We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the area bar none!!!”
Review of Nanny Brow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nanny Brow
Ranked #12 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I’ve never written a TA report before, but on visiting this fabulous retreat on 9 and 10 September I was compelled to add a review. We came after searching for somewhere to stay for my girlfriend's birthday surprise treat. I looked at many properties in and around Windermere and Ambleside and they were either a bit 'twee' or ridiculously expensive. Then on Booking.com I found this place. What a refreshing find! Not too pricey for the service and fittings and in the perfect location: close to Ambleside for visiting/amenities, but not in the centre so you weren’t on top of anyone with no where to park. On visiting their own site, it was the view from what would be ‘our’ room that sold it to me, simply incredible!

We had arrived later than planned thanks to the congestion on the M6 but Sue still gave us an incredibly warm welcome, and made us feel at home right away. We stayed in the Lingmoor room which is directly over the main entrance and looks right down the valley, with so many beautiful contrasting colours for the trees and fells; a proper postcard view! And the room was simply gorgeous!! A very thoughtful mix of new technology where you need it, and beautiful antique furniture including an original French double bed and wardrobe. The bathroom was equally furnished to a very high standard, complete with a double power shower. Plenty of hot water, and gorgeous smelling toiletries completed the scene. Sue, bless her, had even given us slices of home-made cake on our arrival and then a little tiffin cake each on our second night!

The house is absolutely stunning, with many unique period Arts & Crafts features abound, and it made us feel instantly safe under its roof even though we had only been there for a few hours.

Breakfasts were plentiful, locally sourced and home-made where possible. Their own muesli and drop-scones with maple syrup and fresh blueberries in the morning were delicious as was the traditional Cumbrian full English.

Sue and Peter were so friendly; it was like staying with old friends. Nothing was too much trouble, from suggesting walks/places to visit, to discussing the fascinating history of the house, to making sure we had glasses for the champagne that I had brought with us. We asked them to join us for a drink of it on the Saturday evening, which then flew past as we were chatting in the lounge (also wonderfully decorated) for most of the evening. We even got to sample some of their locally sourced real ales (though for market research purposes only of course!!)

We cannot rate this place highly enough!! The only downer was that we had to leave, but we WILL definitely be returning. Sue and Peter showed us the room that would become their honeymoon suite, as they were investigating the wedding market. Perhaps the next time we visit, we will stay in here ;-)

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment - all rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srdenny80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 716 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at Nanny Brow(a Birthday Treat) & what a fantastic time we had.
Sue & Peter, & Mark were absolutely wonderful hosts, and deserve all the praise for the beautiful place they have created.
We arrived Saturday night, had a wonderful surprise, Sue had upgraded us to a suite! What a wonderful room is an understatement. Such quality.What a wonderful view, What a wonderful bathroom! Everything you could possibly want. Fresh cake, fresh milk, plenty of tea & coffee in our room. Breakfasts were great,lots of choice & the Bluebery & Maple Dropped Scones were my favourite! A better cooked breakfast you will never find. Nanny Brow is truly a wonderful experience that everybody should try. You will not want to leave, and you definitely will want to return. We do!! We Will!
Our thanks & best wishes are sent to Sue, Pete, & Mark. (& the dog,played "fetch the stick", but didnt get formally introduced!!)
Good luck for the future success of Nanny Brow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhols62011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was a truely beautiful luxury B&B, recently renovated to a very high standard.
The decor was sympathetic to the period nature of the property with a mix of new and old - smart, classical decor and period furniture which makes this place a loveable delight.
Breakfast was made to a high standard with a good variety and fast, friendly service.
The owners and manager were extremly friendly and welcoming to add that special touch.
I cant recommend this hotel enough if you are willing to pay the higher prices for quality and decadance.
The only disspaointment was the size of the room which was tight, but the high quality classical finish and wonderful customer service made sure that could be forgiven.
I cant wait to go again and I cant wait to see how the back of the house will be developed so there is more to look forward to.

Room Tip: Dont book last minute if you want a larger room as this place will be booked up all year round for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous. We have just spent 2 months travelling through Europe, staying at some of the most beautiful places in the world but honestly, when people ask where our favourite place was, there is no doubt, Nanny Brow Ambleside. My new fiance was so inspired he proposed while we were there! The staff were all wonderful and made us feel so welcome. Our room was so comfortable, everything we needed was supplied and the standard of accommodation was superb. Congratulations to Susan & Co on the opening of such a gorgeous place, we cannot wait to return. Don't hesitate in making a booking at Nanny Brow, you will not be disappointed and I'm sure like us, you wont want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schminda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

we have just returned from Nanny Brow September 2011. It was wonderful. 10 out 0f 10.
We would like to wish our best to the new owners Susan and Peter and the lovely Mark.
Nothing was too much trouble. a lovely long weekend away.
best regards Pauline & Tony Riley Lancashire

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jollypauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just come back from staying at Nanny Brow, and wanted to pass on our comments. We booked online and as we were only staying for one night looked at the pictures and made our decision to book. We can not recommend this hotel highly enough, the sign at the bottom of the drive says "Luxurious Bed and Breakfast" and thats exactly what it is. The hotel has just been completely renovated to a very high standard, and the attention to detail both in the room, the bathroom, dining room and lounge was clear to see, nice touches like a piece of home made cake on the in room tea tray make such a difference, I've stayed in hotels all over the world and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel very highly. The view from the front of the property is delightful, and Sue and everybody else who works there really made an effort. Don't pass up the full lakeland breakfast, the sausages are fab, a reflection that they take the time to source local produce from local suppliers.

Down side, we were only there for the one night, next time we plan a visit to the lake district we know where we will be booking, we won't even bother looking at other options.

Frank & Janet Langman

Room Tip: Book a room at the front, the views are something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The experience from arriving at Nanny Brow to leaving was first class. We never expected the views to be as breathtaking as the ones on the website, but they were beautiful and especially the views from our room were spectacular.

We were greeted by Sue, who showed us around and even made home made cake that was offered to us along with a cup of tea upon arrival. Upon requesting a bottle of Champagne and chocolates for my wife, this was no problem and the quality of this was exceptional.

The room provided excellent comfort, breathtaking views and most importantly a great nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning provided plenty of choice and the hot breakfast had great amounts of flavour.

We couldn't fault anything from the team at Nanny Brow and along with their very friendly dog Myffy were available whenever we needed them for information about walks to help with booking tables for the evening. We would definitely recommend Nanny Brow to everyone and are going to be returning for a break towards Christmas.

Room Tip: All the rooms look across some spectacular views, we stayed in the Whitwell Suite that was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 102 in Ambleside
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 102 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $186 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing