We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We live fairly near and so have often travelled past this hotel without thinking it looked anything special. However, we were invited by friends to join them there for a night. We were totally surprised. Plenty of facilities, a really great friendly staff and a superb comfortable room. Our dogs were also made welcome. We did not dine there but the breakfast was great and the cooked food individually prepared. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a Club Room with balcony. The extra is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, so pleased you and your friends (and your dogs!) enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks to for the comments about our breakfast, rooms, our facilities and our great staff. Hopefully you will be able to pop in again soon when you are passing, look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
721
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from the Salutaion after yet another very pleasent stay. As it was my birthday we treated ourselves to a club room. The little extras which this includes were very welcome. As always we received a warm welcome from all the staff . Breakfast was the usual feast setting us up for the day. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening this time but that was only because we ate out during the day and were not hungry in the evenings. My husband left his book in the bedside drawer when we left yesterday morning and only discovered it was missing late last night. This morning I rang reception who called back shortly afterwards to say that housekeeping had found the book and they would be sending it on to us. Just the sort of service we have come to expect from The Salutaion over the years. Well done to Paul, Sue and all 'the team.' Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable. Rooms at the fron have a better view although the traffic outside can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, I'm so pleased you had another great stay with us. Your kind comments about our staff, Club rooms and breakfast are very much appreciated .Pleased we got your lost property back to you as soon as, its all very much a team effort and we are lucky to have such great staff and we will all keep up the good work, look forward to you returning to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with family in this lovely hotel. Service was faultless and the cooked to order breakfast so tasty. We made good use of the pool and spa facilities every day. Bedrooms were to a high standard equipped with everything you would need. We can't wait to go back soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesoupkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your kind comments about our service, bedrooms, leisure and breakfast are very much appreciated. Pleased you managed to use the pool and leisure each day - its a real bonus to the hotel and and hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Simply a great hotel. Really can't believe it has a 3 star rating? Easily 4 star. The hot tub outside was a real treat. The breakfast in the morning was amazing, lovely figs and porridge followed by a full cooked breakfast. Perfect before a day on the fells. The location is again perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the 'faultless' review so pleased we ticked all the boxes for you your comments are much appreciated hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

excellent hotel. all staff very pleasent. parking is tight but there is 1 space per room 53 rooms. food excellent. bar prices are very reasonable. bottle wine 17.45. for a hotel of that standard i call it very well priced. even tho we booked a room with our dog there was no hair at all. there was a few dogs in the hotel the same time but never heard any of them. nice to be able to sit in the lounge to be with the dog. will be back

Room Tip: park cars when sunny under the far end of the carpark its coverd
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrobertManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review and your great comments about our rooms, cleanliness, prices great staff and food. So pleased you like our doggie friendly hotel its great when you can bring your four legged friend away too! Thanks for the comments and great feedback - hope to welcome you (and your dog) back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just about faultless. I often stay in Ambleside, but there were no single rooms available at my regular hotel so I booked a room at the Salutation and was well pleased. My room was upgraded (at no expense to me) and was delightful. They describe their breakfast as "award-winning" - I don't know what award that was, but it was well deserved. Evening meals were wonderful, reasonably priced, served in comfortable surroundings by pleasant staff and even at the busiest times there wasn't a long wait. I recommend the Salutation whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments about our rooms, staff, service, breakfast and evening meals. We have just put in a new menu and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the dishes, we have also worked really hard with our breakfast options and again I'm pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the first time I had been to the Salutation Hotel, Ambleside, in fact it was the first time I had stayed in any of the Best Western Hotels. I cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff were lovely, the hotel was in a prime location in the centre of Ambleside. We had an evening meal from the Bistro Menu which was cooked to perfection, as was our full english breakfast. No running to the buffet for your breakfast it was served direct to your table. We got the last available room which was a Club Room and it was massive. The hotel has recently been refurbished so everything was pristine. We couldn't find a thing wrong with this hotel and enjoyed the whole experience, only wish we had the time to book two night!! Well Done we will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAL061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much so pleased you were impressed by our room, fab staff, location so central, and food. We have worked really hard with our menus and at breakfast we think that we have it almost all covered with the buffet selection but we still like to serve our cooked breakfast to order fresh from the kitchen. I hope you can managed to get away for a longer break with us again soon- we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing