We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location with parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, Fri-Sat and of the three couples we had the best room - we upgraded to a club room (405) which was a nice sze, comfortable bed with a good size bathroom but a very weak shower. Our friends had room 204 which had a tiny bathroom and our other friends had an OK room. We only had breakfast which was really good, a good selection of cold foods and a good cooked breakfast. The waitress was a bit too keen to get our orders for hot food and tea/coffee/toast etc. but all in all it is a nice place to stay. There is free parking but the spaces are tight and limited, I would imagine that on a really busy day you would struggle to park.

Access to the health club is a right palava! You have to fil in a medical form, hand over your room key to get a locker and equipment key - I was tired before I got into the gym itself! but when I did get there it was very pleasant with a good selection of equipment and a lovely swimming pool with jacuzzi inside and a hot tub in the serenity garden overlooking the stream at the back of the hotel.

A nice place to stay all in all.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your 'excellent' review and compliments about the hotel, staff, facilities and food. I hope you had a chance to try the hot tub- it's a great way to unwind! We look forward to welcoming you back for your third short break really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
There are newer reviews for Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed ay this hotel for the second time. It has everything from a centra location to very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable lounges, fine dining and a leisure centre consisting of a full gymnsium, a good size swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a Canadian hot tub. We are planning a third short break at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazilianbob100451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about our staff (I agree they are a great bunch!), dinning, leisure and rooms. So pleased you liked the hot tub and I look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a family room and a double room, it was my daughter in laws birthday and my 60th on the same Sunday. we stayed for four days and loved every moment. The family room was way above average in size, double bed, cot and real single bed (not folding type) with room to move as well, our room was again large with a balcony, the bedding was very good with super pillows, huge fully towels in the bathroom, the food was super we ate in the bistro every night, the menu is great good selection, breakfast was one of the very best I have seen for selection, amount and quality, the staff are soooooooo very good, helpful, treat you like your the most important person in the world, very good with kiddies (one 7yrs and one nosey 2yr old) nothing was too much trouble, and they are happy working in the job and hotel, most have been there years which speaks volumes in the hotel trade. all in all this hotel is what you would expect from a 5 star hotel in all ways. We used the spa each day, the kiddies enjoyed swimming and its such a good way for them to wind down, it had all the things you need to relax before dinner.

Room Tip: We had Fairfield, super room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your great comments about our rooms, facilities, leisure, food and staff. We are really are very lucky to have such great staff who enjoy their work many of them have been with us for a lot of years! We are also very pleased with our breakfast set up and have worked very hard on the selection. So glad you liked the Spa and pool it's great to relax in and of course fab for the little ones. All in all your double birthday break sounds to have ticked all the boxes and we were delighted you chose the Salutation for your celebrations, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I first stayed at the hotel in 1998 and since then have stayed on at least another eight occasions, it is number one for me in Ambleside. They have constantly changed and improved it over the years, the downstairs gym was intriduced around 2003 if I recall correctly, the hotel and ooms have been updated and refurbished on a regular basis. The food has always been excellent, the breakfast will keep you going for most of the day! Even though some of my visits have been after a 2 or 3 year break, always noticed that the staff dont change that much, always a good sign.

It is centrally located, you could not get a better spot, with a barrier controlled car park for guests at the rear.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many thanks for your great comments about our location, rooms, staff and breakfasts. We are so lucky to have such a central location in the village with everything on our door step, and great staff too that stay with us .We do run a rolling refurbishment programme to keep the hotels facilities and décor up to date as you have seen from your visits, look forward to your next stay when our latest 'feature' Club room will be up and running, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a three night stay here in a club room. It was really spacious, clean and a great view. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was a boon after a good walk. The lounge areas were really nice and the breakfasts were wonderful, so much to choose from. We look forward to another visit, hopefully when the weather improves!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naughtynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about our Club rooms ,cleanliness, lounge areas, and wonderful breakfast, it's great to know we are doing things right!

As for the weather if only we could get that right all the time.... never mind we keep trying and I hate to say it but it's gorgeous here today! Look forward to you returning soon, and will order in some sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was designed with comfort in mind. Although the decor was a bit dated in our room it was extremely comfortable, great beds and fantastic shower! The lounge areas were really nice and the pool and spa amazing......liked the little ducks that lined the passage to the pool. A bit disappointed that a child was splashing about in the jacuzzi so we couldn't get in, but not the hotels fault....maybe a sign saying no playing in the jacuzzi would be good. But overall spotlessly clean pool and spa. Didn't eat dinner as there were so many restaurants close by, but the wonderful aroma of lamb from the kitchen was mouth watering. Breakfast was one of he best I've ever had at a hotel, cooked well and a great choice of breads, pastries, continental and full English. Excellent! A couple of points which we thought could be improved.......the reception area is too small. Twice we nearly knocked over someone with a tea tray as we came out of the lift. Also, we passed by the two reception desks quite a few times without any acknowledgement, no hello or have a nice day or even a look up from the computers. So to us the reception staff seemed a little disinterested in the guests and we felt like we were just a room number and were not once called by our names for the three days we stayed.
Saying that, anyone reading this should know that you would not be disappointed if you stayed here. It is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziemarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments about your stay with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes the Lamb is lovely, you missed a treat there, maybe next time you stay we can tempt you to dine with us!
I see from your comments that sadly we let ourselves down a little on the delivery and quality of some of the services we offer, which I must apologise for. I will discuss the individual points with the appropriate heads of department so that we can rectify this.
With regard to the reception area you will be pleased to know that we are in the final stages of a complete re-vamp of the whole area. This will involve moving the front door slightly further back to give more space when you walk in and creating one reception desk closer to the entrance away from the lift hopefully giving a lighter and more spacious feel.

As you know we base our business on repeat customers and try to create a warm, welcoming family feel to the hotel. Our repeat customers are paramount to our business and I must apologise that we did not come up to the mark on this occasion. I certainly hope this shortfall in our normal service will not stop you visiting us again and that we have the pleasure of turning a slightly negative experience into a truly positive one. Your feedback is most important to us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night break in April on our second visit to the Salutation. Were upgraded to a Club Room on arrival for an extra £15 per night and it was more spacious than a standard double. Food was fantastic especially the breakfast with a vast high quality choice of hot and cold food. Staff very friendly and lovely swimming pool and spa area. Excellent location and free parking. Would highly recommend and I will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Many thanks for your review, so pleased you took andvantage of an upgrade and enjoyed one of our Club rooms. Thanks also for your kind comments about our food, facilities, Spa and our staff they are a great friendly team. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your 'hat trick'! on visit number 3.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $154 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing