We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
$212
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$141
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveler rating
949
352
67
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
949
352
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived to a very pleasant welcome from reception.We were upgraded to a club room free of charge. Room was a good size with sitting area and coffee table. Breakfasts are superb with excellent cold buffet and cooked breakfast served at table. Ate in bistro one night, food was excellent but was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. Leisure facilities are very clean and relaxing way to pass a wet afternoon. Had a manicure in beauty salon which added to overall enjoyment of hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Best location in town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your review so pleased you had a good break with us and that you enjoyed our room upgrade to a Club room . We are really pleased with our breakfast set up so pleased you enjoyed it. We are really lucky to have such a great location right in the village centre with everything on hand. Glad you enjoyed your Bistro meal, but sorry you felt the room lacked atmosphere.I hope you will stay with us agian soon, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

All the reviews here are right. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. The rooms had everything you could ask for. They were large rooms and very clean. The hot breakfast was extremely tasty with great service and lots of choice especially for us vegetarians. The leisure facilities were in great condition and again very clean. We loved the Canadian spa outdoors. You won't be able to find a hotel with a more central location to the town than this one. All the restaurants and shops are within walking distance.
Overall a great stay and we would love to return again. Defiantly recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjs8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Many thanks for your review and great comments about our rooms (pleased you enjoyed the upgrade!). We are very lucky with our location so central, the lesuire facilities are a great bonus and the hot tub is very popular come rain or shine! We have worked hard on the breakfast set up and think we have something for everyone glad you enjoyed it a great way to start the day. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Room was a little small to what i was expecting for a superior room.

The champaign in my room come without any glasses, soon as i mentioned it was sorted so it was soon forgotten about.

The food was nothing special!

The staff seemed friendly enough and i throughly enjoyed my stay

Great location!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with us. I was a little dissapointed that you did not enjoy our food we have just introduced a new menu and I think our breakfast selection is really quite impressive but I'm sorry that we didi not come up the mark during your stay.Our rooms do vary in size the original building being a 16 th Centuary coaching inn, Fairfield has the benefit of a balcony with fabulous view up to the Horseshoe and is one of our popular rooms. I would be happy to show you our other Club rooms when you next stay especially our latest room Helvellyn. Iam pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, your feedback is important and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly, there is FREE Wifi, the food in the Bistro was excellent and the breakfasts were brilliant.

The lounge is very good the standard of accommodation was very high. The Highest quality Best Western I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Car Parking was good too
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, Front Office Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review we are really pleased you think we are one of the Best Best Western Hotels you have stayed in ! Pleased you enjoyed our food both breakfast and Bstro, hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very friendly staff, who can`t do enough for you! - The rain was teaming down, so for them to run out with a brolly was a lovely touch and creates a good first impression. Rooms are clean and well kept and the hotel is in an excellent location.
The food on the whole was good, breakfasts are superb - but our evening meal wasn`t the greatest.... but anyone can have a bad night!
On the whole, a very pleasant stay and we`d certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wise-Owl997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and breakfast. We are so lucky to have such great staff, so pleased they looked after you. Apologies that you were a little dissapointed with your evening meal we have changed to a new menu and I'm sorry that we didn't come up to the mark on that night, many thanks for your understanding your feedback is most important. Look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews