We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Dispite the title I have mixed feelings about the hotel - it is set in stunning surroundings with excellent walking / climbing options on the door step, it also looks a magnificent building and in the bar there is an excellent choice of real ales. The hotel itself was very clean and most of the staff were friendly, however for the price that you pay you don't get much room, and the room you do get is pretty basic - no TV or radio (which may be a plus for some!). The disppointment comes from the price of the room - I don't feel we got anywhere close to value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    77
    18
    18
    16
See reviews for
50
87
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lytham, Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Spacious accommodation but with no en-suite, however our large private bathroom was located just a few steps from the room. (We had the large front facing room with the cast iron fireplace and two windows, one of which was a square bay with easy chairs and table in it). Dinner very good with good service and polite helpful staff. The hotel prides itself on no mobile/wireless signal and there are no TVs in the rooms either. For us, this wasnt a problem as we spent the evening in the resturant and the walkers lounge where we had a tray og coffee and biscuits brought in after dinner - very nice. The hotel is mainly aimed at walkers and adventurers who want a bit more than basic but also want a complete getaway and I think thats just what they provide. If you want a bar, then there is one, right next door. The views from our eoom were breathtaking with the Langdales right opposite - not a bad way to wake up in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freck1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Stayed at this hotel 2nd June 2009 with three friends as walking the Cumbrian way.
Advised cost to be £50.00 per person in shared room.
Room clean but no TV, no radio & no towels. Also no papers and no weather details available.
Requested towels and an hour later returned to find only one towel set.
Asked again and received second set.
Then noted that bathroom had shower set for one person.
As only a shower in room decided to use guest’s bathroom. Door did not lock & only small bars of soap available.
In bar at 22:00 & could not find any bar staff and could have helped ourselves to drinks. But did not.
Next day ordered vegetarian break feast but beans and fried bread as stated on menu had to be requested twice.
Ordered 3 packed lunches and told would be ready in 10 minutes.
25 minutes later 2 arrived. Left with the 2 as needed to get walking.
On checking out advised that as rooms were on suite cost was £55.00 per person (£110.00) per room.
Paid and left very disappointed
Expensive, very poor service. Not enough staff available and no one appeared in charge.
Will not stay at again.
[-- XXXXXXXXX@XXXXX.XXX --]

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coxyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the odg some years ago for her 30th Birthday.
Love the hotel, staff very freindly and helpfull, they allowed us to book in earlier that we thought we could. We had a room with a four poster and view of the wonderfull Langdale valley. Spectacular scenary.
Only used the hikers bar as that is our usual haunt when not staying at the hotel.
Food and drink was as always excellent. spent a New Year there a couple of years ago, great atmostphere. Always good to call in for a refreshing pint after a long walk.

  • Liked — They sell good beer
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
10.0 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
380 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing