We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Nanny Brow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nanny Brow
Ranked #12 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is our second visit to this beautiful part of England and who can resist the opportunity to stay in a traditional 'Arts & Crafts" house. The owners have restored the house to an excellent standard. The 'wow factor as you walk in gives you a taste of the fantastic service you are about to receive. Breakfast was perfect and in the evening it was lovely to meet other guests in the lounge for a night cap. Sue, Pete and Mark make the perfect hosts - discrete, knowledgeable and friendly. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMTTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 699 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We read all of the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking and Nanny Brow certainly didn't disappoint.

The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable, views are breathtaking and the breakfast is to die for. We'd definitely book again and would recommend Nanny Brow to anyone heading to the Lake District.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms in the property's annexe. Room was great but WiFi connection is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_rp186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

When we booked to stay at Nanny Brow little did we know that my wife would be ill for that weekend. We rang the hotel to rearrange for another weekend thinking that we would probably lose our deposit but they were more than happy to do this. The hotel is beautifully refurbished and very luxurious and worth every penny we paid. Better still we were upgraded to a suite with wonderful views, once the early morning mist had lifted. The breakfast was huge and top notch especially the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The big bonus for me was the dog and cat who were very friendly and even came for a walk in the woods with us. The cat charged about enjoying itself and entertaining us whilst Miffy the dog insisted on having her stick thrown at every opportunity. We will certainly stay again and hopefully get an upgrade again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsandraCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from another perfect stay in this wonderfull luxurious B&B our second in the last six months.Great price at this time of year but good value anytime of the year when you get this very high standard of accomodation ,food and very friendly service.Why not treat yourself to one of the exquisite suites!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but the suites are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejayaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Nanny Brow at the beginning of November and have nothing but praise for both the hotel and its staff. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Our room was beautiful and very clean and the view from it was spectacular. The breakfasts were amazing and we also enjoyed one of their delicious packed lunches. It is most certainly a luxury B&B, it is ideally placed and when I tripped and fell whilst out walking, both Mark and Sue offered help and organised for me to dash down to the local medical centre to get some stitches. We would most certainly visit Nanny Brown again and I would most definitely recommend this superb B&B to all of my friends and anyone reading this review.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandKevin189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A fabulous top-end B&B. Sue and her family, including Miffy the dog have managed to create a place to stay that is worthy of the price but doesn't lose its homeliness in the process. If you're not dog people, don't let the mention of Miffy put you off, she is incredibly quiet and knows how to behave!

The homemade cake in the room everyday was a nice touch, as was the free Wifi.

Breakfast is of great quality with beautiful bacon that is so thick it borders on being Gammon. Delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAndAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. A wonderful location, very secluded and quiet, but close enough to Ambleside, Windermere and Bowness for meals out in the evening. Staff were extremely nice and helpful, the hotel is beautiful both inside and out and cake was brought to our room in the afternoon. My only complaint is that the hotel dog was away on holiday so we didn't get chance to meet him.

It is a bit dear, but worth the expense for a nice treat. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saminwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,229 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $164 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing