We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
84 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Cosy lounge.
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Álvaro M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice location, beautifull. Amazing cottage, very comfortable, warm.
The best is the firelog!! So cosy.
The kitchen is great, the bedrooms and bathroom aswell. We went with friends but looks amazing for families aswell!
We had a great time there, and the price was good aswell.
Totally recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back soon to take advantage of our 5% discount next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clownface...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely as ever!”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the 4th time that my partner and I have stayed in Blue Hill Cottage and it's as lovely a treat as the first. Welcoming, cosy home with everything you need and in such a fantastic location! The new,posh bathroom and great wifi brings this traditional cottage up to date while retaining all its character. Love it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Glad to welcome you back again. It's so nice when guests love the Cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely little cottage with everything we needed”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ambleside is the best location to stay with lots of amazing local walks. The accommodation was comfortable with everything we needed. We went to ullswater and on the second day, I managed lingmoor sumit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back! Don't forget to mention that you have been before when rebooking so that I can give you a 5% discount. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year break”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic little cottage in a superb location. Had everything you could possibly need and want from a short getaway from it all break

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
So pleased you liked our little cottage. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you'll be back again soon to take advantage of the discount offered to returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DJUKE1964
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location, well provisioned cottage”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage in a quiet spot but very close to the centre of Ambleside. The cottage is very small but has all the amenities you would need.
I would have rated the cottage higher except I spent a large part of the weekend away in bed having got food poisoning from eating in the White Lion (see my other trip advisor submission for details). Thus although the cottage is perfect my overall experience was somewhat tainted. Hence my lower star rating (not the cottage's fault at all.)
All correspondence with Jenny (the owner) was very swift and efficient...we will return - but will cook our own food in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
What a disappointment for you guys. Here's hoping you will return to take advantage of the 5% discount we offer returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, conveniently located and an all-round great place”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ambleside is an ideal spot for exploring much of the south lakes with its convenient bus and rail links which are still remarkably plentiful even in winter. This cottage is conveniently 5 minutes walk from the main ambleside bus stop from which nearly everywhere is readily accessible, if it wasn't already within walking distance.

Since the bathroom and boiler were revamped not long before our visit I'll make particular note of these:

The newly refitted bathroom is very nice and modern, though shower only. Though it has two shower heads (and room for two people!) we could only work out how to switch one head on at once. Aside from this minor nit-pick, the shower was powerful and warm and just what we needed after some cold winter walking. The new boiler seems to work well and the house gets nice and warm, though we occasionally had trouble getting hot water in the kitchen.

The main bed is very firm but remarkably comfortable and the master bedroom very pleasant. The twin room we found useful for dumping our luggage as the rest of the house is really rather compact.

The kitchen was well equipped with the notable exception that we couldn't find any measuring jugs or scales which meant a fair bit of approximate cooking went on during our stay. The dishwasher was very handy and worked very well.

The fire in the lounge was a real treat. When we arrived just after the new year it was also (tastefully) decorated for Christmas which we enjoyed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will provide some weighing scales. There was a measuring jug provided but if it's gone awol I will replace. Don't forget there's a 5% discount if you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing