We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage, impeccably presented...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Little Grove

Shared sun terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shared sun terrace
Little Grove Kitchen Little Grove Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Shared sun terrace
Little Grove Kitchen
Little Grove Bedroom
View from the garden to Kirkstone Pass
Little Grove
Little Grove Bedroom Mirror
View from garden down the Stock Valley
Little Grove Bed Detail
The view from Grove Farm to Coniston Old Man
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MezandSha...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, impeccably presented, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in this delightful cottage located in a most tranquil and beautiful setting overlooking the fells.
We had everything we needed, the place was impeccably presented and lovely and warm.
We enjoyed sitting out in the late afternoon on the terrace enjoying a beer in the evening sunshine
We would definitely return to this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Hi there, many thanks for the great review - it's really appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again one day soon! Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, location, location.”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this charming cottage tucked away in the hills surrounding Ambleside. The secluded location meant the garden is a haven for the local wildlife including inquisitive sparrows who we enjoyed watching. The property is a good 20 minute, steep walk into the town of Ambleside. We walked most days but you need to be reasonably fit especially for the return, uphill route. The location is amazing and well worth the effort. A reward is the view of the waterfalls at Stock Ghyll near the town. We recommend the walk across to Troutbeck via Wansfell Pike, a well marked circular route close to the property popular with hikers. The views from the top are spectacular and your reward is a cream tea or light lunch at the Troutbeck post office. Little Grove is a perfect retreat for a couple and provides comfortable accommodation and is well appointed with all you need to self cater and includes WIFI. It is an excellent base for exploring. We recommend taking a cruise on Windermere and visiting the Claife viewing Station at Far Sawrey. We also suggest taking in the village of Hawkshead - we especially recommend a visit to the Sun Cafe where you can treat yourself to an enormous slice of homemade cake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thanks very much for the great review, we hope to see you again some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsicums
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rural tranquility”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful outlook from this delightful holiday rental, just right for two, with access to walks on hillside. Delightfully presented with helpful staff available. Great location for visiting the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great place for stay just outside of Ambleside, a really cosy retreat with log burner and a lovely strole into Ambleside ( 20-25 minutes) for evening meals. Some great walks from the door also.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadair201...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Excellent holiday. Lovely accommodation, cosy and comfortable in winter, with lovely garden for barbecues and relaxing outdoors when warmer.

Easy access along single track road. Beautiful views but easy 30 minute walk down to Ambleside. The uphill walk back may take a little longer though!

Beautiful walks available from the front door. Cottages are on the road leading to the main path to Wansfell, and in the opposite direction you can walk to the famous Kirkstone Pass Inn.

The advantages of getting away from it all, but with all the facilities of a small town nearby.

Highly Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Peak retreat”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Little Grove was the perfect base for exploring the peaks. The location is nicely remote, but close enough (10 min drive or 30 min walk) to Ambleside for shopping etc. It is also just next to Wandsfell Pike, which is a good climb, and some pretty amazing waterfalls. The cottage is small, but suited my wife and I perfectly. It is also nice and warm, especially with the log fire, which was very welcome in chilly November!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful break with amazing views!”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week here and were really blessed with perfect weather, especially for the lakes! The cottages sit right at the very end of a narrow lane, it feels like you've gone too far but you can't, it's the last thing you reach. It is a 10 minute drive to Ambleside, I didn't try and walk it but I imagine it's a fair trek up the hill back from the village. You are given parking discs for up to 1 hour in the village though if you need it, and lots of long stay parking for longer. There's plenty to do in Ambleside and Waterhead if the weather is good and lots of other places and villages to visit within a 15-20 minute drive. I could have stayed another week and not ran out of things to do. Grove Cottages is a wonderful place to return to, amazing views and lovely garden furniture from the sun terrace at the back or out front in the evening with a coffee! It feels like you're miles aware from everything. Really can't recommend the place enough and definitely would like to come back and maybe stay in a bigger cottage with some family. Highly recommend Kirkstone Pass Inn for a drink, some food and the views on a clear day, and a ghost story or two...

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing