We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Birthday bliss”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Great room, delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Spa facilities as good as other considerably more expensive hotels that we have stayed at in the past. Perfect location in the centre of ambleside, complete with parking. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    330
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
208
780
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We booked for a stay in january and though illness were unable to stay.
The deal was no show and you loose your money as you had to pay up front.
We rang the hotel and explained, they were really helpful and said they would give us till the end of april without loss to re-book.
We have stayed four times at this hotel and have to say its fantastic, nothings a bother to the staff the foods great, as is the pool and hot tub etc etc.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumleykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Have used the Salutation as our central base over the last couple of years as we have been walking the Southern Fells and have now stayed about 15 or more times. This hotel continues to deliver top quality service and is perfectly located in the centre of Ambleside. I have always used the club rooms in the Wansfell Lodge at the back so cannot comment on rooms in the hotel itself but the club rooms are great nice clean good bathrooms (beds a little hard but hey I can live with that) Parking can be a bit testing at times but listen folks this place was not designed for 100s of cars so either get there early at the weekends or be prepared to park off site (having said that I have never failed to get parked) The staff are just great pleasant and attentive and the food is extremely nice. The breakfast buffet and hot cooked breakfast will take some beating apart from the Toast, for some reason the toast is always a little under grilled (minor minor complaint) The leisure facilities are truly great, all the latest kit in the gym running machines etc and they have a nice pool sauna and steam room plus outside jacuzzi just what's needed after a day on the hills.

I think that's it apart from I joined the members club they have and have filled a couple of cards up so will get 2 free nights its a shame I only have a few more of the Southern Fells to do and will be basing myself in Keswick for most of the summer. Thanks to all the staff others should take a leaf out of your book :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Stocksbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My boyfriend and i stayed here in one of the club rooms just for one night.On arrival the staff were verey helpful and friendly.We got here very early,so our rooms wern't quite ready,but we were able to use the facilties.
The pool,sauna and steam room were amazing. Clean.modern,and made you feel completley relaxed. The out door hot tub was wonderful too. The changing rooms were spotless,equpped with hairdryers and hair straightners.
The hotel bar was very nice,and again relaxing.
The rooms were lovely,our room had a balcony,with great views. I did read in some reviews,that people found it hard to sleep,with it been on a main road.But i didn't hear a thing (although that could be to do with the amount of wine i drank)
The breakfast was a real treat... Food of every varieety,fresh juice,frsh coissants and bagels with homemade jams...LOVELY! .Also the full english WITH hp brpwn sauce!! HEAVEN! haha
All in all.this hotel was outsatnding,and we are already saving for our next stay,helpful staff,excellent facillities and spotless.
I would also reccomend anyone staying here,to eat at the italian caled 'Dodds'...The best food iv ever tasted.
Can't wait to return,
Sarah and lee from Ramsbottom

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

It's ten years since we first stayed at the Salutation and the hotel remains one of our favourite places to stay in the Lakes. The staff as we have said before are so friendly, attentive and welcoming. The breakfast is absolutely second to none in our opinion, a fantastic choice of both hot and cold food. We didn't eat here in the evenings but that was by choice as we wanted to try some other restaurant/pubs in Ambleside this time. However our past experiences of evening meals at the Salutation have always been positive especially the Bistro menu.
A previous reviewer has said that the hotel is "more like a backpackers" we agree that parking can be awkward at times but reception staff are always willing to help resolve parking issues. Could we also point out that the hotel is in the Lake District.....it rains here sometimes and people wear walking boots.....this is quite acceptable!!! Also most hotels, pubs and restaurants will ask you to pay for food unless you are setting up a "tab" ....this is not unusual or particular to the Salutation it is the norm.

We have and always will recommend the Salutation as an excellent place to stay in the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is a truly 'incredible' hotel with a perfect location AND a space for each car in its own secure car park....The staff are superb and really friendly, nothings to much trouble and they are always on hand to help...It has a lovely cosy bar area with beautiful couches and chairs to relax in by the real flame fireplace, plus it has a library area with another cosy fire and easy chairs to sit and read and relax after a days hike on the fells....We loved the rooms especially the balcony ones, as these have great views across Ambleside...All the rooms are kept meticulously clean...The breakfast has a fantastic assortment of absolutely everything! Plus a hot breakfast if you want it...and this time round we noticed there was homemade rhubarb and ginger jam, plus homemade orange marmalade, both were 'delicious' especially spread on a chewy bagel!....There is a spa and massage room where residents get a 10percent discount and their is a fully equipped gym and a beautiful swimming pool...All areas are immaculately clean...We have stayed there lots of times and each time its just gets better, as the decor is updated regularly....If you go to Ambleside, you MUST stay at the Salutation ITS A MUST! Well recommended...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Excellent service, wonderful food, good leisure facilities (spa on site). If it is raining and you don't want to venture out it is very comfortable to spend time. Lounge areas particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHortonLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing