We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for afternoon tea”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited today for afternoon tea and we were not left disappointed! First of all we were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff who showed us to a beautifully decorated drawing room.

We were then shown where we could get our afternoon tea from and were offered drinks. I am allergic to nuts so was very pleased to find that a plate had been specially made up for me with the option for more. The selection of teas and coffees was very impressive and locally sourced!

The selection was good but somewhat limited. Several items were labelled but the sandwiches were not. This didn't affect the quality though, it seems like top level ingredients had been used. There were lots of cakes and preserves on offer as well.

Great surroundings, friendly staff and great food. We visited for my wife's birthday and would certainly visit again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 627 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Rothay Manor is a beautiful, regency manor house, situated on the outskirts of Ambleside and within walking distance of the northern shore of Lake Windermere. The lounges and restaurant are lovely, comfortable and traditionally furnished. The bedrooms are luxurious and well appointed too, some having private balconies overlooking the perfectly manicured gardens.

I have always found the staff to be charming and they do their very best to please.

The restaurant food and breakfasts are very good, but the highlight of the day is the amazing buffet afternoon tea, with sweet and savoury delights to tempt every palate. Booking is essential for this.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds. Just a ten minute walk from the centre of town.

Stayed: August 2013
5  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for one night, our room had quaint balcony over looking the garden, which would be lovely in the summer months. The room was fine, kingsize bed, all very clean, my only surprise were that sheets were on the bed which seems a little old fashioned, however that said the actual sheets were clean. We had a lovely table in the restaurant and our waitress was fab, really chatty and friendly, the food was very traditional but still of good quality. Breakfast the following morning was taken to order (which I much prefer to buffet style) and was very good. The homemade jam was excellent and worthy of a mention.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We live perhaps 500 yds from Rothay Manor, and have the pick of hotels around Ambleside.
They are all good - some excellent, but whenever we want something really special, we go to Rothay Manor for a meal.
We went last thursday, when they did 2 for the price of one.
As always - excellent.
It's a wee bit traditional, but that is exactly what we want!
In my mind - can't be bettered.
Service great.
Food great.
Ambience great.
Go there - if its only for lunch!

Room Tip: Can't help re. room selection - we just went for a meal, but I would guess - ask for a front fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorsleyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Read other reviews on this hotel some excellent others a bit picky. So glad we decided to stay. The room not massive, but just right for the amount of time we spent in it over a two night stay, its tastefully and individually decorated as was the rest of the hotel. Not perfect but is anywhere? No its not glamorous, but cosy and what made it special was the team work from a small team at the hotel. Both nights evening and at breakfast, we felt we've never been served better, no clattering, not rushed nor left waiting. Location 5-10 minutes from Ambleside or 15 minutes to Lakeside, let us leave the car parked up all weekend. Not all the food was perfect, but it nearly was, not left hungry nor with indigestion. All this made for a perfect anniversary weekend, feeling special and valued.

Room Tip: If you can choose a superior room, on the first floor at the front of the hotel with a balcony, well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My partner and I went to the Rothay Manor for sunday lunch and were delighted with the food and the service. It may be viewed as old fashioned but the waiting staff were excellent and the food was good.Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of Ambleside but handy for Loughrigg we were impressed with the overall ambience of the place... so much so that I shall be booking a weekend break for us in a couple of weeks time. Well worth a visit !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank atheaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Booked in for dinner with another couple the other night and delighted to report the quality, value and friendly ambiance remains the same as our previous visits.
Great menu with lots of choice, very reasonable wine list, lovely lounges and open fires, friendly and attentive staff...what more does one want?
Will be back...again...and again....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $155 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing