We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Lakes Stay”
Review of Nanny Brow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nanny Brow
Ranked #13 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Lakes Stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Found Nanny Brow on tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to its reputation.

Beautiful, peaceful location just a short distance away from bustling Ambleside. Loved the fact that their website clearly showed you pictures of each room and their different features. We chose the Brathay Suite and it was spacious and bright with gorgeous antique furniture and a stunning view down to the water.

The owners guided us in choosing an achievable walk in the surrounding hills, loved the views from the top of Nanny Brow hill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    37
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
529
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home after spending 3 days in the Lingmoor room. The owners make running a bed and breakfast look effortless. I do consultancy work within the Hotel industry and help to improve failing bed and breakfast and hotels on TripAdvisor within the Cotswolds. What I usually find is Hoteliers are reluctant to spend money on the all important attention to detail. They are driven by profit alone. What I saw here was attention to detail on every level. We arrived Easter Sunday to a Nanny Brow personalised Easter egg! The moment you arrive you feel that the room has been personally prepared for you - the cleanliness is very high quality. I strive to push hotels and B & B's to be as good as this establishment. TripAdvisor can ruin some businesses but they can also help to sell the 'better' hotels. Fantastic!!! I cannot think of anything that could improve Nanny Brow and I am sure if they continue to offer this level of service and attention to detail they will be welcoming guests for many more years to come.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B and highly recommended. Great position for exploring the heart of the Lake District with lovely walks right on the doorstep. Beautifully furnished rooms, wonderfully warm when it was so cold outside, comfy bed with nice bedding and super power shower in an immaculately clean bathroom. Delicious breakfasts with one of the best fruit salads I have ever had in a hotel, top quality cooked food and gorgeous jams to put on thick toasted crusty bread. Nice touch of providing home baked cake to go with tea in the afternoon which we looked forward to after a hard days fell walking. Good choice of eating places for the evenings within easy reach. Sue and Mark were very welcoming and friendly. Thank you.We will definitely come again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliB919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

From arriving to leaving, this place was perfect. Our room was decorated beautifully with stunning views of the fells. It was spotlessly clean with luxury toiletries and fresh fluffy warm towels. The bed was extremely comfy and had crisp white linen and extra pillows if we needed it. They are very environmentally friendly but that didn't distract from the excellent way they looked after us. We were given fresh homemade cakes every afternoon, which we had in our room with a cup of tea. It is run by a family who could not do enough for us. The breakfast was delicious and we had the choice of juices, fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt, followed by a freshly cooked Lakeland breakfast. You could mostly have anything you liked, nothing was too much trouble. We were treated exceptionally well by everyone and even Myffy the dog made us welcome, although the cat did chose to ignore us :) I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a quiet getaway with a little bit of luxury, but still wants to be close to busy Ambleside and Grasmere. We were very sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brantwood on ground floor. I would pay extra next time and stay on first floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from spending Easter weekend at Nanny Brow, what a lovely place to stay. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms but this was more than adequate. The decor is neutral, tastefull and keeping with the period of the house. Top marks for the comfort of the beds and the en suite shower was great. The toiletries and excellent facilities make it all top notch. The best part of your stay here is the view it is beautiful. The breakfast was substantial with plenty of choice all prepared to order so no.... Cold buffet food here!

Would love to return soon to try out a different room :-)

Room Tip: If travelling as part of a smaller group of 4 then recommend sawrey & rydal as they come with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssteve10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
223 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This really is a top quality B&B delivering everything that other reviewers have mentioned. Excellent service from start to finish. Our room was so comfortable and eveything provided was of the best quality. Unlike so many other hotels (large and small) and B&Bs, the bed was very comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep and the room was darkened with blackout blinds and curtains. When we awoke and drew the blinds we looked out on breath-taking scenery - the snow capped mountains of the Lake District.
As we had guessed it would be, the breakfast was wonderful with a good choice of food on offer. Everything was of very good quality. The salmon and scrambled egg was delicious as was the full English breakfast.
Truly we could not fault this superb bed and breakfast guest house and we would love to return one day. Certainly one can find cheaper but you pay for what you get and we believe that Nanny Brow charged a fair price for an excellent B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nanny Brow, what a truly lovely experience in every way. A warm welcome, a sumptuous room and bathroom, lemon cake on arrival, fresh milk for tea for your room, a lovely king size bed with crisp white bedding, hot towels on the rail, lovely soaps, shampoo and body wash. Then there is breakfast,break tea leaves or fresh coffee, cereals and/stunning fruit salad followed by either porridge, a Full English, gorgeous smoked salmon with scrambled egg and toast, boiled eggs with soldiers or drops scones with blueberries and maple syrup - what to choose?
Sue and Mark, thank you for a scrumptious four days, it was bliss xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skenseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
2.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Property: Nanny Brow
Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing