We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Stay”
Review of Rothay Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rothay Garth
Ranked #46 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly Stay”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A very friendly, family-run business. We we there to take in local walks, and it was central enough to do so without having to negotiate traffic. Awesome local produce breakfast. Owner was exceedingly helpful with walking routes to take and was professional in asking our expected return time, should we encounter any problem on the hills. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dailaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    56
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
128
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very friendly and warm family run business that welcomes you and serves your needs with pleasure and enthusiasm. Comfortable room and lovely breakfast. A lovely place to come home to after a wonderful day exploring the Lakes.

Room Tip: The lunch they provide to visitors staying that little bit longer is free and is excellent. Great ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed in Ambleside so many times and sadly not being able to book into our favoured B&B we booked the Rothay Garth. Not at all as expected and no we won’t be returning!

On our arrival Room 17 was freezing and when we asked for central heating to be put on, so we could remove our coats (a simple expectation we thought), the last thing I expected was a rude and terse remark. It was impossible to manage the room temp’ because the radiators were on and off despite having thermostat valves and not at all what you expect when you’re a paying guest. We actually left the room at 2.30pm on day two to go for a walk and get warm, however just prior to this we overheard others at the reception asking when the central heating was coming on - they were told at 4pm (1 ½ hrs later!)

The room dynamics didn’t work at all, no normal storage in bathroom, the mirror/shelf was ludicrously high (only 6ft folks should apply) so neither of us could use the thing, meaning my hubby shaved in the hallway. No sink in the separate toilet so getting ready was eventful to say the least (you were in one room then the next, all just to ready yourself for the day/eve).

Room 17 is a single glazed building with a pitched roof to the front/right hand side of the hotel and adjacent to the car park. It has no window coverings meaning everyone repeatedly looked in on us as they passed. It has its own door to the outside, however this meant people tried to come in thinking it was reception and the curtain covering the door, was clearly there to try to mask the draft which flooded in.

Breakfast – sausages were good and on the whole not a bad experience, however – when my husband asked for sausage and bacon on day two, the attendant brought forth exactly that – A sausage and A slice of bacon both sliding independently round on the plate which was remarkable and at the prices we were paying ludicrous.

The brochure has a picture, which incorporates St Mary’s Church spire; this is in fact on the other side of the Rothay Road, a view not possible without a camera and some editing software; very misleading and surely a misrepresentation.

The welcome was not warm from certain members of the family and forced otherwise. Our booking was for three nights, but we returned to our warm home on day three and despite mentioning we were leaving early this was not a concern to the member of staff checking us out.

Hospitality was not a resident at this B&B.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 676Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was all exactly as described in the details given on various sites. The room was lovely, in every way, the welcome perfect and nothing seemed a problem. The food each day was good and set us up for the day, sitting in the comfy lounge with a drink to relax on a wet afternoon all part of the laid back weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A quick decision to spend 2 rare sunny days walking in the Lakes saw us querying at 6pm if this hotel had any rooms for the night, tempted by the looks of the building and the private carpark. We were offered two grades of room - standard should have been £44 pppn but immediately offered at £35 as it was 'evening already'. We rejected the luxury (seeing only there 1 night) which again was offered at a discount. The standard room was very good indeed, nicely furnished and clean and just big enough not to be cramped. Well equiped and most comfortable bed. Laura was most welcoming and helpful when we checked in. Breakfast was delicious.
Will return, even if you pay full price it is good value. Look now for bargain 3 nights for 2 breaks rest of this month (nov 2012)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at Rothay Garth for 1 night on late deal (£80 B&B in superior room). Arrived at 10am and asked if we could leave car in car park as we wanted a walk, and were able to book in there and then as room had not been used previous night. Showed round hotel by Laura and first impressions were very good. King sized bed, large room (Room 1), proper bathroom with full size bath and ample storage for people staying longer. Ideally placed for any walks from Ambleside. After a long walk had bath and there was loads of very hot water so had a great soak. Good nights sleep in comfy bed and the breakfast next morning was fantastic. Cooked to order, not rushed, help yourself to coffee - perfect. Enquired if it would be better to book direct with the hotel on leaving, and were told that would be better for them. Will definitely return!.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1 on first floor with proper bathroom and king sized bed. dont know what standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very warm welcome to a very clean and homely b & b. rooms were a nice size, clean and crisp with a wonderful view of the fells. Bathroom clean and fresh looking. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast freshly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. Nicely situated b&b within easy walking distance of town and many walks from Ambleside. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#37 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garth

Property: Rothay Garth
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Garth offers you a blend of understated elegance and warm friendly family service. Set in beautiful gardens within Ambleside, we benefit from a large private on-site car park and superb mountain views. Enjoy our Lakeland breakfast in the Loughrigg breakfast room before heading out, and after a day's exploring relax and unwind with a glass of wine from the bar service in the comfort of our residents lounge - we look forward to hearing from you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rothay Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garth Hotel Ambleside
Rothay Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing