We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome in the world...ever!”
Review of Rothay Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rothay Garth
Ranked #41 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warmest welcome in the world...ever!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We were greeted by the friendliest girl at reception who took us to our room after giving us a quick tour of the hotel (approx 15 rooms). She couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless and comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious and again served with a very friendly smile. (The perfect treat for my other half who was one of the thousands of crazy people to do the great north swim in lake windermere that same weekend.)

Location is great- ample parking and a two min walk into Ambleside which is full of great restaurants and pubs.

Really enjoyed our stay, would recommend to anyone. Even the sun shined.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    58
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Rothay Garth B & B. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, it's location and the lovely Dixon family who run it. We would wholeheartedly recommend it to family and friends and hope to one day visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed at the Rothay Garth with my wife, cousin and her boyfriend and really really enjoyed it. Clean, large bedrooms (we had the four poster with the jacuzzi), lovely breakfast, very gregarious owner with some really good advice as to where to visit! Restaurants in the area especially the Lucy group are excellent!!! Try them all!

Room are expensive, but then again they are expensive everywhere in the Lake District over a Bank Holiday.

Bonus having a large parking area, and centrally located to all the nearby towns! Perfect location!

Cannot recommend Rothay Garth enough - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend and had a lovely time. The hotel and our room were very clean, the breakfast was lovely and the owners are very jolly with nothing too much trouble. We would stay here again and probably will the next time we visit Ambleside.
Try to avoid the chinese round the corner, if you can't then don't order the curry, it's all onions and no meat!!!
We also took 3 mm's of rubber off our tyres going over hardknott pass on our way to
Muncaster Castle but it was all good fun! The owl sanctuary is worth a look but don't pay to go in the castle, it's not a castle and it takes 10 minutes to get round. There's much better houses and castles out there to pay to go round.
Annette and Phil

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetteskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at Rothay Garth. Our room (No.9) was very clean & comfortable with fell views. All of the family were tremendously friendly and helpful; genuinely so, not because it was their job. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking a table at a local restaurant to providing recommendations for days out. Part of our deal, as we stayed for 4 nights was a sandwich & flask of soup each, proper stuff too, a choice of sandwiches & good soup. One day, as my wife doesn't like tomato soup which was on offer that day, she was given an alternative, & I still got my tomato soup- just an example of the excellent service. To cap it all off the hotel is ideally suited in Ambleside, less than 5 minutes walk from most of the pubs/restaurants etc yet far enough away to be quiet at night- and they have a car park with ample space, a real bonus in a small town where parking is at a premium.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We have just got back from a three night break. This was our second visit.

We picked room 9 again because of the view of the hills covered in snow, just where

we like it. Laura and Anna who served and cooked breakfast respectivly, are such nice girls as are their parents they make you so welcome. We really like the large car park.
Also the lovely lounge to relax in. Also it is only a few minutes walk into the town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice43Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2009

stayed 3 times and the standerds are very good they cant do enough for you will all ways go back its so close to evrey thing room 7 is so lush

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wesleyBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#36 of 103 in Ambleside
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rooms at the Apple Pie
Rooms at the Apple Pie
#22 of 103 in Ambleside
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#24 of 103 in Ambleside
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garth

Property: Rothay Garth
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Garth offers you a blend of understated elegance and warm friendly family service. Set in beautiful gardens within Ambleside, we benefit from a large private on-site car park and superb mountain views. Enjoy our Lakeland breakfast in the Loughrigg breakfast room before heading out, and after a day's exploring relax and unwind with a glass of wine from the bar service in the comfort of our residents lounge - we look forward to hearing from you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rothay Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garth Hotel Ambleside
Rothay Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing