We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Salutation Hotel. After taking the scenic route (sat nav) we arrived at 19.30. No problem with parking. Check in was very fast a efficient. The room was great, so comfy bed & pillows, flat screen tv, drink making facility etc.The bathroom was superb. Big power shower, Jacuzzi bath all finished of to a high standard. Paper delivered to your door every morning free of charge. We had drinks in the bar the first night with other members of our corporate party. (38 off us) Good atmosphere in the bar, not expensive.
We where a little late going into the restaurant and it had closed, however the maître d who was front of house organized some food for us and it was great. This gentlemen was such a great help all off our stay and an asset to the hotel. I did not catch his name. The next morning we went down for breakfast, "wow" anything and everything. That day we went on a 4x4 day with local company "KANKU" not to be missed. If you want to see the lakes, go and do this....not for the faint hearted, but some great views and scenery. After a busy day we all had a meal which we had pre-ordered. It was really nice and the service was great. This hotel makes you feel welcome and oozes quality without being snobby. If we went to the lakes again I would go straight here and not look any where else.
Im struggling for any negatives.......but to be very harsh.....maybe some background music in the bar.......and a rotating toaster at breakfast, but that is being very Fussey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveNicoCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the hotel, our great staff, facilities, service, rooms, food and our breakfast's. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to look after you all so well. We are lucky that we have returning guest's time and time again, which I think is due to our fabulous staff, facilities and welcoming feel the hotel gives, I'm so pleased you enjoyed this. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went for a short break with my wife for the first time to this hotel. The place was very warm and friendly. The staff were very good nothing was too much trouble. The room was of real quality (Woodlands) although if I am honest I do like to be in the main hotel and not across the road (Not far but having to put a top coat on to go for a meal or drink). Main hotel next time.
The food was very good and plenty of it.
A nice break for the wife and I.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakHgte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments about the hotel and our great team of staff - we are very lucky to have such a brilliant bunch. Glad you enjoyed the Woodlands room, its proving to be very popular, we do have other Lakeland rooms in the main hotel that you could try on your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location and very friendly and cosy. Best breakfasts!!
Rooms well appointed and staff cannot do enough to help. It charges 4* prices because it is a 4* facility.
Would return.
The food in the restaurant is ok, and the fish plate starter was a bit dry on the a la carte, and the lamb shoulder main was disappointing but the hotel itself is really well run.

Room Tip: dont eat the lamb main
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitricoxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our hotel, facilities, staff, location and breakfast. We are very lucky to be in such a good location with everything on our door step. I was sorry to read you were disappointed with the meal you had with us, please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your meal with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another visit and that you will let us rectify your dinning experience with us. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us even if I say so my self we feel it is one of the best breakfast's in the Lakes. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed her for three night mid week break. Room overlooking the front of the hotel, clean and comfortable. All staff very pleasant and helpful. Weather was not too good so spent one afternoon by the pool extremely relaxing and just what we needed, the hotel is in the centre of Ambleside and is ideally situated for walking or touring the area and very close to local pubs and restaurants, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Than you for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , apologies about the weather we are working on that one! At least you could relax in our pool and enjoy our leisure facilities. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and our team, we look forward to welcoming you back and we will try to hold off the showers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a 2 night break for my husbands 65th Birthday, and we were given a lovely room with balcony overlooking the village and hills,and there was a birthday card in the room for him,which is a nice touch. The room was Fab, with seating area,large comfy bed, and nice bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower over.
The hotel is tastefully decorated,with lovely bar and seating area,excellent restaurant,pool and leisure facilities.and the restaurant serves good food,and great breakfasts. You name your breakfast,they have it !! The staff are lovely too, so, all in all,thoroughly recommend it, cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelsndek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for posting a review and for choosing the Salutation to celebrate your husbands 65th - we were delighted to be a part of it. Thank you too for the compliments about the hotel, service, staff, facilities, leisure and not forgetting our amazing staff that always seem to go that extra mile. So pleased you liked our breakfast too we have worked hard on that to give people what they really want - glad its paid off.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

First time of staying here and a very fun time was had in Ambleside with a large group of mates. Lovely room nice size and evening I needed. Lovely bar. Pool, hot tub, and in particular the restaurant was very good too with excellent breakfasts Three nights, great stay, apart from the rain, no problems.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ozgondwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Than you so much for your review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also our facilities, food and our breakfast's. I wish I could control the weather for you, I'll give it my best shot for future visit's, We look forward to your return, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Another great stay
Just returned from another great stay at the Salutation. We have been going to the Salutation for over 10 years 2 to 3 times a year for my Birthday, Also for anniversary celebrations. We also bring our grandchildren on some occasions. We can't fault this hotel it is so welcoming, all the staff are lovely nothing is to much bother to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for the added touch, on arrival, room upgrade, and birthday card in our room. Ever time we return there is some area revamped. The new bistro menu is lovely and rely enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere there. The breakfast has to be one of best we have had, (to good we eat to much) it's well cooked, lots of verity. The bar and library area is so relaxing, but a small moan it can be a little cold in the library. Love the hot tub especially in the cold with the snow on the hills. And the leisure facilities, it does get a little busy so it is hard at times to get a lounger to relax by the pool (note to hotel maybe more lounger would be a benefit)
We do have one fault when our Grandsons know we are staying at the salutation, all we hear is please can we come too. so that says it all when a 14 year old and 12 year old, want to stay at this lovely hotel. Unfortunate they don't have family room for 14 year old.13 is the age limit for family rooms, we would like to bring them with us on some occasions, but we would now have to book 2 rooms. Even though they would be ok sharing our room. it looks like the salutation will just have to be for the two of us to have a relaxing break. How any body can complain about this hotel I really don't know. This fantastic hotel has ever thing you would want for all ages and would defiantly recommend. Looking forward to returning again later in the year

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martello16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about your stay, our staff, food, facilities and leisure are really appreciated. Apologies that you found the Library lounge a little chilly, and I will also look into the lounger situation by the pool. The hot tub is a great place to relax I agree, especially when you are looking at the snow capped fells. So pleased that future generations of your family want to come with you, just to clear up any misunderstanding children up to the age of 15 are accommodated in our family rooms with two adults on the children's rate. At 16 they will be charged the adult rate and if you wish they can have a room of their own. So hopefully you can bring your grand children away on another visit to us I'm sure they would enjoy the leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,229 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $148 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing