We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get away from the world then this is the place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Been here a few times and will continue. You've got many great walks on your door step. Also some fantastic mtb routes. The ODG is unique! No tv, no phone signal and this is what makes the place. The man in charge Neil and the staff know their stuff about the area so can help you out with questions regarding the area. Great food and they're not shy with the potion control. Your room is a clean comfy room with brilliant veiws but you wouldn't want to spend much time in there because there's so much going outside! A great whisky selection and top notch real ales. I can't really fault the place, even if I tried. One major recommendation, try and make it here on a Wednesday night 8pm+! Live music that will beat anything you've ever heard.

Gav

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gav34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I gave visited the ODG many times over the past three decades, but only to use the excellent Hikers' Bar so this year was my first time staying at the hotel with my family and it was every bit as wonderful as I had imagined. We had a family room which was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent, particularly the breakfast.
There were no TVs in the building, no piped music and no mobile signal so it gave a real break from everyday life. The beautiful residents' lounge had a roaring fire and numerous board games to keep us entertained. If an alternative to the hikers' bar was required, there was a quiet residents' bar with a fine range of whiskys.
The hotel's greates asset of course, is it's position at the remote end of the Langdale Valley with only a farmhouse for a neighbour. Being owned by the National Trust, the building has retained its distinctive qualities and there is not a hint of corporate branding to be seen. The proprietors, Neil and Jane Walmsley have been in residence since 1983 and their personal touch is everywhere to be seen.
This is a truly splendid hotel and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The place the people the atmosphere. If you don't like it here your soul needs rewiring.
The staff are generous and kind, and attentive. The food is simple solid and tasty. The bar is infused with the essence of generations if outdoors folk.

Brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The old has become a member of the family - is always needed when a relaxing break is required. We recently stayed in between Christmas and new year and after a long walk in the rain, we had hot showers and retired to the public bar where we ordered our meal and sat by the fire. Our daughter was entertained by the numerous dog in the bar. There is no background music only good conversation and beer!
We retired to bed and had a good nights sleep. The rooms are comfy and ours had a ensuit shower. We have stayed in rooms where the bathroom is separate, which are equally as nice.
The following morning my husband and daughter had the full English I tried to be healthy and had the poached egg on Toast. We left feeling we had been away for a long week end, not a single night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Another wonderful stay @ the O.D.G. hotel.....staff excellent,food excellent,rooms spotless,bed linen v good quality and v clean.No T.V.,mob signal or wifi thank goodness.........Guests who made previous comments regarding heating being turned off and hotel cold in day need to man up a tad and grow a pair.....Just how a get away from it all and relax hotel break should be. In short A1 perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the odg shortly before Christmas 2012 on a 3 night break and I can't wait to go back. First and foremost, the staff were supberb - relaxed and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent, breakfasts set us up for cold days outside and hearty sized evening plates satisfied the weary walker; the living room fire was lit and games cupboard available for comfy winter evenings. Our room had a newly refurbished en-suite with huge shower and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and warm. Best of all, we got a great deal for a mid-week stay leaving us lots of spendies spare to put towards the drinks bill!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hooleyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying here was a bit like going back in time. The room was a bit on the small side and had no TV. The shower room was actually a very generous size, but you have to walk down the corridor to get to it (apparently some of the rooms do have a small en-suite, but most have seperate shower rooms). I found I needed to use an electric heater most of the time as the central heating system runs only very limited hours.
Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good.
The location is ideal for walkers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
439 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,434 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $114 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing