We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit confirmed what we already knew, -outstanding”
Review of Kirkstone Foot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkstone Foot
Guernsey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Return visit confirmed what we already knew, -outstanding”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My wife and I have just returned home having enjoyed another outstanding stay at Kirkstone Foot.
As previous reviewers have already stated, this is quite simply the place to stay.
Its location, the quality of the apartments, the friendliness of the owners and their team get 10 out of 10 and a gold star.
We have already booked for later in the year and have no hesitation in recommending Kirkstone Foot to any prospective visitors.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandGinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We visited Kirkstone Foot , once again.....having been there as many times as we can in the last four years since we discovered this gem of the lake district.
We find everything of excellent standard, from the friendly, helpful staff, the high quality apartments which are always clean and very well equipped, to the brilliant central location which in turn allows you to explore any part of the lakes for the day.
Ambleside has excellent amenities, pubs, restaurants and even a cinema.
From a walkers point of view there are many walks you can take from the door.
Once discovering Kirkstone, frankly we would not think of going elsewhere and would recommend this place to all.....which we frequently do...check it out and get booked in before somebody else beats you to it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNSLEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Once again we have returned from our favourite place to stay in the UK and have got two more trips booked for this year. This accomodation is the best we have stayed in, it is of a fantastic standard really clean and comfortable, excellent location and set within beautiful gardens and the hosts cannot do enough to make your stay more enjoyable.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJRBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Have stayed at Kirkstone Foot many times in many different apartments and have always found them to be clean and tidy with everything you could need for your stay. A friendly welcome has always been offered on arrival bot to us and our dog. Kirkstone Foot is in a great location for exploring the beautiful surrounding area whether you are just visiting the tourist atractions or are a hardened walker/climber.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank organiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Kirkstone Foot is ideally located in the centre of Ambleside which makes touring of the Lakes easy and an gem for walkers. Offering excellent self-catering accommodation, to 4 & 5 star standards.
Our apartment was ideal for taking our pet dog (he thoroughly enjoyed his stay). Very clean and welcoming in beautiful grounds. The apartment was fully equiped and nice and warm.
Owner very helpful and on site to cater for your every need.
The perfect peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We have stayed at the Kirkstone Foot many times over a number of years and have always found the apartments to be immaculately kept I cannot recommend the care of their apartments too highly.

The situation of the Kirkstone Foot is perfect as it is only a two minute walk into Ambleside, but it is away from the bustle of the busy centre.

  • Liked — standard of cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyLondon067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We have now stayed three times at Kirkstone Foot, twice in Bassenthwaite and once in Grasmere. Both apartments were wonderful. Very comfortable and extremely clean. Each apartment has its own parking space, which for Ambleside in the summer is a definite plus. It is a two minute walk down into Ambleside which caters for all your needs and of course there is an ambundance of walks from Ambleside and surrounding area. I never tire of the area.
On our last stay we were caught up in the floods in November and had to stay an extra night as the roads were blocked. The staff were extremely helpful - keeping us updated etc - and they had no problem (and didn't charge) for the extra night we had to stay. We will be staying again in the coming year at least once and can not recommend Kirkstone highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstone Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstone Foot

Property: Kirkstone Foot
Address: Kirkstone Road, Ambleside LA22 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Kirkstone Foot Hotel Ambleside
Kirkstone Foot Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing