We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights Sun/Mon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 nights Sun/Mon”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overall fantastic stay , the only negative was the evening meal on our last night .. a little let down on both service and meal

Great welcome at reception , very efficient .. loved the room [Rydal] a little small , but the veranda and view looking across the Village to the mountains more than made up for it, was very cold during our stay but the room temperature was always warm and cosy.

The Hotel itself was lovely , looks as if newly decorated .. plenty of comfy sofa's and flame effect gas fires dotted about the bar / seating areas .

When we do manage to get away for much needed breaks , generally take a bottle of Champagne /Prosecco with us for the room ... there's a little self serve area by the bar where you can pick up ice / ice buckets and glasses..thought this was a great idea .

Breakfast was one of the best, couldn't fault the cooked breakfast for size or quality .. but really enjoyed the baked ham cold, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, smoothy, figs&apricots marinated in syrup & star anise at the cold buffet .. and of course the home made banana and fruit breads at the bakery section ... try a toasted bagel with the cream cheese & figs ... amazing , you can be as unhealthy ... or as healthy as you like.

The spa was a big hit used several times during our stay , never crowded .. the route to the changing room and pool was lit up by little blue ducks [nice touch] , both the sauna and steam room temperatures just right and the tropical shower / mist was really refreshing .. much better than being doused with cold water .. another nice touch was the Canadian hot tub ... total luxury

We have stayed at many hotels .. both pleasure and business , use the Hilton hotel chain and various others a lot , I can honestly say the spa and breakfast at this hotel has the edge .. it's the little touches that make a difference

We will be booking up for next year Birthday celebrations with family and friends soon

Room Tip: The Rydal room is idea for mountain / village views & also has a very handy balcony if smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, your feed back is important to us. I was very pleased that overall you had a fantastic stay with us and your compliments about our Reception staff, breakfast and Spa are much appreciated. We have worked hard on the breakfast set up which seems to be a hit with our guest's. The hot tub is a great place to chill after a day on the fells and I agree its a touch of luxury.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our service and your meal on the last night of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for this, we do pride ourselves on our friendly staff and our food, sadly on this occasion we did not come up to the mark for you . If you could contact me direct at the hotel I would like to have the chance to speak to you in more detail about your evening. I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon, please contact me so I can organise your booking your you. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    317
    63
    19
    12
See reviews for
200
747
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We returned for dinner this time as we couldnt stay at the hotel - they couldn't accomodate us on the dates so we stayed in the best western in kendal.

Dinner was great again - a little bit pricey on the food but it was our favourite hotel and thought we'd treat my gran as it was her 74th Birthday that evening.

Staff seemed a little to robotic this time, last time when we stayed in April it seemed that they actually wanted to have a conversation and were genuienly interested. This time it just seemed like they were going throught the motions. not nice when there are 6 of you dining and paying near enough to £200 you expect better service.

We will be back next year as we love the hotel, but sadly wont be dining in the restaurant again....no offense but there are other restaurants we'd like to try as well. Oh and also because we just love your canadian hot tub - the castle green hotel in kendal dont have one - boo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review, I'm very pleased that you loved the hotel, its location and of course the hot tub!

I was disappointed to read that you felt our food was a little pricey and that we had let you down on the service with our staff. We do have a great team and as you can see from other reviews our friendly attentive staff are mentioned in most reviews. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and if you could contact me direct at the hotel I would like the chance to discuss this with you in more detail. I do hope I will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed here very regularly over the past 4 years whilst working in the area and have spent 2 nights here too with my girlfriend. I can honetsly say it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
I work away from home a lot and have had the displeasure of staying in many hotels that claim to be 4-5 star and have also traveled extensively throughout the world and stayed at many "top" hotels. I can't help but use The Salutation as a benchmark to judge other hotels on as it's simply fantastic!
The service is first class, the rooms are comfortable and well furnished, the gym and leisure facilities are more than adequate and the breakfast is one of the best I have ever came across.
If you are going anywhere near the Lake District then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonasterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
'One of the best' - wow thank you delighted to read your review and your comments are really appreciated . So pleased we ticked all the boxes for you and that you think we are one of the best, comments like yours really do make it all worth while- thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I keep going back to this hotel, because its top quality and has a great location in centre of Ambleside. Car park is free behind hotel.Used the pool and hot tubs for the first time. A great addition, and nice after a long walk in the hills. Staff and service are really good. Breakfast is equal to any top hotel in the UK.

Room Tip: Stayed in a new room at front of hotel. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much 'its our favourite Lake District Hotel' - doesn't get much better than that! Thank you for such a great review really delighted we are your favourite and can't wait to welcome you back really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. Colchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ok, so booking a week's holiday in The Lake District in November might not suit everyone but we've done it a few times now. The colours are fabulous and you often get snow on the tops. The weather can be good and we did have one sunny day - Monday! But when it's cold and wet, as a good part of our week was, you need somewhere warm and comfortable to stay and The Salutation - or The Sally as it's affectionately known - really ticks all the boxes. It was our first time staying there although we had stayed at The Red Lion in Grasmere a few times when Paul was manager there.

Our club room - 220 - was super. Huge comfy bed, a couple of big armchairs/small sofas, lovely modern bathroom with walk-in rain shower and separate jacuzzi bath. Oh and did I mention the views - over the rooftops to Loughrigg and Fairfield horseshoe. Downstairs, the bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. The lounge is divided into four "rooms" with various styles and seating, so there should be somewhere to suit everyone's taste and seating requirements.

The restaurant area is again divided into areas with partitioned walls giving flexibility and privacy as appropriate. The breakfasts are brilliant with a huge choice, and there is a good selection on the evening "bistro" style menu. By the way, we entertained some of our relations for Sunday lunch and we all had chocolate bread and butter pudding and we all really enjoyed it!

Any hotel is only as good as the people who run it and work in it and I can only say that nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Any requests for things like extra coathangers etc reception staff quickly dealt with and all the staff were friendly and just lovely.

I agree parking can be a bit tight but I think as much as anything it's because of the bigger cars that are around today, and with a bit of co-operation it's not really a problem

Will we stay there again? You bet we will!

Room Tip: Room 220 is lovely provided you can manage a few stairs to reach it, it's on a corner on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for an amazing review- 'home from home' that really means a lot! We are so lucky to have a great team, great location, great facilities, great food and most of all great guest's who come back to the hotel time and time again it really does make it all worth while. We look forward to your return to the 'Sally' very soon - thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just another perfect stay at our favourite hotel. All the usual good points,lovely staff,lovely surroundings, lovely food!!!
The hotel was very busy and a party/disco night was on during our stay but the staff still maintained the standard we have come to expect at the "Sally".
Parking was a little bit tricky due to the number of guests staying but again the reception staff were a great help in advising were/when spaces became available.
Already booked our next stay and we plan to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary at the Salutation with family and friends next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review- so pleased we are your 'best'! your kind compliments are very much appreciated and we look forward to looking after you , your family for your 40th wedding anniversary at the 'Sally' next year- thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing