We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would recommend”
Review of Rattle Gill Cafe

Rattle Gill Cafe
Ranked #2 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We open our doors at 10am and serve homemade food. We stop serving savoury hot food at 4pm to allow us time to prep for the following day. We do still serve teas, coffees and cakes until 4.30pm. Please do come and visit and fill your hungry tummies!
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“would recommend”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This deserves it high rating, doorstop sandwiches and home made cakes.
Would go back when visiting again.
They could do with relocating as its very small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mutley0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    49
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caketastic experience!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I found this cute little cafe on TA .... Loved it so much, this is my first ever review. If you can't decide which scrummy cake to have, I would highly recommend the sharing platter for two. The cafe felt welcoming, charming, friendly and cosy... Off the beaten track from the high street brands and well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walk walk walk. Then indulge here!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this place and what a treat! Cakes are to die for. The milkshake was amazing and the staff are really lovely. Cute and well worth looking up. We'll be back for savoury next time (followed by the huge portions of cake)!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wibsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“OMFG”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Chocolate sponge was awesome and was DEVOURED! Lovely place, lovely people. Simply, GO if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited this café after reading TA reviews. Very small café with only 5 or 6 tables - feels quirky inside. Had coffee & a lovely scone which was a bit different to the usual scone. It was warm & I think it had a hint of cinnamon - served with butter & loads of yummy jam. My hubby had the flapjack which was full of seeds - delicious he said! I saw someone eating the soup which was served with a huge chunk of bread & a pot of cheese. Next time I would love to try their savoury dishes. Will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle Gill Cafe also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rattle Gill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing