We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

The Giggling Goose Cafe
Ranked #60 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been to this cafe a couple of times and it has never disappointed. I love the ambience and the location - next to the babbling stream, and the quirkiness of the cafe layout. The cake is absolutely magnificent - served in enormous slices. It all homemade and tastes delicious. Have never tried any of the proper food - so can't comment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    152
    55
    38
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So cute”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just spent a week in Ambleside and enjoyed a couple of lovely visit to the giggling goose. Lovely staff, great coffee, yummy food. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great tea and cakes”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited early September for afternoon tea. Sat outside in its fantastic location, very pretty next to the river. Service was good and it was value for money. Everything home made - will definitely recommend to friends and family visiting the area

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megg092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Grear Cafe”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Giggling Goose is a very nice little cafe hidden away from Ambleside's main shopping drag.

We only had tea and scones but they could easily have fed four. A usefull tip would be to buy one scone between two.

Managed to sit outside by the river which is a great setting. Althrough we didn't have a meal those on other tables looked very good.

Only minor point were the very odd and authoritarian code of conduct printed on the menu. While wholy common sense it had a very unwelcoming tone which made me question the politeness of the owners. However, it did seem to be in context with Ambleside's general begrudding acceptance of tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We regularly visit Ambleside and have got a bit 'stuck in a rut' with the cafes we visit. Decided to visit the Giggling Goose as the weather was too good to sit inside. We sat out at the table by the water. Absolutely lovely!! The road noise was blocked out by the running water- very tranquil. We ordered in side and had coffee and cakes- super coffee, thich toast with nice jam, and a berry flap-jack which was the nicest I have ever had. The inside was furnished nicely and seemed very cosy, one to go to in the bad weather. A really excellent find- the menu looks great- will definitely try again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giggling Goose Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Giggling Goose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing