We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$142
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$43
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$117
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveler rating
949
352
67
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
949
352
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the lodge here for the one night, it's only 3* but I'd personally rate it 5* the staff where very nice and helpful, the room was gorge and very clean, the lounge area where very spacious and had a nice fire there burning away with sofas sorounding was lush, the spa was fantastic the pool a decent swim length the sauna very hot and the sweat room was very fresh not forgetting the beautiful jacuzzi out side when it was really hot and relaxing it started to snow and it was great :-D the food was great too!! We payed £148 for one nights stay and I'd say with everything that was included I'd say it was more then worth it... Also the shops and pubs sorounding the Hotel where very near by and there was a pub 5minute walk away with live music the singer was good!! The only down fall we had in this hotel was the larger was served in a beer glass and tasted flat... I run my own pub and know that you can't expect larger to keep its fiz in a beer glass that's why they have widgets on the bottom of the glass keeps the larger fizzy! I did ask the next time if she had a larger glass and she said they only have the tumbler glasses!! Butz apart from that I loved our stay and will definitely be visiting again!! Many thanks to all the lovely staff and the cleaners doing a great job Bridie.g xxx

Room Tip: Lodges are gorgeous :-D
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridieG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Many thanks for posting a review and for your great comments about our leisure, food,staff, lounges and rooms its sounds like you ahd a great stay with us.We have been looking for a while now for a suitable glass with a head keeper design (although its not a prefered choice fof some) if you have any idaes please give me a call and let me know or send me a glass! Many thanks your comments and feedback are very much apprecaited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights recently - went on the off chance. There were building extensions in process at the front of the hotel & the first 2 rooms we were offered were adjacent to this. However the 3rd room offered on the 2nd floor was very nice, facing the river at the rear.... robes, slippers & bottled water provided along with the usual tea/coffee facilities. It was very cold outside, but the room was very warm even with the heating off... even a little too warm during the night. But there was a fan in the wardrobe which we used. The dining area is very pleasant & the breakfast excellent - staff very helpful. Lounge area very comfortable. We did not use the restaurant but the menu looked really good - will try next time. We ate one night at Lucy's (down a side road to the right of the hotel) very expensive but fabulous.
Best of all - the indoor heated swimming pool. Really pleasant & peaceful area -very clean. We even ventured outside in the cold air to use the Canadian hot tub - luxurious - which made our short break all the more enjoyable. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Building/extension work in progress Jan 2013 - ask if they have been completed. If not - avoid a nearby room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivewharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, apologies for the building work there really isn't a good time to do work on a hotel I'm pleased we were able to move you.The original hotel dates back to the 16th century and it really seems to hold the heat in ( they must have built them well in those days!) we do provide fans in the rooms and that you were able to cool down.Thank you for your kind comments about our satff, food and lesuire facilities we really are lucky to have great staff and facilities . Look forward to your return .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We`ve just returned from yet another stay at the "Sally" in Ambleside and, once more, we weren`t disappointed. It must be said that we have been visiting there for around 15 years so I suppose we can safely say we like it there. Mind you, the number of guests that continually return must show that Geoffrey and his team are doing it right!
We only made the booking in the week prior to going and chose a twin room, although there was a "club" double available. No matter, this suited us perfectly. It was up to the hotel`s usual high standard for comfort and cleanliness and had superb views over the village to the fells beyond.
The spa was most relaxing after a climb over the tops and sitting in the hot tub with snow all around was an unusual experience.
The food was every bit as enjoyable as before and we considered the breakfast to be even better than in previous stays. There was a wide choice on the menu in the Bistro and there is also a Restaurant available with a further range of options.
What has to be said however is just how pleasant every single one of the staff are and that is the real strength of the hotel. The owner is a "hands on" manager and it isn`t unusual for example, to see him at breakfast tidying away plates etc when things are busy.
We have been going so long it feels like home from home and will be back again later in the year. Can`t recommend it highly enough!!

Room Tip: There aren`t any poor choices here but certainly the club rooms in the annexes are particularly nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Many thanks for your fabulous review, its so nice to get a review from one of our long standing regular guest's thank you for your visits - 15 years is some going! So pleased you enjoyed your twin room apologies we did not have any club rooms available on this stay.I agree the hot tub is a must after a hard day on the fells! We are very lucky to have such a good location, views but most of all staff they really are a fantastic team.We are also blessed with a great owner in Geoff who leads by example and is not afraid lend a hand . Your comments and feed back are really important and I am really pleased you think we just keep getting better, its good to know we are getting it right for our guest's. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at the Salutation in November. We chose a Club room in the Lodge once again and enjoyed the peace and quiet overlooking the stream. The room couldn't be called spacious but was large enough for 2 and made up for it in the quality and cleanliness - the bed was very comfortable so with the quiet location, it was perfect for a good night's sleep.

There are comfy dressing gowns and slippers in the room and a thoughtful detail is an umbrella in the wardrobe for those occasions when it's raining - the main hotel is just a few steps from the lodge.

The main hotel has a very inviting lounge which is divided into several sections so you can always find a private corner to have a drink, read the paper or chat. Although it's part of the Best Western chain, the atmosphere is very much set in the Lake District with a local feel and local produce served at breakfast and dinner.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a very good roast beef dinner. Everything was delicious and served nice and hot. There are also plenty of choices of cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.

We look forward to our next visit to the Salutation and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your Club room and had a relaxing stay, the robes and slippers are handy for trips to the leisure facilities glad you used them I hope you didn't have to use the umbrella too much! Thank you for your comments about our lounges, restaurant and food, so pleased you enjoyed our 'local feel' we think it's important. I shall look forward to your next visit, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed here several times with work and always had very good experiences, I even recommended to my wife as agreat hotel to stay at for a spa weekend when she met a friend from Scotland. On this visit with my family however I was left disappointed as on this visit we had a family room with a sofa bed, the base of which was 'lob-sided' and caused my son to wake up several times during the first night. In the morning I inspected this more closely to find a screw missing, it was reported and promised to be rectified before we got back from our day out. On our return 7hrs later there was no apparent change, when reported a second time the manager told me that she herself had inspected it and found no problem. There was a bolt missing from one of the legs of the bed and it was uneven! She eventually folded the legs underneath so my the mattress was on the floor, at least it was level though I doubt that it had ever been looked at. I was also disappointed at the room rates, during Jan there was supposed to be 'special offers' to those who had stayed at the hotel previously, conveniently my details could not be found from my previous visits, overall very disappointing. The hotel also do not allow children into the restaurant, not very family friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rileydlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, firstly I must apologise that we did not deal with your complaint in the appropriate manner at the time of your stay, if you could please contact me direct at the hotel so I can discuss this matter with you indetail I would be most grateful.We may not have had your details in our system if you had booked vis a company and I'm sorry you missed out on the offers, I understand how dissapointing this must have been for you and agian this is something I would like to discuss with you in person. Your feed back and comments are very important to us and I look forward to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews