We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nanny Brow
Nearby Hotels
$215
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$136
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
$175
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
667
42
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
42
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarts and craftswhitwell suitehome made cakesskelwith roomdrop sconeslake districtantique furnitureattention to detailbeautiful housefabulous viewsoriginal featureshomemade jamsbirthday cardfresh fruit saladwarm welcomestayed longersmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 725 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary in early May and despite being dubious about B & B's, I have been proved wrong! Nanny Brow is luxurious and friendly at the same time. We arrived pushed for time and the owners made us sandwich platters and we were set for the day. They helped us prepare for our hike the following day with maps and packed lunches and dried us out on our return! Their recommendations for restaurants were ideal and hospitality perfect!
I don't usually write reviews but I felt that I must this time. Congratulations Nanny Brow!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After being impressed by the house on the website the reality is even more amazing. The owners are to be congratulated on the superb revitalisation. The house itself, the sitting room and dining room are fine examples of the 'Arts and Craft' period. The furnishings and decor are perfectly in keeping with these historical gems. This a major reason in our choosing this location for our special stay, over our Ruby wedding.
The bedrooms, particularly to the front, have fantastic views. They are all thoughtfully and tastefully furnished and decorated. All are bright and spacious, the beds large and comfortable, likewise the en suite bathrooms are roomy and light. The bedrooms are so comfortable that it is an effort to leave them!
The breakfasts were an event in themselves, making the first decisions of the day so difficult!.
Sue and her staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Sue in fact recommended the Cedar Manor Hotel for our special dinner and what a choice. Wonderful ambience, excellent food and lovely hosts in the owners. Could not have been bettered.
The work going on to complete the Bar area was not at all disruptive and I'm sure can only add to the overall experience.
We very highly recommend this house, so much more than just a B&B. Real luxury, a gem.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the suites are worth splashing out for the 'special occasion' stays.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horseabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner & I have just spent four nights here and had a great time. Nanny Brow is a beautiful Arts & Crafts building with some lovely period details and furniture, particularly on the ground floor, and wonderful views. As sadly is so often the case in the Lake District, we didn't have wall to wall sunshine (sic) and so Nanny Brow proved a great place to come back to late afternoon and spend a few hours before going out to dinner. Many rooms have fantastic views - we cetainly had a great outlook from Skelwith. Our room was spotlessly clean, and very cosy and comfortable. Breakfasts are really first rate from very fruity & nutty home made muesli to full English to smoked salmon & scrambled eggs - oh, and there's also a brilliant selection of jams to spread onto some very good breads!
The service is excellent: it feels really personal - there were very few other guests when we were here but you get the feeling that you'd always be made very welcome even if Nanny Brow was full. The home made slice of cake in your room each afternoon was always appreciated! There is some renovation work going on at present but the owners do their best to minimise the impact on guests and are very apologetic if there is even the slightest inconvenience.
Is it good value? It's certainly far from being the cheapest B&B in the Lake District but I'd say it's pretty good value, especially if you price compare with boutique hotels rather than other B&Bs.
Nanny Brow succeeds very well on the basics as you would expect - clean bathrooms, comfortable beds etc but it also sweats the details which sets it above many of its competitors. I'd certainly revisit. Sadly, because of the economy and the slow start to spring this year it's not filling up - so, go on: give it a try; I doubt you'll regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Skelwith, which is a regular room rather than a suite. Very comfortable with (occasional) early evening sun and amazing views!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Found Nanny Brow on tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to its reputation.

Beautiful, peaceful location just a short distance away from bustling Ambleside. Loved the fact that their website clearly showed you pictures of each room and their different features. We chose the Brathay Suite and it was spacious and bright with gorgeous antique furniture and a stunning view down to the water.

The owners guided us in choosing an achievable walk in the surrounding hills, loved the views from the top of Nanny Brow hill.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just arrived home after spending 3 days in the Lingmoor room. The owners make running a bed and breakfast look effortless. I do consultancy work within the Hotel industry and help to improve failing bed and breakfast and hotels on TripAdvisor within the Cotswolds. What I usually find is Hoteliers are reluctant to spend money on the all important attention to detail. They are driven by profit alone. What I saw here was attention to detail on every level. We arrived Easter Sunday to a Nanny Brow personalised Easter egg! The moment you arrive you feel that the room has been personally prepared for you - the cleanliness is very high quality. I strive to push hotels and B & B's to be as good as this establishment. TripAdvisor can ruin some businesses but they can also help to sell the 'better' hotels. Fantastic!!! I cannot think of anything that could improve Nanny Brow and I am sure if they continue to offer this level of service and attention to detail they will be welcoming guests for many more years to come.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mariaGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews