We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location”
Review of Kirkstone Foot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkstone Foot
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The ideal location to explore the lakes, we parked our car for a week in our own space which is provided, and used the local bus network, could not fault it. It takes about Ten minutes to walk down to Ambleside town, quite a steep walk back but only for about 200 mtrs.the apartments are of good quality and there is everything you need for a self catering basis, TV and WiFi reception is sometimes hit and miss.
Restaurants in the town are plentiful, and of good qaulity but can be quite expensive, ie. Two course dinner with a bottle of house wine for two is around £50.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

My partner and I managed to get a last minute booking for this weekend at Kirkstone foot and stayed in the Langdale apartment, it was our first visit to the Lakes. The accomodation was clean and very well equipped and included dishwasher, DVD player, microwave and all usual mod cons. The Langdale apartment is on the first floor and includes it's own private outdoor terrace with a table and chairs. Every apartment has it's own parking space and you are only a 2 minute walk away from the centre of Ambleside. The owners Jackie and Ian were very friendly and accomodating.

Plenty of pictures of all the apartments on the Kirkstone foot website. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wanted to stay near to the centre of Ambleside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dantheman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed here in a variety of the rentals over many years, never had a bad experience and the quality of some is exceptional.

Perfect for a short stroll into Ambleside for dinner.

Would never stay anywhere else in Ambleside, Kirkstone Foot is simply perfect for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zowiebowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and i spent 3 nights in a first floor one double bed apartment within this complex. The property was well located, warm, cosy, quiet and fully equipped. The managers were helpful, we will go back and do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolHolHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Gina and I have just returned from another superb stay at Kirkstone Foot. On this occasion our accommodation was Orchid, -a spacious and comfortable apartment. As always Ian and Jackie were welcoming, helpful and efficient. Kirkstone Foot remains THE place to stay when visiting the Lakes and we can only endorse all the positive comments other reviewers have made.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandGinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have just recently returned from yet another stay at Kirkstone Foot. Having had different appartments for different numbers in the family, I cannot fault them. We always get a warm welcome from Ian and his staff, nothing is too much trouble, and they are always accommodating whatever we request - not always so at other establishments over the years!
Great location in a glorious part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent a week staying in Yewdale, a one bedroom apartment in Kirkstone Foot. It was an excellent base for exploring the Lakes District. Kirkstone Foot is a very short walk to Ambleside. We walked into Ambleside every day. The apartment was fully equipped with everything for a self catering holiday and was clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
501 reviews
3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstone Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstone Foot

Address: Kirkstone Road, Ambleside LA22 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Kirkstone Foot Hotel Ambleside
Kirkstone Foot Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing