We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cant wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cant wait to return!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in the club double room, which was absolutely flawless. The room was spacious well laid out and nipping clean - especially the bathroom, which I am usually very picky about! The walk in shower and Jacuzzi bath was top notch too! We had a terrace, which we were unable to use due to the weather but in the summer I would imagine it would be fabulous to use especially with the stunning views the room had. The hotel staff were very accommodating pleasant and welcoming, as were the staff in local pubs and restaurants. The situation of the hotel was great as there were surrounding shops in the small quaint village (mostly walking shops but we used the tesco express and boots for essentials), with lake Windermere just a 20-minute walk away. We can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel, however the local Indian restaurant 'Spice of Bengal' was beautiful, very fairly priced and had exceptional service for those intending to eat out too. The icing on the cake and our favourite part of the hotel were the spa facilities especially the outdoor hot tub, again immaculately cleaned and very modern.
Finally I requested a specific room I had seen on the photographs of the hotel and requested to be in the hotel's main building rather than a lodge and both of these were carried out which I was extremely pleased with.
We had a truly amazing weekend and cannot WAIT to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCandAdamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    320
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
204
759
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Salutation for a weekend break and found it to be very pleasant and welcoming. We had a club room in the lodge with a nice view to the stream. Not the largest room I've been in, but it was comfortable with a good bed and very quiet. In the club room it was nice to have the dressing gowns and slippers. Free newspaper but you have to collect it from Reception in the main building - fine if you're heading to the breakfast room.

Breakfast was excellent - many choices with everything fresh and the porridge and cooked breakfast were served nice and hot. I noticed that they paid attention to dietary needs such as soya milk, diabetic jam etc.

The hotel is centrally located for the many shops and restaurants - everything is an easy walk. And Ambleside is beautifully situated for spectacular scenery and for the other main Lakeland towns and villages.

Room Tip: The club rooms in the lodge are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in a club room (Fairfield) for a weekend break 13 to 15th January 2012.
The hotel is very very good, its location is excellent and with the added advantage of free carparking I thought it ticked all the boxes.
Our room was called Fairfield and was a club room, it was very clean and tidy and quite comfortable. Excellent shower with a jacuzzi bath( which we didnt use)
Food for breakfast was very good, as was the evening meals, although the menu was a little small, but presentation and quality i thought were good.
I thought the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful, the waiting staff in the Bistro I thought were excellent.
How could itimprove, well very easily I think, these were irritations to our break, the extracter fan in the bathroom made quite a noise when on and it came on when the bathroom was used, so was an irritation and I think it applied to other rooms because we could hear theres during the night.
The clock in the room was on the wrong time and day but no one knew how to set it correct again its irritating
Other than those irritating things we had a great stay and I would recommend to anyone that they give it a go, you wont be disapointed

Room Tip: The reviews I read said get a club room, well I can confirm my club room was reasanably spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your feed back from your stay with us, apologies regarding the clock and fan, I agree it must have been rather irrtating, I have spoke to our maintence man and we are looking the noise etc we will make sure that not only maintence but other staff know how to re set the time on the clocks for our guest's. Really pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and other aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just spent one of the best Christmases we have ever had at the Salutation. Thanks to Geoff, Paul and all the staff for making it so fantastic. Everything was perfect, the room (the wonderful Woodlands!), the meals, the breakfasts, the entertainment, the service, good company, it was all perfect. The little touches such as the presents and the box of goodies in the room, made it exactly what Christmas should be.....and we met some lovely people as well! Not forgetting the boat trip, the Sally Christmas tradition through a festive haze of mulled wine and brandy, makes it something really really special. Sadly the weather wasn't very Christmasy, but who cares when you stay at the Salutation. We'll be back, just try and keep us away!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aghostship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you so pleased you rate us as a 'best' Christmas it makes it all worth while, great feed back on Woodlands and our Christmas break , look forward to seeing you soon will work on the weather for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 6th January for long weekend,not first visit and won't be last.Always find hotel to be very welcoming,clean throughout and staff always friendly.facilities are good ;pool,sauna jacuzzi,hot tub and gym.great selection for breakfast,everyone catered for,food in restaurant good quality too,all in all a lovely hotel

Room Tip: Most rooms good size,maybe worth paying extra for premium rooms but no complaint for standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

As usual fantastic place, excellent food, accommodation, atmosphere. A great Xmas break with a welcome spa to burn off a few Xmas pounds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you glad you had a great Christmas break with us hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in the Ambleside Salutation hotel for two weekend nights in early September (better late than never for a review). We stayed in one of the rooms situated above the Edinburgh Woolen mill on the other side of the car park. My first impression of the room was that it was spacious and clean. It had a huge double bed, tv, kettle, wardrobe, desk, sofa and chair, coffee table and bedside tables. The bathroom was lovely - very large and clean, the shower was great and the bath had a 'jet' function which was a rather fun gimmick.

The hotel spa was great - the swimming pool, jacuzzi, outdoor hot-tub, sauna and steam room were all very well used on our stay. It's a great way to end the day when you've been out walking for 8 hours. All facilities were very clean and well maintained, including the changing room and showers (they had great showers and shower gel in there).

We had a few drinks in the bar which is very cosy (lots of huge sofas and a large open fireplace), before we went through to the restaurant. The food is a little pricey for the quality and quantity of it - expect to pay around £12 for a main meal of very basic standard. I don't recall what i ate in the restaurant, but my girlfriend ordered the curry which was not very well cooked or particularly flavoursome. The waiter was extremely friendly and helpful though.

The hotel is situated at the top of the town, with a couple of pubs, restaurants, shops (co-op, spar, bakeries) etc all within a couple of minutes walk. The hotel was easy to find (we arrived by bus from Windermere) as the town centre is quite small, and the bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Don't worry if you've forgotten any of your walking gear, there are lots of shops nearby catering for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiebiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and compliments about the rooms, leisure and hotel facilities realy pleased you enjoyed them. Apologies that you were dissapointed in your eveing meal, it's area that we work hard at and normally get great feedback, pleased that our waiting staff came up to the mark, we do feel that our prices are quite competitve for the area, I do hope you will visit us again, thank you very much for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing