We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
213
145
54
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
145
54
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalkers barlangdale valleygreat langdalelake districtsuperior roombar mealsrelaxing hotelresidents loungeamazing locationwi fipacked lunchkipperslong walklovely bathroomdrying roomthe ground floordays walking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 445 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tranquil location and great service, particularly at dinner where questions were professionally answered by the young staff and service was friendly and helpful. I'd welcome a chance to go back with immediate fells access, and is a remote hotel that has at a couple of alternatively drinking and dining options nearby if you don't want to eat/drink at the hotel. It is also possible reach from Ambleside or further afield via bus, though you may need to walk the 20 minutes or so from Old Dungeon Ghyll. That can be done along the road or via the National Trust car park. Our premium 4 post bed room seemed to be due for some updating, so hopefully that will happen soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarefootJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and the service, we are very lucky to have such great staff. Our 4 poster room is due a refurbishment early 2013 so should be ready if you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel now five times to celebrate various events. This time it was my wife's 6oth birthday. Once again, we could not fault the hotel. The staff as always offer a warm welcome and are always on hand throughout the day. The room again was excellent (The Garden Room) which opened out onto the lawn at the side of the hotel. The room was spotless and the bathroom (with a super double shower) must be the warmest place on the planet! The towels were all luxurious and looked and felt new - no fraying edges here! The bathrobes were a pleasant surprise and again, like the towels were a luxurious.At my request, the hotel had kindly organised for a flower arrangement and champagne to be left in the room on our arrival. And sure enough, they were waiting there for us. The food in the dining room was, as always outstanding, as was the service. The wine was reasonably priced. As other visitors have commented, the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. When we visit the Lakedistrict, we never think of staying anywhere else as The New Dungeon Ghyll ticks all the boxes, fabulous location, relaxing and great food. Well done to you all, and Rebecca, please do not divorce the chef!

Room Tip: We have always booked a superior room I would recommend The Garden Room as it opens out onto the lawned garden at the side of the hotel and is very quiet. You also have easy access to the car park.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

What lovely comments and it was great to see you again, we are always trying to improve our service and facilities and the robes are one of our new facilities in our superior rooms.

The food will still be great next time as I wont be divorcing him soon (shame he says!!)
Hope to See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's the usual Trip Advisor problem, the Hotel is Good, neither Average nor Very Good, our normal TA choices. Great staff, good beds, check whether you have a shower, some only baths and after a day on the fells, I want a shower. Dinner food average,but courses too variable, despite the great table settings, excellent breakfast.Good bar, and choice of beers Malts.Unlike many Lake District hotels you don't feel as though you are in an old peoples home, plenty of young / youngish walkers and apart from the lighting / decor in the lounge, its bright and breezy Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments, we do try to please all our guests and you must have had the only bedroom in the hotel without a shower and only a bath. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We took the mid-week offer, and were very happy with it. It's a great location with easy access to loads of walks, and we finally made it to the top of Bowfell in clear (if damp) conditions! The breakfast is good enough to last most of the day, and the evening meals were interesting and satisfying. We didn't try the wine list as we had already spent time in the pub next door...

I have to say that, after 5 mornings and evenings with the same short loop of background music, I was ready to scream each time I heard certain tracks come up!

The room was lovely, the shower was a real pleasure to use and the towels...although somewhat frayed, they were so good at drying (isn't that what a towel's for?) I wanted to take one home!

Wifi was flaky - I guess it's the remote location, but not sure it was good enough to advertise as a feature. Not that we were bothered.

Everyone was friendly and helpful. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments, we apologise about the music, the i pod was on its last legs but a new one has been bought with 2000 tunes to pick from!!

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The room was very comfortable and we had a great view of the Langdale valley from out of the window. The staff were all helpful and they served good beers in the bar, at a reasonable cost. We had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights and really enjoyed the food which was very tasty and we both thought that the portion size was good. The price for the hotel wasnt too bad compared to the general price in the Lakes and was reasonsable value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments and we agree that we are situated in a awesome location !!
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews