We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All mod cons in another beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All mod cons in another beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely clean, spacious room with all mod cons which is nice to find in an older building and large bathroom with good hot shower plus nice attached gardens. Excellent packed lunch with a bit of variety. Good food and seating outside great with Pike of Stickle towering over you I don't think you will find a much better view in the Lakes and nice breakfast in the morning. Bathroom extractor fans a bit noisy but they shut off on a night so no real problem if you are out all day. Staff fine.The walkers bar does not have the same character as the Old Dungeon Ghyll but it is literally only 15 minutes down the road for a visit and if you like your home comforts the New Dungeon Ghyll will be for you. Yep one of those hotels you have to visit and I will be back probably quite soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuffofStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
What lovely comments thank you very much, we are trying to add the little extras in the rooms and our guests are really appreciating them. We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    129
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
59
208
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

this really has to be one of my favourite hotels - the perfect setting for walking in the Langdales. We stayed for one night - the room and breakfast both excellent, a little more expensive than staying in Ambleside but then it is worth it for the location. Room and bathroom were both very clean, plently of amenities, comfy bed and lovely view. The walkers bar is excellent, we eat there. The wifi is complementary but a little patchy around the hotel, no phone signal but sometimes that is a blessing. The staff were excellent, attentive, polite and helpful. Will definitely come here again. Only negative was the packed lunch which was too expensive for what it was, but then there are no shops around - better to eat more breakfast and have your own snacks.

Room Tip: they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Owner at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write such a lovely review and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Popped in here for a bite to eat whilst staying next door at Mellbeck Farm. Good food, reasonably priced and served with a smile. We eat in the bar which had a lovely atmosphere. Would imagine it would be a lovely place to stay as it is in such a beautiful setting under the Langdales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, General Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed our food. I will pass the comments onto our happy team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The service was great, we were a pain in that my partner had to go back to our hotel for something. Making the chef and 7 orders out of sink... Food was great fresh, hot and tasty, we did miss having dessert by 10 minutes which was a shame.We couldn't tell if the chef was hurried or not, and the young chap who served us was very friendly and polite. Will defiantly come back and maybe even stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LandJaccount R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, General Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your great comments and glad you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are experienced fell walkers, in our retirement and very familiar with the rest of the Lake District. We eventually decided to try the Langdales, by way of a change, on the recommendation of an artist neighbour who goes there several times a year to paint. Who could fail to be enchanted by the location. Our room at the hotel was very comfortable and kept in immaculate condition while we were there. The staff were all smiling, attentive, friendly and efficient. Breakfast is a particularly delightful experience and the food at the hotel is generally superb. After a days exploring the local peaks we tended to opt for bar meals in the evening, rather than book into the restaurant but the standard is still very high. We look forward to another visit as soon as possible. Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and making our stay such a pleasant experience. Graham and Linda Phoenix.

Room Tip: We have only been once but our room on the first floor overlooking the enclosed lawn area was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
What great comments and Thank you very much, hope it will not be your last visit to the beautiful Langdale valley and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have stayed here previously and again found the staff to be friendly and efficient. Good breakfast but we ate at the pub next door which has great food so can't comment on the evening meals.

Room was nice but we were on the top floor which was very hot. We will choose a lower room next time.

Hotel has wifi and is in a great location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilbo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write such lovely comments.
It was extremely hot last weekend, the building does tend to keep the heat in as the walls are so thick, but it is lovely and toasty in the winter months.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spent two nights last weekend at the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. I was extremely pleased - I agree with other reviewers that the staff is great, the food is very good, and the rates (food and room) are very reasonable. I stayed in a superior double room and found it to be spacious with a very comfortable bed. And the location is absolutely stunning. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front tend to get noise from the pub. The rooms on the top floor have a skylight in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RY1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to see you soon, hopefully with the same weather!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing