We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nanny Brow
Nearby Hotels
$212
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$141
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
668
42
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
42
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarts and craftswhitwell suitehome made cakesskelwith roomdrop sconeslake districtantique furnitureattention to detailbeautiful housefabulous viewsoriginal featureshomemade jamsbirthday cardfresh fruit saladwarm welcomestayed longersmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 726 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay at the Nanny Brow in the past and were excited to find that it had reopened after several years. Nothing could have prepared us for the fantastic change. The new owners have remodelled this beautiful Arts and Crafts house beautifully. It is luxurious and homely.

We arrived to home made mince pies (the following day fantastic Victoria sandwich ) and a very warm welcome from Mark the manager and various family members. We subsequently met Sue one of the owners who was equally welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and Mark booked us a nearby restaurant for Dinner. My husband enjoyed a very lovely bottle of Côte du Beaune at the bar.

We stayed in the Langdale suite which we had stayed in under previous management. It was beautiful, comfortable bed, warm, lovely bath products and a great view across the adjacent fell. We have seen all the rooms and would be happy to stay in any one of them. But we love the large arched windows of this room.

The breakfast was fantastic lovely local produce, thick rashers of bacon and slabs of smoked salmon. We felt very spoilt.

It is well placed for walking and visiting Ambleside.

The Nanny Brow is a bed and Breakfast that all owners should aspire too. We will definitely be returning

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I'm a little late writing this review as we stayed several months ago but we did have a great time. This was a special return visit to the Nanny Brow as we held our wedding reception here 22 years ago which has lovely memories for us. It was lovely to see how the new owners have carefully and thoughtfully refurbished it retaining the essence of it's arts and crafts heritage. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable with lovely views and the peace and quiet that we needed. Everything about our stay was lovely and I would recommend it very highly. It's situated over a mile from Ambleside but if you don't want to drive all the time it's quite an easy walk into Ambleside with good public transport. It's a great location if you prefer to leave the car and spend the day walking, our car didn't move from the car park from arrival to leaving several days later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcat710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Nanny Brow over the weekend just before Christmas. Just the two of us went up to the lakes to unwind and chill before the festivities begun, the weather was 'mixed' but the venue and the staff made our break probably the most relaxing one we've ever had. Clean, lovely, welcoming and very very friendly with breakfasts to die for.
We recommend you stay here whenever you visit the lakes, you will NOT be disappointed - we will definitely return before too long.

Room Tip: Zefferelli's and Fellini's restaurants are the perfect places to eat Ambleside as well as being able to catch a film and have a drink too.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Would highly recommend this beautiful b&b. A warm welcome, spotless charming room, great location, and a fabulous breakfast. Wished we had booked for longer! Just what we needed after a mad Christmas period. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was not our first stay at Nanny Brow and it certainly won't be our last.We have just returned home after a 4 night Christmas break and it could not have been better.The welcome,the ambience,the food and the general feel of the place-A1.A lot of thought has gone into the furnishings and general decor and we love it.A family run,luxury B&B at the top of it's game.Well done!

Room Tip: The Whitwell suite if your budget will stretch to it.Large room,great views and a huge bathroom with rolltop bath and great shower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews