We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I listened to positive reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Treff

Cafe Treff
Ranked #7 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We fell in love with café culture whilst visiting Switzerland and were inspired by the Swiss obsession for quality produce and service. We serve the highest quality coffee and tea alongside our favourite cakes and light lunches.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glad I listened to positive reviews”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited this independent coffee shop,after researching on trip advisor prior to our visit. Initially my partner and I stopped for a drinks break during our 10 mile Ambleside hike and returned for lunch. We both ordered a combination of delicious hearty sandwiches, served with tasty side salads with a sumptuous dressing. Well worth passing Costa coffee and numerous other cafes to eat at this fabulous locally owned cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    96
    24
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

So glad we went in Café Treff whilst on a day trip to Ambleside. The Blue Mountain Coffee was excellent and the chocolate cake delicious - can well recommend both. We had a lovely welcome on entering and the place was really clean. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
333 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Watch Your Change”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The coffee was very good. The service was good as well, but we were shortchanged 2 pounds. We don't understand their coins, but noticed at the table that the coins did not work out to be the expected change. We told the manager who checked the register and told us it balanced. That wasn't possible. The waitress told the manager she gave us 10 pounds in paper. If so, we were overpaid by several pounds which would not be logical for a place trying to stay in business. We were underpaid 2 pounds. Watch your money if you drink coffee here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Manager saved the day”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Called in for a second visit during our few days break in Ambleside. Decided to go for a special coffee as filter coffee tried earlier was a little bland. Problem with till on arrival which is just one of those things however I stood waiting to place my order for several minutes without any form of acknowledgment from the young girls....thank goodness management arrived to save the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria. England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch or coffee in Ambleside”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is our favourite lunch place in Ambleside. When we had a trip out for my daughter's birthday on a sunny day last week, Cafe Treff is where she wanted to have lunch. She likes the BLT sandwich - I think the bacon, brie and caramelised onion toasted ciabatta is hard to beat! There is also a really good range of coffee/tea/hot choc. We can definately recommend Cafe Treff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jet-setting-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Treff also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Cafe Treff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing