We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not the best aftenoon tea in the Lake District” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best aftenoon tea in the Lake District”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Based on a review on Tripadvisor, my mom and I went for afternoon tea at the Rothay Manor Hotel. I have been to many places for afternoon tea but this was probably the poorest. The buffet with sandwiches was a tray with sandwiches on the side scruffily covered with cling film, a few unappealing slices of pork pie on a plate. Hidden in a salad server were some small pastries that were soggy pastry bases with cream (no fruit on top) and did not look fresh. The cakes themselves were ok but again, nothing special - a fruitloaf, an apple sponge, and then a tray of cold scones with cream rather than clotted cream. The buffet was also not well attended and ran out of jam twice in the hour we were there. Although the setting of the buffet in the dining/tea room was lovely, we were asked to sit in the salon and that just didn't work.

For the price they charge you are better off going into one of the many excellent cafes in Ambleside and for a couple of pounds more you can have tea in a michelin star restaurant in Troutbeck.

I will definitely not recommend this for afternoon tea to anyone, and wish I had taken my mom elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank curvature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Curvature, thank you for your comments with regard to Afternoon Tea, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Rothay Manor has served a buffet style tea for over 35 years and is more popular than ever, whilst the buffet service may not be to everyones taste we find it works very well and have many customers who return time after time because they enjoy our Afternoon Tea so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    111
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
95
286
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I were driving from Southwest London to stay with friends near Melrose in the Scottish Borders and did not feel like doing the journey in one. We had stayed in Ambleside before and chose to book a night at the Rothay Manor.

We were shown to a very comfortable and well-appointed ground floor room. The bathroom was fitted-out for disabled guests with suitable toilet and wheelchair-friendly shower.

On arrival we indulged in a very good tea with cakes, sandwiches, scones etc. We had to hold-back a bit as we were booked for dinner. When we went in to dinner, it was obvious that it was a restaurant not just for guests but drew-in customers from the surrounding area. The menu was imaginative and of high quality.

We will certainly plan to stop there again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was close to reception but had a double door and we were unaware of the fact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsls02191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher, surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived to a warm, efficient welcome on Friday for a weekend stay. We were shown to our lovely, quiet, ground floor classic room at the front of the hotel overlooking the garden. Very comfortable bed, large comfy armchairs, lots of space, massive fluffy towels and lots of extras. Decor is traditional but not old fashioned, everywhere is so comfortable that it's substance over style which isn't what you always get in hotels these days. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, dinner superb as expected, service friendly and attentive but thankfully they give you space too. We've stayed here before and always been pleased, we will be returning as we still haven't had time to take the locally renowned afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent a very relaxing two nights. Check in very efficient and a splendid room good heating & plenty of hot water. Bed large & comfortable. No noise at all at night. Breakfast was a good selection and well cooked. The dinner was as expected of a good standard. The hotel is well placed and can be thoroughly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night bed breakfast and evening meal as a birthday treat for my husband. We had a pleasant enough welcome to the hotel where we unpacked and went into Ambleside - hotel is ideally situated for walking into town. Whilst dinner was advertised as between 7 and 9 we were told dinner was 7 for 7.30. Our room was spacious but overlooked the hotel's back entrance. Decor was a bit dated but the room had everything we needed - however the shower had no power and it was impossible to control the temperature of the water. We had a lovely evening meal and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had drinks in the bar afterwards but we were practically on our own - very quiet and little attention from staff. Superb breakfast in the morning, particularly enjoyed the Cumbrian Platter. We booked the break on line knowing how much we had enjoyed a previous stay (7 years ago when we complimented the owner that the hotel was on a par with the Sharrow Bay). This time we were disappointed, particularly as I had (for the first time ever) mentioned to them that it was my husband's birthday celebration and there was no acknowledgement whatsoever. Unlikely we will stay with them again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend break at the Rothay Manor Hotel. We arrived on Friday afternoon, the check in was friendly & efficient. We got taken to our room which was a good size with a lovely big comfy bed and a sofa. Lots of little touches in the room which make the stay special such as mineral water, lovely toiletries and sewing kit etc. Breakfast was amazing, lovely porridge, homemade preserves and fresh orange as well as a delicious Cumbrian Platter. The restaurant staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. Another bonus is that you can use the leisure facilities at the Salutation Hotel which we enjoyed. The location is good, just a few minutes walk to the centre of Ambleside. Lots of car parking space. We had a great time and can't wait to return. Thank you Rothay Manor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkystar194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

just returned from a two night break at rothay manor. i will try to keep this brief, i have rated our stay as very good on the following, reception, room, food, location. this is a well run hotel and well above the standard of most of the other hotels in ambleside.(we have stayed at most of them over the years) i am always honest with my reviews and must mention the following.!! at breakfast we ordered a light breakfast from a rather surly waitress (english) we were both served with a full english breakfast which was opposite to what we ordered. when this was pointed out to the said waitress it was brusquely taken away without a word as if we were at fault for bringing it to her attention. a shame really because it is these little episodes which can make your stay less than perfect.however that said there are more plus points to this hotel and our overall stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: we stayed in the conservatory on the ground floor very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rothay Manor Hotel & Restaurant offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting, with large individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, delicious fresh food and outstanding service.We continue to maintain the standards and traditions that have kept the hotel a popular destination for over 45 years. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing