We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing stay.”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall a great stay and a relaxing break which was just what we wanted. My mum and I stayed for 3 nights in the twin room- although it was smaller than we expected, the room had everything we could have needed/wanted and more. The en-suite bathroom was clean and well-equipped. The breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and well presented. I found the lounge area particularly relaxing, plenty of space to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. It is the small, finishing touches that made our stay particularly enjoyable, from the simple face wipes in the bathroom to the news/weather updates provided with our breakfast! Brenda and Dave were very polite, kind and welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying here and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: For a couples visit, a double room/ the four poster bed room would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
870
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at in the Lakes. David and Brenda are so welcoming-knowing our names when we arrived !. everything from the rooms to thw whole hotel are immaculate and nothing is too much trouble. and their home made variety of breads -we-enough said ! thank you for an amazing stay

Room Tip: room 4 is lovely with riverview at front and mountains at side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Another perfect stay at Riverside. This time we had room 4 which is perhaps our favourite, having views of the river and the garden. Brenda and Dave did a superb job as always in making us feel at home in their beautiful house. It is difficult to add anything to the superb reviews on this site except to say thank you Brenda and Dave. You are remarkable hosts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just returned from another stay at Riverside and were as impressed as ever. Dave and Brenda's attention to detail is second to none and having stayed there at least five times now, we are greeted more as friends than guests. The house is always warm and welcoming and the rooms are beautifully and tastefully presented (we have stayed in different rooms on each visit). The lounge area is a wonderful place to relax after a long day walking and sitting in front of the log fire with a glass of wine and nibbles is simply magical, we wish we could take the lounge home! The house is a 10 min walk from the centre of Ambleside and at night there are torches to borrow for the stroll up the lane. There are lanterns lit outside at dusk to welcome you back after a meal in Ambleside. The breakfasts are outstanding and made up of all locally sourced foods. They even make their own bread each morning and the choice is amazing. We would recommend a stay at Riverside, it is the best B and B that we have ever stayed at hence why we have lost count how many times we have stayed there! A fantastic B and B with lovely owners in a stunning location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I've notices there isn't a single poor review on the Riverside and this doesn't surprise me one bit.

Firstly Dave and Brenda are as good as hosts as you could ever wish for. Charming and attentive, they clearly love what they do, the house it self and the area. Their knowledge of the area, restaurants, walks etc is a major plus.

Secondly, the house itself is gorgeous and in a wonderful location.

Finally, every extra such as the amazing breakfast with home made bread, local produce and fantastic smoothies, to the excellent and healthy bathroom goods, this place hits all the spots.

Highly recommended. Best service I have ever received from any accommodation from 2 genuinely nice people. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rundmc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our first visit to Riverside, spotlessly clean, amazing attention to detail. Homemade bread (blueberry & almond - amazing). This is a B&B with Hotel quality but more homely. We couldn't have been made more welcome. Dave & Brenda have lots of information available about the area & lakes in general, recommendations on places to eat etc.
Would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Once again our stay at The Riverside was great. The breakfasts are fantastic with lots of attention to detail (love the homemade potato cakes) and all locally sourced. The breakfasts certainly set you up for a day on the fells. Dave and Brenda are brilliant hosts and can't do enough for you. Can't wait to go back again in August!

Room Tip: No tip needed - all the rooms are licelt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
537 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing