We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPENSIVE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of China Cottage

China Cottage
Ranked #78 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Licensed Chinese restaurant and take away open from 5 to 11 p.m 7 days a week. Happy hour 5 till 6.30 except Saturdays. We offer a wide range of authentic freshly prepared Chinese dishes including a large vegetarian selection, dim sum and gluten free menus. All served with a smile in a cosy family friendly atmosphere. Coach parties welcome.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely food but expensive don`t try to get in late because this is not liked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! main meals only, we were told had to order starters and mains together ...........lovely food though

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JAKJODES18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    22
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“very average take away”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Half way through our weeks holiday in the lakes and after a long days walking we fancied a Chinese meal, the reviews of all restaurants suggested that thew food would be ok and not special - we went for the China cottage and ordered by phone, the food was ready on time and there were diners in the restaurant area. The food was hot but lacked flavour, it was fairly bland and we felt average at best. That being said we are judging based on a selection of exceptional chinese restaurants in the area we live. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We come to Ambleside about 4 times a year, and this is our one "not to be missed" restaurant. The grandchildren absolutely love it here. The food is good and the staff very, very good with young children. We've had many family celebrations in the room upstairs and cannot fault anything about the China Cottage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brown_Owl_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've been going there for years. Great food, friendly welcome, quick turn around for take aways... what more do you need?!

Helpful?
2 Thank ElterwaterManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sick within half an hour”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our family went to China Cottage while on holiday in the area as it was reviewed well on here and in our cottage's guest book.

It was quite expensive for what it was but the service was pleasant enough The food was okay but nothing special.

However all 3 of us were sick within half an hour of leaving the restaurant. It was the only meal we all had the same all day so it was definitely this meal that did it.

I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VickySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cottage also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to China Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing