We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food - Don't Bother!!”
Review of Wateredge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wateredge Inn
Ranked #32 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful Food - Don't Bother!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I came here with my partner for dinner and drinks because we wanted to have a Lake side view. We got the drinks and the view. I had a glass of mulled wine and a glass of Merlot, both nice but incredibly expensive for even their small glass (125ml). We ordered the Roast as there were no specials and the menu wasn't great. It arrived in well under 5 minutes. It had blatently been sat under a heat lamp as the gravy had dried around the edge of the plate and the Yorkshire was stale and we received a small bowl of microwave veg (with the water still in the bottom of the bowl) between the two of us.

Sent it back and got a full refund. Just because they have a good view doesn't mean they can serve up rubbish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wateredge Manag... T, Owner at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
As the owner and manager of Wateredge Inn i was saddened to hear that both you and your partner did not have a good experience, i talked to the Head Chef before lunch and sampled the roast sirloin of beef my self it was beautiful,the gravy was home made out of the roasting juices, i was surprised it was not what you were expecting. Dishes on the menu start from £9.95 almost all locally sourced and cooked from fresh ( see our web site) , I was delighted to here you liked the look of the Inn and appreciated the views, the option to dine outside along with all the different bar and dinning areas like the snug lead to us asking if a customer would like to open a tab with a credit card or pay as they go along. The Merlot you would of had was a Casa Amada, wine of Chile at £3.25 a glass and £15.95 a bottle from a local independent Vintner. I do realise you did not have a day, it was just a shame that both you and your partner had to right separate first reviews on trip advisor that seems to run contrary to the nearest review that is from a star reviewer (22 reviews).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    152
    32
    31
    25
See reviews for
95
352
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate at the Wateredge on on 2 nights during our stay in the Lake District. Lovely setting right by the edge of Lake Windermere. The food was good quality, we had basket meals the first evening, steaks (which we thought a little pricey) the second. Massive retro Knickerbocker Glories were recommended for desert the first night, very good, but raw apple seemed a strange choice of fruit. Service was very prompt, friendly and helpful. This was obviously a very popular venue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducklion
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

we stayed for one night in room 10 really quiet apart from the people next door coming in at 2 knocking on the wrong doors not the hotels fault, the room nice and clean and comes with nice TV and hair dryer, shower was hot and the bed was comfy, the breakfast was a let down we had the English, we asked for the bacon well done and the sausage, the bacon looked as if it had been scared by the frying pan it was that white and the sausage was not much better, the porched eggs were still gluckie if that's a word.
The bar at night was full when we walked to Ambleside centre but empty when we got back so that was nice, if you want food at night time Dodds looks nice but was very very busy too busy for us to wait so we went to stampers see my review don't go, in all I would stay again here but would go for toast and porridge for brekkie I know they cannot please everyone but it wasn't busy so a little longer in the frying pan would not have hurt, but still maybe I should have said something, oh well you will love the hotel

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank springer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there on numerous occasions, the room, staff and the dog friendliness is second to none.
Food is superd the chef and staff go out of their way to look after your every culinary needs.EXCELLANT.
Bathay, one of the annexe rooms is our favourite, very large with patio doors onto a little garden and brow of the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandalion1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth. Lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2nights in the Skelghyll balcony room which had a lake view, we enjoyed every minute. This lovely Inn is dog friendly too. Our dog was given just as good a service as we were, the staff had a ready supply of dog treats,she was welcome in the downstairs area during meals, including breakfast if a table was booked the night before and surprisingly was allowed in Skelghyll suite which was furnished to a very high standard.

The pure lakes skin care range in the bathroom was also a nice touch for me, I even bought the shower gel from reception to bring home. We had a meal in the bar on our first night which was delicous and presented to a very high stanard, the second night we booked a table across the road at The Waterside Boutique Hotel and Bistro, the food was good but the place lacked atmosphere and the friendliness of The Wateredge, so after the meal we rushed back to the bar for a night cap.

We will definitely be returning next year!!

Room Tip: Although Wateredge has a good web site, ring the hotel direct and speak to the receptionist, she'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely location on the shores of the lake but beside a busy road so can be noisy. Next to a park so very handy for dog walking. The staff were great...very helpful and friendly. Our dog was made welcome and he was even allowed to come to breakfast and dinner with us in a reserved area of the restaurant. Food was good but limited choice and the specials were the same all week so ended up choosing same things for dinner. We had a ground floor room in an annexe with its own enclosed patio ares complete with swing seat which was great for enjoying an evening drink and gave the dog some freedom. Would have rated this higher if the food hadn't let it down but the lovely staff were a definite asset!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midgemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

the wateredge inn never disappoints, every year we come to the lakes we always have a meal here on the last day of our holiday, this year we we more impressed than ever, service was prompt staff were friendly and the kids loved their meals, sausage and chips but cumbrian sausage and not a scrap was left. the meals arrived within 15 minutes, and to top it all the most beautiful warm sunny night, perfect views, after a rather wet week, life doesnt get better than this, a place to go back to year after year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quaysiders Club Ltd
Quaysiders Club Ltd
#6 of 24 in Ambleside
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wateredge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wateredge Inn

Property: Wateredge Inn
Address: Borrans Rd | Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wateredge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Wateredge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wateredge Hotel Ambleside
Wateredge Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing