We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake House(Ambleside)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nanny Brow(Ambleside)
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
$179
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)
$112
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveler rating
456
149
47
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
149
47
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful afternoon teacoffee and petit foursloughrigg suitedrawing roomtasting menuamuse bouchesuperior roomnew ownersoverlooking the gardenlake districtpublic roomsbreakfast and dinnerlovely hotellambwalk in showerroom was largehome made
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 677 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

This hotel is very convenient for Ambleside, but it's a pity that it's on a sort of traffic island with busy traffic on all sides. The first view of it is of a lovely house, which is decaying and needs an awful lot of work and money to bring it up to scratch. We were puzzled at the bareness of the lounges and the shabby condition of the rooms. Ours was very clean, but the bed was dead and saggy and the chairs showed signs of wear, one even having a tattered seat, inadequately covered by a cushion. The bathroom was out of the ark. The plumbing squealed after you turned the taps off and it must have been fitted out in the seventies.

All was explained when we realised that new young owners had taken over about

nineteen months ago ago and they are obviously doing it up gradually. When we went down to dinner, we were astonished to find the dining room had been done up and was quite smart and the big surprise was the quality of the cooking, which was outstanding. Really delicious food and very good service from a well trained staff. We really hope the owners make a go of this hotel, as it could be brilliant, but it will need a huge amount of investment. We wish them well

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank BAGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Check in was very prompt and helpful staff although they had to negotiate a wedding event at the time of our arrival. One of the staff helped us with our luggage. The room was spacious so was the terrace. the garden view was calming and beautiful to wake up to. I really do not remember if there was a tv as never wanted to use one. tea/coffee facilities. bathroom was the highlight of the bathroom. Breakfast was amazing. absolutely loved it and we both enjoyed everything we ordered. all the staff we dealt with were very helpful and courteous. The lunges are comfortable/spacious and quite. The garden is so tranquil, you can just chill out or do yoga. The Ambleside town center is within 5 minutes walk. footbridge is literary across from the hotel. 30 seconds and 10 if you do chicken run.

Room Tip: rooms with terrace overlooking the garden. tranquility
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wafinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Absolutely everything about the stay was great. The location is very convenient for Ambleside, the rooms are attractive and comfortable, all of the staff are friendly and efficient, the food is very good and the cooked breakfast is blow-your-socks-off good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We had the Conservatory Room as we took our dog with us. Room could not be faulted. Huge bed plus two comfortable armchairs. Arrived on the Friday and had dinner in a local pub we knew from a couple of years ago. Breakfast Sat morning was dreadfull so decided not to eat there in the evening but used local pubs. Lunch on the Monday with friends however was better, but the bacon and cheese Omelettes served each in its own frying pan were a bit of a disaster, being overcooked and stodgy. Will not be going back.

Room Tip: Can't say. The Conservatory room is in an annex as is the Gun Room and there is another dog friendly room across the courtyard
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

I contacted Rothsy manor to book an surprise afternoon tea for my visiting in laws. Dot, was the customer service rep / receptionist I was fortunate enough to speak to, her helpful manner and can do attitude would encourage me to visit this Hotel ( she really was brilliant )

We ended up speaking and emailing rather more than a simple booking should warrant ( double booking issue ) as my father in law also booked an afternoon tea for a day where they would actually be back in Nottingham. ( don't ask )

So after tidying up my
Father in laws pickle, we had a set date, with a confirmation email from Dot.

Im hoping that at 12:30 today ( 11/9/17 ) they have a superb afternoon tea, photos to come.

Dot, most definitely needs a mention, as without her noticing the issue, my in laws 47th wedding anniversary would have been a flop.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews