We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
$212
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$141
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveler rating
949
352
67
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
949
352
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very comfortable stay. Great location and lake very close by. We would definitely come again to take advantage of all the facilities on offer at this hotel.Our room had its own large patio area. Such and added bonus we didn't expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaffleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we able to look after you. Your kind comments about our staff, service and facilities are really welcomed. We are lucky to have great staff, facilities and be in such a handy location in Ambleside, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What an excellent hotel this is! Where do I start? The bedroom was outstanding with exceptional facilities we even had a balcony with a hot tub! There are several 'feature' bedrooms all with that something special. Upgrade to one of them you will not be disappointed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in the very pleasant bistro/restaurant and had a hearty breakfast too. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make everyone feel very special.
You would find it very difficult to find a bettter health club and spa. The little extra touches throughout the hotel are proof of how much the management and staff care about their guests.
Can't wait to return and would definitely recommend The Salutation when visiting the Lakes. Thanks to everyone for making our stay unforgettable!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review its great to hear we are getting right for our guest's., Our 'feature' style rooms are very popular and we like to think they are a bit different. Your comments about our friendly staff (a great team!) food, and our leisure club are much appreciated. We have worked hard with the leisure club and its a great place to relax and chill out and also to enjoy a pamper treatment from Oxley's too. Thank you once more we hope you can come back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from spending 2 days at the Salutation Hotel, it was probably the best stay there to date. The hotel, the room, the staff, the food, all 5* quality. We booked a club room as it was our anniversary and we weren't disappointed, the room was large with 2 sofas, a balcony with furniture which we were able to use due to good weather, the bathroom had spa bath and walk in shower and extremely clean. Breakfast at the Salutation is outstanding we only wish we had eaten there yesterday evening for out anniversary instead of elsewhere. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Next door is the spa which gives a 10% discount for hotel guests luckily I booked early for a wonderful spa experience, book early if you want to have any treatments as I know they get booked up quickly. We won't leave it so long next time to go back to this wonderful gem of a hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKHCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

WOW! thanks so much for a great review so pleased your chose to spend your 25th wedding anniversary celebrations with us. Your kind comments and feedback are very important to us and to know we are getting it right makes the job so worth while . The Spa is a great addition to the hotel and I'm pleased you enjoyed your treatments its a great way to relax. We are lucky to have great staff and I'm pleased you were well looked after. I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, congratulations on your 25 years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I tend to think (based to a certain extent on past experience) of Best Westerns as all rather 'much of a muchness'. Competently run and comfortably well-appointed but a bit staid and a bit formulaic and functional. The Salutation in Ambleside is much, much better than this.
My partner and I stayed for a long weekend, planning local strolls, some shopping, some scenic drives with longer walking, and some pure leisure time.
I loved the way the Salutation perches like a slightly rickety but still rather grand old uncle above the comely centre of the town. The decor and comfort, while here and there lapsing into cliche (fake bookcases in the lounge, for instance), is more luxurious than functional. Our room was compact but perfectly appointed, prettily decorated, 100% comfortable, and had a splendid view across the town centre to the hills beyond. The pool is really very good. The breakfasts are nothing short of outstanding. And the staff are among the best I have met in any hotel. Gripes: not many - the sauna needs to be looked after a bit better (nothing more frustrating at 7pm to find a cooled-off sauna and no water to stoke up the heat.)
I thought I was going to gripe about the restaurant too, with its off-putting blasts from the past like "Fruity Indian Curry Served with a Papadum". I felt my pen sharpening meanly at the menu's tweely-titled section, "Dishes we really couldn't leave out", that seemed inexplicably to want to embrace most of British cookery's best-forgotten past. In actual fact, though, my Barnsley Chop turned out to be a really rather tasty variation on that hoary old turn, braised and served in an unctuous reduction of its rich red wine jus. Even though a shorter and more up to date menu might indeed be preferable, there's no getting away from the fact that the kitchens here really do their job very well.
All in all, we loved The Salutation, and we will certainly be back. A superbly-run hotel.

Room Tip: Club room, or at the front. And be sure to specify "double" if that's what you want, to avoid the twin bed curse.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongJohnSliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments and feedback. I was delighted that you loved the hotel and I think we ticked most of the boxes for you. We are lucky to have great staff and our kitchen team do a great job, we did have difficulty leaving dishes off the new menu with many old favourites (and twists on old favourites) being popular, we may in time trim the menu depending on feedback. Apologies for the lack of attention with the sauna we will have to keep checking that. Thank you once again for such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and perhaps have a few more surprises for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a group of lads on a walking weekend. All the staff from the reception area straight through to housekeeping were all friendly and happy. The rooms were well equipped with everything you need. The only meal we had was the breakfast and this was a five star breakfast with many options available. The Hotel has a small gym and health club set up. Unfortunately for me the pool was shallow to accommodate the children's needs and not someone over 6 foot but it was okay to cool off in. As a guest this part of the hotel came with no extra charge. The problem with the Hotel are the parking facilities which is very tight around the building. I certainly wouldn`t like to bring a very wide and expensive car because I`m not sure it would fit in some of the places or even get out of the exit, but I didn't`t struggle with the Avensis.
I would recommend this Hotel and it`s in a great location, not only for its one minute walk to the Ambleside shops but its prime location to travel from,to get to other locations in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an outdoor terrace
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about our staff ( they are a great bunch!), breakfast, location and rooms. So pleased you and the lads had a great walking break and that you would recommend our hotel, your comments and feedback make it all worth while, look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews