We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rattling good Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rattle Gill Cafe

Rattle Gill Cafe
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We open our doors at 10am and serve homemade food. We stop serving savoury hot food at 4pm to allow us time to prep for the following day. We do still serve teas, coffees and cakes until 4.30pm. Please do come and visit and fill your hungry tummies!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Rattling good Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a wonderful little cafe. Hidden away off Ambleside's main drag the compact cafe is warm, friendly and very reasonably priced. The food is all home made and the service is warm without being obsequious. We returned several times during our stay for a hearty lunch, a coffee and (home-made) cake and ... another coffee and (home-made) cake! Excellent. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    47
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best cafe in ambleside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

this is a little diamond in ambleside. gud vegie tucker at decent prices. nice friendly staff. efficient service. beats all the other eating places in ambleside where its hard to get all the above.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirlkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two soups...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Rattle Gill is a tiny little cafe just off the beaten track of Ambleside main street. Make sure you seek it out. Everything appears homemade and its warming hosts and smells make sure any visitors work their way through the menu. In our case this meant two adults and a small Yorkshire Terrier. Yes they even take dogs! Oh and children and pretty much anything well behaved. Two soups arrived much quicker than the Victoria Wood sketch and the waitress bears no resemblance to Julie Walters. Oh and the bowls were full, accompanied by a hunk of fresh bread and butter and a bowl of grated cheese. Bliss. Seek it out without delay.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

This cafe is situated alongside the rattle gill that runs through ambleside. It serves great no nonsense tasty food that sets you up for a day walking or just for shopping in the many excellent shops in ambleside. Great soups served with a chunk of bread and a slab of cheese is just one of the examples of some great comfort food. They also serve a great array of cakes, my wife would travel to the lake district just to have one of their chocolate brownies! The owners are very welcoming and attentive even during the bust periods. Great choice for veggies. Great value for money (unusual in the Lake district)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank howsercymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We popped into the cafe for a snack, as we were eating out later in the evening. We ordered a soup each only to be told there was only enough left for one serving, we decided my husband would have that and I would have another snack. We were told by the very helpful and pleasant lady who served us that as there was a little over a serving left she would let us have it all and bring me a spoon so we could share. A huge bowl was brought to the table with a very large "chunk" .. There was almost too much even to share. It was the most delicious soup I have ever tasted. We left totally satisfied. What a find we will definately be visiting again...

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank July80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle Gill Cafe also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rattle Gill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing