We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rattle Gill Cafe

Rattle Gill Cafe
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We open our doors at 10am and serve homemade food. We stop serving savoury hot food at 4pm to allow us time to prep for the following day. We do still serve teas, coffees and cakes until 4.30pm. Please do come and visit and fill your hungry tummies!
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place which we popped into on a rainy day. We both had doorstep sandwiches which were gorgeous both served with a lovely pasta / noodle side salad. I will definitely be coming back here when we visit Ambleside.

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    47
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited Rattle Gill recently at the end of a drizzly day in the Lakes. We were met with a delightful cheery welcome, and great banter from the owners. We always pick places that welcome our doggie, and happily they still do. I was so sorry to see the previous owners were selling up, as they ran things so well, but the new owners seem just great. The smoothies were delicious, and the carrot cake, oh so tasty, the best I have ever had! The cafe and menu seem just the same, so glad they haven't sought to " modernise" things, and are instead continuing to focus on the quality of the food and drink, served with a smile, in a charming and traditional, rustic setting. As we were settling up, the owner insisted we take home two scones as they were closing, as a freebie. A lovely touch, and very much enjoyed after a long journey home. Hence to say this will hopefully be a regular and much anticipated feature on many more trips to the Lake District. Do give them a try, they so deserve to do well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfiedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Delicious sandwiches and cakes. We hadnt been here before, in a nice spot in Ambleside, will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lojoaboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Safe hands!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Rattle Gill is my usual choice whenever I'm in Ambleside, be it with my friends when I'm mountain biking or with my wife when we are out walking. I have known the cafe was to change hands but today was the first time I had visited since the new owners took over.

It was a relief to discover everything is still superb. The veggie chilli (although it seemed slightly different) is excellent and as always served with a generous helping of fresh granary bread. I also tried a smoothie instead of my usual coffee and although it wasn't the cheapest, it was packed with fresh fruit and worth every penny. Cafe's like this are true gems. It is clear the new owners, just as the previous ones, really do care about what they are serving and how they serve it.

Rattle gill is all about quality fresh ingredients, made and served with love. Still the best cafe in town!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Time out to somewhere unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a post-lunch snack, and we opted for the cake board - this comes with 5 pieces of cake to share for 2-3 people. Great with their tea, best cuppa I've had in a while and I like my tea!
We had flapjack, lemon drizzle, brownie, coffee cake, and carrot cake. My favs were the carrot cake (tasty icing on top!) and lemon drizzle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reyno84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle Gill Cafe also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rattle Gill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing