We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the new dungeon gyhll for 2 nights early February. We were walking langdale pikes and wanted to be based close by. The best thing about this hotel is location absolutely beautiful and you can start walking straight from the hotel . It is not the cheapest option but you are paying for where it is. The room was great, we upgraded to a superior room, huge comfy bed and big bath great after a day walking. The food was average not brilliant but not terrible. Service was good and the staff were very welcoming. The hotel is clean and warm with a log fire in the guest bar.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    137
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
63
219
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here on a recent walking trip in the Lake District. The staff were very friendly and the room (and corridors) all looked clean and recently refurbished, with thick carpets and newish looking furniture. The bed was a little softer than we like, but not enough to disturb our sleep.

Breakfast was standard B&B fare although the cooked breakfast portions were quite small. If you are a walker with a large appetite trying to set yourself up for a day of walking, rather than an elderly couple who are there to go sight-seeing (which seemed to be the majority of the other patrons that night) then you will need to stock up on cereals and yoghurts. However, if hard-core walkers are only a small part of their clientele then it is probably better that they avoid waste by doing the smaller portions.

Our main gripe was dinner. The fire was lit in the lounge bar but not in the walkers bar, so the walkers bar was very cold. However, when we got downstairs to eat, every table in the lounge bar was full, so we had no choice. At the other end of a fantastic, large and simple meal we walked back through the lounge bar to find that it was empty. Everyone had been sat in there enjoying their pre-dinner drinks while they made menu choices to then be seated in the dining room, and there would have been space for us in the warm lounge bar after all!

Since there is also a spacious lounge just across the hallway perhaps they could encourage residents eating in the dining room to sit and enjoy their drinks in the lounge, instead of the bar. This would leave the lounge bar with enough space for those residents wanting bar food for the night. Especially since they offer a discount on bar food for residents, so I expect a number of residents do choose to eat there. That or light the fire in the walkers bar too on a cold February evening, but with the sparse 5 people who sat and ate in the walkers bar all evening that wouldn't have been very economical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your great comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologise about the bar fire, as the notice mentions we found a crack in the chimney lining and it is not safe to light that fire. A new fire and the chimney lining will be fitted as soon as possible.
Many of our guests do have dinner and all tend to come down at about the same time to have pre dinner drinks etc and once they are eating in the restauarnt both lounges are empty for a couple of hours.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband i have stayed before so know the location was brilliant and the hotel warm and friendly hence we into talk our friends into coming with us for a long weekend. The new decor is wonderful -it’s really lifted the place and the new reception area looks really smart to. The logs burning fires were in full swing all our stay and every time we walk past the lounge.... we had to call in just to check the fire. The rooms we had were very good but I agree with the comment that the beds are a bit old and tired now and it was not the most comfortable bed I have stayed in (room 15)but against everything else it’s did not spoil our stay and the room was nice and big. One thing that will pull us back again and again is all your staff, from the lovely couple (the man with a hole in his ear and his wife with a caravan on her Mum's drive) to the Aussie lady, the bar man who could pull a wonderful pint and not forgetting the lovely blonde breakfast woman - what a wonderful lot you all.....nothing was too much trouble and after 9/10 hours walking ....we were hungry and all the food was brilliant....even the leafs and tomatoes :) thank you for a wonderful say ….. we will be back including the lady with the big laugh!!! Who made an impression wherever we went

Room Tip: if you are on the top there are quite a few staires.......and we struggled aftera few days on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your great comments, we have many people who come back year after year and it makes a lovely atmosphere. We all love the newly refurbished hall and reception and are getting great comments from all our guests. I will pass your lovely comments about our staff onto them, they love getting the feed back from our guests.Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

In August 2012 I stayed at the Wasdale Head Inn - and was gravely disappointed with the food. It made me ill (on my wedding anniversary) and I wrote a review. The place never talked to me about my stay or responded.

So this spring when wishing to go back to the Lake District my wife and I decided to stay well away. We stayed instead at the NDG. I cannot fault the stay. We enjoyed stomping across the fells in freezing February weather to return to log fires burning in the lounges. Wonderful room, great showers etc. The staff - especially the manageress (a north country lady if ever there was one) - were tip top. The food was simply outstanding. It came in a new cuisine style which some might think is out of place in such a traditional setting but I have to say it was excellent - fresh vegetables, well cooked meat, wonderful desserts. (The wine and beer were in great condition as well.)

If you are thinking of visiting a traditional Lake District Hotel with a bit of history avoid Wasdale Head Inn and go for the New Dungeon Ghyll.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_MOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for your great comments. I will pass them onto our team.
I am a typical northern girl originally from Manchester but have been at The Ndg hotel for about 22 years, definatley giving my age away now!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived a the New Dungeon Ghyll yesterday for one night as a Winter break and it fulfilled every expectation.

I have some happy memories of late teenage years at the Old Dungeon Ghyll but never been to the 'new' hotel. In my view, the Great Langdale's are the best part of the Lakes.

So the positives are:

1. Warm and cosy hotel with nice decor and lovely carpets
2. Spotlessly clean and comfortable room (Room 11)
3. Lovely bathroom which looked virtually new with great shower.
4. Views of the valley and fells 'to die for' from the bedroom window.
5. Faultless breakfast in a lovely dining room.
6. Friendly staff who actually smile and are extremely helpful.
7. Walkers bar where we spent the whole of last night and a great night too (Stickle Barn Tavern closed for some reason)
8. The perfect place to 'get away from it all' whether you are a walker or not.

Negatives:

1. That we probably wont get the chance to go back until the summer.

Room Tip: Room 11 is not big but it has the bathroom and views to make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, General Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
What lovely comments, thanks very much. I will pass on the great comments to the rest of our team.
Hope to see you in the Summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel in a midst of a snow and rain storm to the owner very kindly shovelling snow from the carpark (thank you!)

We then walked up to the front door of the hotel, wrapped up with practically every winter item of clothing we own, wind blowing a gale, whilst carrying our heavy bags... Only to be greeted by a notice on the door informing us to remove our footwear so not to get any marks on their new carpet (which was lovely ;))!

Greeted by a lovely young lady and shown to a superior room (no4). Beautifully decorated and very very spacious. Lovely bathroom. Only minor grumble is that the mattress was a bit worn and really sloped down towards the headboard. We both found it a bit uncomfortable all night. Food in the bar was lovely and a good size. Really helpful staff and great barstaff too. Wonderful real fire burnt all night to keep us warm. Breakfast was beautiful too. All in all, a really wonderful night :))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
What lovely comments, thanks very much.

Sorry about the shoe sign but when we had our new carpet in the lounge colour was coming out of the carpet and when the company tested it they said it was due to the salt on the paths that we put down to stop guests slipping.So I think I am being a bot over protective as I dont want it happening again.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the New Dungeon Ghyll many times over the last 8 years. Every time I've visited, I have thoroughly enjoyed my break . Just come back from a weekend away there , lovely snowy conditions in the fells and a very warm welcome in the hotel . Just perfect

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank waggy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again, hope to see you again soon but no more snow please!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
11.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#11 of 12 in Ambleside
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
13.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing