We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation”
Review of Nanny Brow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nanny Brow
Ranked #12 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

A little gem of a B&B nestling just outside Ambleside with gorgeous views.

The hospitality received was second to none with all staff been extremely friendly and accommodating . Breakfast I thought was outstanding with plenty of choice for all tastes.

This establishment was tastefully decorated through out and was extremely clean and tidy as you would expect.

I booked this accommodation as a romantic break for my wife and I after reading reviews left by other trip advisor members and we were not disappointed !!!.

I will certainly be returning in the not too distant future, that is for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 788pluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 709 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mark was delighted to show us around and tell us the history of this beautiful house. We stayed for three nights and the staff were very helpful and courteous.
Breakfast was superb and the views were what I had hoped for - exquisite.

Who knows, we may come again.

Room Tip: Upstairs the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidrLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed for the weekend at Nanny Brow. This was our third visit, and as always it was excellent. It was my partner's birthday so the owners had a lovely bunch of balloons and a card waiting in the room for him. At breakfast the staff sang 'Happy Birthday' and placed a candle in the toast!

Nanny Brow is a lovely place to stay, since our first visit in September 2011 we haven't stayed anywhere else in the Lake District. It really is something special, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfasts delicious, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the little touches (like homemade cake in the rooms) just make this 'The place to stay in the Lakes'.

A big thank you to Sue, Pete and Mark for making our stay so enjoyable, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Nanny Brow. Great location and excellent breakfasts. Not sure it warrants the 5 star rating. Stayed in the Rydal room in the annex. The shower floods the bathroom every time you use it and the fan in the bathroom is noisy and remains on for ages. The wardrobe door is very difficult to keep closed and kept swinging open.
Very dissappointed to have to pay to use the nearby leisure facilities. Would have thought that when paying the high prices for the B&B this would have been included. It has been everywhere else we have stayed in the lakes.
After a day out on the fells we asked for afternoon tea which was advertised as including cakes and sandwiches. We were advised that there were no cakes available other than the ones in our room so we had tea and provided our own cake. We were then charged for the cups of tea. None of this sits with a 5 star rating.
On the plus side the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back from Nanny Brow after a wonderful weeks holiday.The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous but what really made our stay so amazing was our host Mark. Nothing was too much trouble,he was always there to help and his kindness(and cakes)are something we will always remember.We loved Nanny Brow and have booked to stay again. Thankyou Mark,Miffy and Kiwi for making this a holiday we will never forget. Jayne & Russell

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rblakey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really loved it !!
It's a really great place and difficult to find anything wrong.
Mark is so helpfull and really kind.

Great location, great breakfast ..great everything !!
If you want to explore the lake district that is the perfect place to stay.

Really recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights towards the end of September with 2 other couples on wives' college annual reunion. Nanny Brow has obviously been restored with tender loving care and certainly lives up to its 5 star and luxurious billing. Stayed in the excellent Skelwith room which is well furnished and has wonderful views of the river Brathay and Fells. Bathroom was on the small side compared with other rooms but the shower was a good size with quality fittings. There are some very nice touches in the rooms, eg homemade cake every day, selection of teas and a teapot to make it in! Also, shoe polish provided.

Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice including wonderful homemade jams.

There is a large sitting room which is comfortably furnished with many magazines and guides to the local area which is perfect for relaxing after breakfast or in the evening.

Mark, the manager could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

The house is outside Ambleside in a quiet and scenic setting and has our unreserved recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $161 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing