We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great views, good food and the staff are fab!”
Review of Wateredge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wateredge Inn
Ranked #27 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is my 4th visit and I'm surprised I've not given a nod to this place before. It is a lovely small hotel with a slightly sprawling layout which means the rooms aren't all one atop the other.
We have always stayed in the annex building and are delighted that a hotel anywhere can accommodate a family of 5 in one space. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and spacious - even with the extra beds in for our large family. The staff are very friendly and work hard at meal times to ensure everyone has what they need.
The menu is varied enough to suit most tastes but not so large as to sacrifice quality. The selection of beers was good and the atmosphere genial. The restaurant is located in three interlinking spaces so a quiet corner could be found if necessary. The lakeside seating area is delightful and is situated at the north tip of Lake Windermere, at breakfast you can face down the lake and see the sun rising over the fells to one side and evenings watch the sun set over towards Langdale.
As well as having a good Lakeside location adjacent to the ferry jetty, the hotel is a pleasant short walk from the shopping area of Ambleside. There are outdoor shops, art, food, toy and book shops. A petrol station nearby and good access to all areas within the Lake District. Also the most delightful and glamorous small cinema. The hotel has ample parking for residents and a public car park is just across the road for diners.
This hotel is highly recommended - we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threeboysmum24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 639 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Wateredge Inn. The food is good quality, staff are very friendly and the views are amazing. Our room was well up-dated and spotless, bedding was of good quality and pillows must have been new. This Inn was just up our street as we like to stay in a hotel rather than
a B &B, but was informal and very friendly. Great breakfast and super warm open fires.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30, great view of the lake, but overlooks quite an expanse of flat roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A perfect location by the lakeside and the boats. Only 10 mins easy walk into Ambleside centre. Room was quirky and spotless with bath and shower and beautiful lake view. The breakfast was perfect with dining area overlooking the lake - just beautiful. We didn't eat in the inn but had a few drinks - on the wed night it was cold and there was a roaring coal fire - perfect. On Thursday it was sunny so sat in the beautiful out door seating area. Excellent value for money. All staff were delightful - will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chl0ey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been to the Wateredge Inn a number of times and visited again the end of March.

Once again was not dissapointed with good food (excellent beef roast dinner at Sunday lunch) and great choice of beers.

Can never fault the cleanliness or service either. We did have 2 dogs with us and its great to be able to have a nice meal in a nice venue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redlottie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a lunch time snack & a beer. We had a great hot roast pork bap and sat by a roaring fire. A staff member even brought over some biscuits for our sleepy old Boxer dog. Lovely gesture and nice attentive staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dolphinhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our silver wedding. We had been some years before and decided to revisit. perfect the first time, just as perfect this time. Room quality/facilities superb. Dinner was fantastic both evenings, with a great choice and good value. Staff very attentive. Nothing too much trouble. You have to visit here if in the area, even if it is for a beer in the fantastic garden/area bin front of the hotel bordering on Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Windermere Room. Balcony overlooking lake. Heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Wateredge Inn for two nights and enjoyed our stay.
The situation of the hotel, as the name tells you, is right by lake Windermere at the Ambleside end, its about a ten minute walk into the centre of Ambleside from Wateredge. You can also take a boat trip from here for a trip around Lake Windermere or perhaps stop off at Bowness.
Ambleside is also pretty well situated in the centre of the lake district and is an ideal base from which to explore other areas.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable and had views of the Lake. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying there again on our next visit to the Lake district.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a lake view or a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 102 in Ambleside
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#19 of 102 in Ambleside
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wateredge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wateredge Inn

Address: Borrans Rd | Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $88 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wateredge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wateredge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wateredge Hotel Ambleside
Wateredge Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing