon Gyill from its traditional Lakeland building with a walkers bar and large garden to its stunning setting. There’s a couple of different room types available at reasonable rates, we stayed for 2 nights in a premium room, we were up in roof, a slightly small but modern room, well furnished with a good level of facilities and a reasonably sized modern en-suite bathroom. There’s also Wi-Fi should you need it! The hotel was full but we didn’t really here much noise from the other guests and the level of service from the staff was excellent. There was a fault with our shower that was instantly fixed by housekeeping. The hotel has a separate lounge for guests and a drying room for walkers.

The breakfast options were ok, the service was good but experience perhaps wasn’t quite as good as it could be compared with other hotels & B&B’s in the area. There’s nothing wrong I just think they’re missing a trick here as they need to make more of a noise of the fact that they are using local produce and the setting. Which they probably do in the restaurant but we didn’t visit on this occasion.

Overall a great little well run hotel in an unbeatable setting for exploring the lakes and the Langdale valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and these have been passed on to all our staff, we have got a great team and we are very lucky.
I have taken on board your comments about the breakfast facilities, we do on our bar menu and restaurant menu explain the hotels history and were our food is sourced from, we will be adding it to our breakfast menu early 2014, thanks for the idea!!

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    136
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
219
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

3rd stay at New Dungeon Ghyll with group of friends for walking weekend. We were lucky with the weather so didn't need to spend a lot of the time inside.
The great attraction with this hotel is the food + you can get some good deals out of season.
On the minus side, there are only 4 rooms with baths. After a days walking I just wanted to soak to ease my aching muscles!
However, we will be back, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior and a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It was lovely to see you all again and thank you for your lovely comments.

We do only have 4 baths but the rest of the rooms have nice big double showers
See you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentat, France
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have just spent two nights here with my parents in their 90s.We really enjoyed the stay,the staff were all ,without exception, superb.Value for money is how I would describe our stay,food very good,way ,way ,above pub food as may be expected by the special deal tariff.I like the atmosphere of this hotel,yes ,as with many old buildings of this type,there are areas which need refurb,but this in my opinion,is immaterial ,this is an honest ,good value place to stay,which I will most certainly visit again.
David Beveridge

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, as mentioned in previous comments we pride ourselves on our home cooked food and I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team.
We have now refurbished our last 3 bedrooms and the public toilets are our next project for jan 2014. It is a on going process.
Hope to see you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel in a picturesque setting. We didn't realize that it was 20 minutes (of very twisty roads) outside of Ambleside. It was a beautiful drive, and therefore not really a drawback. The rooms were clean, there was a pub attached and others nearby, and the staff was lovely. It was very peaceful - the only noise was from the sheep nearby, the windows actually opened, and there were lots of trails nearby. If I had ti to do over again, I would've allotted several days to explore them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmerGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Take a look on our web site for our Winter offers and come and explore some more.
Thanks for the great comments, have passed them onto our team.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two night special deal stay through TravelZoo and we arrived to a very warm family welcome. The rooms are clean, cosy and comfortable. The service is fantastic and hotel staff extremely friendly and attentive. If you're looking for a hotel that serves Nouveau cuisine then don't book here. The food is extremely good value, and all home cooked. As someone who has previously worked and trained at Claridge's hotel, London I can say that it's a true delight to stay in a 'home' that still values the 'silver service tradition'. Yes the rooms could do with a revamp....but if you're looking for a comfortable clean bed and food/wine/service is more important to you then this place is a GEM....we will be returning!!! p.s the walk up to Pavey Ark from the cottage is one hell of a beautiful early morning climb!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoghurtshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was lovely meeting you and thank you for your lovely comments, I have passed them on to all of our team.
You will be please to know that rooms 8 9 and 10 are starting the big refurbishment next Monday , so on your next visit they will be all shiny and new!

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having won a meal for two in a raffle a few weeks earlier, we decided to book in for bed and breakfast to make an occasion of it. On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant young lady who checked our booking and showed us to our room. We then proceeded to the bar for an afternoon tipple, and although we had a bit of a wait for someone to serve us we were happy to just enjoy relaxing. In the evening we had a very nice meal, very small menu but we were happy with our selection. When we got back to our room I noticed cobwebs, every corner, light fittings, in the bathroom some were quite large and you could see that they had been there for quite a number of days. My husband the spent about 10 minutes having to get rid of them, I am terrified of spiders so you can imagine how I felt. The bed was very comfy and with a few glasses of wine we both had a good nights sleep. In the morning we went down for breakfast were there was a good choice on the menu, all in all we had a good time, but please make sure there are no cobwebs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we gave Fiona a raffle prize of 2 free 5 course dinners in aid of raising money for her sons appeal.
Sorry about the cobwebs, they tend to appear from nowhere, I mentioned it to our housekeeping team and there were no signs, your husband must have done great job, ask him if he would like a job!!

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There were 17 of us lads for three nights at the NDG. We've been walking together every year, usually in the Lakes, for getting on 40 years. We're used to a different hotel but decided on a change. And I'm pretty confident we'll go back. The hotel was warm, comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We ate all the smashing breakfasts and then we ate in the bar one night, the restaurant another and out on night three. The food at the hotel was lovely. They even offered us a special rate, which made it even better. Just go. It's great. They'll look after you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
You are more than welcome to come back after giving us such nice reviews!!
We are just in the process of sorting out next years trip with your team leader.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#11 of 12 in Ambleside
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,188 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing