We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reasonable 3 to 3.5 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wateredge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wateredge Inn
Ranked #36 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A reasonable 3 to 3.5 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a several week car tour of UK, the hotel claims to be 4 star but while very clean it could only get 3 stars from us. The room was OK but could not get one heater to work, the towel rack was not turned on when we arrived and had to get staff to do this, they did without delay but no-one showed us to our room so we did not know the workings. The Bar and restaurant are good and breakfast was better than good, service was acceptable.

Room Tip: not able to advise but if you have sizeable luggage as we did try to get a room on a lower floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    140
    32
    27
    25
See reviews for
88
329
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

we were staying at the Regent Hotel across the road but ate and drank in this Inn because it was more friendly and they made it easy to take our dog in. we ate here twice and on both occassions the staff couldnt of done more and the food was what i'd describe as "good pub food" it is in no way fine dining but its not priced that way either. 3 course for two people for about £50 and i left completely stuffed! Would we go again ? yes indeed !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78juicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just stopped off for a lunch after being out with the dog. The Waterhead is really dog friendly and a special area of the bar is dedicated to doggy people. The beer was excellent and the Lancashire Cheese sandwich was big and full. Can't comment on the dog biscuits but they seem to be appreciated. Excellent puddings and really good coffee (Farrar's of Kendal). Relaxing in front of the warm fire drinking excellent coffee is my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife happened on this place some years ago in the "Dog friendly guide".
Our treasured Labrador now not with us loved this place.We would stay in the Galava room in the outside annex,a little garden of it's own,a swing seat and great view of the lake.Secure for the dog,clean and tidy,perfect.
We would walk in the adjacent park before breakfast which if you go for the cooked option is monumental.Ambleside with it's many shops and cafes only a walk away,and we love the boat trip to Bowness just a stones throw along the road.
The bar and restaurant area is buzzing in the summer,and sitting outdoors next to the lake with a cold one is one of life's great pleasures.
We love it here but now our dog has passed away we probably would struggle to go again for all of the fabulous memories it holds for us.
Staff are excellent,many of them been there for the several years we have been going which I think says a lot.
For location and things to do if you have a well behaved pet you simply must give it a go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tornado43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December during snowy, cold weather. Our room was lovely, large but cosy and warm and overlooking the lake. There is a large car park. Service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast each day was substantial with plenty of choice and the hot part of the meal, tea/coffee and toast were brought to the table. I recommend the porridge with whiskey cream! Delicious.
We also enjoyed evening meals in the restaurant and there was a good choice on the menu.
The Inn is in a good location for trips on the lake or visits to Keswick or Windermere. The bus stops almost outside for both towns and Ambleside is an easy walk away.
Although we didn't use it, there was an included pass to a local health centre.
We would definitely stay here again if visiting the Lake District and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. Ours (30) was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Wateredge Inn. We visit here in November every year. The rooms are comfy and include tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are very welcoming and are always happy to look after you and ensure your needs are met during your stay. There is plenty of choice at breakfast which includes a lovely cooked breakfast. The hotel is situated at the end of lake Windermere and breakfast is taken in the restaurant which has excellent views down the lake. The position of the hotel is also excellent for access to Amble side which is an easy 15 minute walk meaning that there is no need to move the car from the free onsite parking, which is great during busy times. The hotel has its own onsite restaurant which is part of the general bar open to the public, however I do think the food is a little pricey.
I would recommend the Wateredge Inn for a stay in Ambleside. We have been visiting for about 10 years and will definitely be returning again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building which is the oldest part and has most character, also they seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just back from Ambleside trip and had dinner twice at Watersedge. Dog friendly, roaring fires and great food. Staff extremely attentive and professional. Prices reasonable and menu good with specials an added bonus. Good range of ales. Try 'Tenacious Ted' ale. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob186520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#12 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quaysiders Club Ltd
Quaysiders Club Ltd
#4 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wateredge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wateredge Inn

Property: Wateredge Inn
Address: Borrans Rd | Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wateredge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Wateredge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wateredge Hotel Ambleside
Wateredge Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing