We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freindly little Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giggling Goose Cafe

The Giggling Goose Cafe
Ranked #74 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Freindly little Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Friendly cafe which is dog friendly, serving great home made food, very pleasant staff with a warm welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    139
    51
    34
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A chilly day in Ambleside (snow on the ground) led us to rediscover this gem in a converted mill. The menu is not large, nor would we wish it to be so, but enough for me to take my time over deciding what to order! Having seen a quiche delivered to a neighbouring table, that was my choice made. Honestly, what a massive portion for what I considered was a competitive price (especially compared with other cafes in the local area). It really was homemade and delicious - served with a large side salad (evidently the owners had read Phil B's review!). My husband had a jacket potato with beans and cheese - and a large side salad.

The counter service was friendly and efficient, serving us as quickly as possible. No mean feat when 3 tables all arrived at once wanting various combinations of savoury and cakes. Sadly, although we had gone with every intention of devouring cakes, our main courses were far too ample to leave room for anything else.

We'd definitely return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food, flat service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A respite from the rain, GG was our second choice as Ambleside was very busy.

The food menu isn't extensive but very wholesome and not bad value - some might say above average price relative to quantity? I had a veg quiche which was nicely baked with fresh ingredients and well presented; I would have appreciated a little more salad/garnish as the quiche looked a little lonely on the plate. The pot of tea was lovely. Other five members of our party thoroughly enjoyed their food.

Downside? The staff may just have been warn out, however, they just lacked enthusiasm and personality for me.

Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Out of the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just a duck into this cafe out of the rain turned into a lovely sandwich and good coffee, very small but excellent food, and free good advice on evening resturants in ambleside

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food dissapointing given the price. The staff dissinterested and our opinion rude to other people having a meal. Maybe it was a bad day, I dont know but we were not impressed given the attractive location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giggling Goose Cafe also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Giggling Goose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing