We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central location, cosy and clean”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
84 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Cosy lounge.
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Melissa X
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central location, cosy and clean”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Me and my partner have just returned from a short stay - 17th-21st July. What a delightful cottage! It was cosy, clean and we enjoyed using the fire in the evenings to make it that bit more cosy. We were impressed with the shower, it was powerful, large and just what was needed after a long walk. It has its own parking spot which was great. It was a short walk to Ambleside town centre which has lots of resteraunts and pubs. We were sad to leave but are already thinking of returning again next year. What a wonderful holiday in a delightful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
So glad you had a nice time. Don't forget there's a 5% discount for repeat bookings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muzikat
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage for exploring the Lake District”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our fifth stay at Blue Hill Cottage and are already planning next year's visit. My partner, Jane, and I love the Lakes and like to visit at least once a year. We only ever stay at this beautiful cottage, and each time we walk through the door it's like returning home. Why? Well for starters, the cottage is cosy, welcoming and superbly well-equipped. Secondly (and most importantly) is its location, just up the hill from the centre of Ambleside. Literally minutes walk from the bus station, shops and restaurants, the cottage is ideal for popping in and out with shopping, or for cups of tea or freshening up throughout the day, yet at night its silent. What more could you ask for?

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
So pleased you love the cottage as much as I do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-N-1...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage at Ambleside”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Conveniently located up a short hill near Ambleside's centre. This is a snug little cottage. The owner provides logs and coal for the open fire, which is especially delightful on cooler evenings. Shower room on first floor is excellent with lots of hot water. Stairs are steep with an unusual half step at the top and the owner has provided two hand rails to help navigate this area. At the back of the cottage is a tiny shared courtyard where small tables and chairs are placed outside some of the cottages, giving it the feel of a restaurant when neighbours eat outside on sunny evenings. Lovely time spent road cycling out of Ambleside where there's easy access to some impressive climbs:- Wrynose, Hardknott Pass and The Struggle!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. And hope to welcome you back again so you can take advantage of the 5% discount for return bookings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIM341
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ambleside Central - great place to stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Blue Hill Cottage is excellent , it is centrally located (so can use buses to get round if you want to) and easy to start walks from the cottage. The new bathroom is very modern and everything worked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
"Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back soon to take advantage of our 5% discount next time."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Álvaro M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice location, beautifull. Amazing cottage, very comfortable, warm.
The best is the firelog!! So cosy.
The kitchen is great, the bedrooms and bathroom aswell. We went with friends but looks amazing for families aswell!
We had a great time there, and the price was good aswell.
Totally recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back soon to take advantage of our 5% discount next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clownface...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely as ever!”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the 4th time that my partner and I have stayed in Blue Hill Cottage and it's as lovely a treat as the first. Welcoming, cosy home with everything you need and in such a fantastic location! The new,posh bathroom and great wifi brings this traditional cottage up to date while retaining all its character. Love it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Glad to welcome you back again. It's so nice when guests love the Cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely little cottage with everything we needed”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ambleside is the best location to stay with lots of amazing local walks. The accommodation was comfortable with everything we needed. We went to ullswater and on the second day, I managed lingmoor sumit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back! Don't forget to mention that you have been before when rebooking so that I can give you a 5% discount. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing