We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the beer and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Ufford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“go for the beer and view”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

my partner has good memories of this place camping here with his kids, so we dutifully walked here from skelwith fold. lovely day, fantastic views, heaving with walkers and a convenient bus back to our site at 19.00.
lots of tiny birds stealing crisps etc.from your table
partner said the beer is good and they are relaxed about all dogs.
but it is very run down and not so clean inside - so take it at face value and just drop in for a drink or two. local taxies seem to run there quite often as well as the bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    76
    18
    17
    16
See reviews for
48
83
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First off, the hotel. We had rooms 9 and 10. All of us thought the rooms were good. In fact I think we were surprised at how nice they were. Nice bathrooms. Good showers. Awesome views of the fells. The top of the canopy of the 4 poster bed in Room 10 could do with a bit of a clean though.

We met many regular patrons of the hotel and they were very interesting and entertaining.

Enjoyed a bar meal and a few games of cards in the Residents Lounge. Loved the small little spot with a few tables and shiny red buzzer for bar service. Like a refuge in the wilderness.

When we first arrived we went into the Hikers Bar. We had been told several times along the Wainwright Memorial Walk that this was an epic bar. Granted it is excellent to go into dripping wet and not worry about getting told off for mudding up the floor but I would be lying if I didn't say that I was a bit let down at first glance. We went back outside and had our after hiking beers at the picnic tables unders a large umbrella to shield us from the rain. Later in the evening, after we'd had dinner, we went back and the bar was heaving due to a wake for a regular guest (or something along this line). Loads of folks playing instruments, singing and having a good old time. I could now understand why this bar had a good reputation.

The bathrooms off the bar deserve special mention. They are, nearly, the smelliest bathrooms I have ever been in. I am sure ones I've into in Southeast Asia or India have been worse but I can't recall. They absolutely reek of urine. Nearly gagged. Honestly, a bit of attention in this area would not go amiss.

All in all we enjoyed the location of the hotel, the history of it, the rooms and the atmosphere but a little bit of TLC is needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What has happened to the standard of the food here? Had several meals over the last weekend at the festival but it wasnt good. Soup was bland and fish and chips was worst Ive ever had. Basically a plate of batter with holes in where the fish should have been. Game pie full of carrots and no obvious sign of game. Come on - you can do better than this. Prices are higher than average as its the lakes but it needs to be matched by good food. This is such a great venue so please put some effort into sorting this as we want to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallysatnav154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here at the end of August 2013, with family and dog. What a location. Situated at the end of the Langdale valley. Great views, and lovely hikes and drives. A real old Lakeland hotel, geared for hikers and very dog friendly. Good food and an impressive array of local brews. Friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights recently as part of a biking (motorcycle) weekend. We used it as a base to explore the area and experience the local roads and passes, almost immediately available as you turn out of the entrance. I'd last stayed here over 10 years ago and was pleased to see it was exactly as I remembered - and just as good.
The hotel is welcoming and the staff friendly. Good food is served in the bar or restaurant - we chose the bar because of the range of draught ales. The rooms were comfortable and the full breakfast is to be complemented.
We had limited mobile phone signal but that just added to the charm of the place and helped us appreciate the beauty of the surroundings - and trust me, you just have to look of the window to see it. It's an ideal location for walkers and bikers alike.

Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Gaulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a couple of visits to the walker's bar in sept 2013 because it was nearest to my campsite. Welcome pint to quench my thirst after a hard day on the hills. Good selection of ales but I must comment on the bar itself. Great place when you are wet, muddy cold and tired from a long walk as you don't need to bother about keeping the place clean. The bar is now so tired and old fasioned it looks like a museum peice with battered formica tables and worn red vinyl floor covering. Everything looks dirty and the toilets are obviously never cleaned - EVER!
Compared to the 2 bars further up the road at the New DG, this place really needs a makeover to get my business again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed two nights including dinner bed and breakfast. The location really can't be beaten if you plan get up into the hills being as far down Langdale as you can stay. We were helped by great weather and the views from room 9 were very pleasant.
We arrived a little early but it wasn't a problem as the room was ready and we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. The beds were very comfortable and the en suite was reasonably spacious. The shower didn't throw out much water, but it was enough. Don't expect a 'power shower' though. There are steps and a corridor outside the room, so it had the potential to be a little noisy but we found it very quiet after 9/10pm. With the 8.30 breakfasts we weren't woken up in the early morning either so it was a very restful stay.
The public spaces are a bit tired, but it's an old hotel without big corporate money behind it. I would rather have comfort and excellent friendly service though, and forgive some tired decor.
The breakfasts were great and set us up for the day. Tea and toast refills are offered without asking. The dinners were a bit disappointing really, but did fill us up adequately. The dining room was quiet with only a few parties dining each evening. The room is very quiet, and the kitchen is sometimes the only thing you can hear. I found the food to be rich and hearty, and plenty of it, but it was rather heavy and (apart from the carrots and spuds) the veggies were overcooked. Steak and Ale pie was excellent. Desserts were good as well, and the after-dinner coffee served in the characterful lounge was a luxury I haven't experienced in a while.
You can't beat the location though, and coming down from the fells after a full day hillwalking, and returning to the ODG is an experience to remember, especially if the weather was as good as we experienced. This is a special place, all considered.

Room Tip: We liked Room 9 for comfortable beds (one a four poster) and a great view. No experience of others t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing