We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great hotel in a fantastic location. Was a little expensive but perfect for a special getaway. The staff were lovely and very helpful, had advice for what to do in the area and walks.
We had trouble heating the room, it was very hot on the first night so we turned the heating down but then couldn't get it up to a good temperature when it got cold!
Breakfast had a good choice and the bar prices were very reasonable. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant so couldn't comment on the food in the restaurant other than breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elleuk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear elleuk79,

Thank you for the review. Firstly my aplogies for the trouble you had in heating the room, you can be sure i will look into this. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, keep a look out for our up and coming special offers for spring, we have some great deals. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our first stay at The Waterhead and it certainly lived up to the good reviews we had read on here. We took advantage of the hotel's promotion, which comprised of two nights bed and breakfast with dinner at the hotel on the first night.

The Waterhead is on the main road between Windermere and Ambleside and was very easy to find - even on a rainy, misty winter's evening. The first impressions of the exterior of the hotel and location were very good. The car park at the rear of the property was rather full when we arrived but there is a public car park next door and the hotel brochure made it clear that they would reimburse any car parking fees that guests incurred. We entered via the back door, leading up from the car park, and were very impressed by the Reception area which had a warm, inviting feel to it.

We had booked the standard room and we were more than a little impressed with the huge bed and chic bathroom. The room had a flat screen TV, DVD player, IPod dock, a tray overflowing with hot beverages and a very welcoming modern electric fire. The ice bucket was filled at least once a day, should you fancy indulging in one of the bottles of wine sitting invitingly on the writing desk in the room. The bathroom was very chic and had lovely complimentary toilettries and underfloor heating. My only complaint would be that the bath wasn't a jacuzzi bath which would've been the icing on the cake. The room was really peaceful and we had two undisturbed nights' sleep.

The walk into Ambleside was a pleasant stroll even for someone like me who has limited mobility. We had a stroll around Ambleside in the morning and returned there on our second night for a meal. The first night's meal was taken at the hotel and the food was absolutely delicious. Theportions looked quite small at first but this was very deceptive as we were both stuffed after the three courses. The staff were incredibly attentive and polite. The breakfasts were fantastic too - accommodating all tastes and cooked to order. There was a wealth of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses and we made sure we took full advantage of both traditional and continental breakfasts. The dining room itself took full advantage of the views over the lake with huge picture windows. Although we didn't make use of the bar area during our stay, it did look a lovely place to relax with big squashy sofas.

We took the opportunity to use the spa facilities at the sister hotel, The Low Wood, which was about a mile away. We chose to drive there due to the inclement weather. The pool area was lovely and we took advantage of the hot tub despite the drizzle. I just wished I could've knocked the swimming pool wall down so that I could get a more panoramic view of the lake! We also made full use of the sauna and steam room, although it did take us a while to locate them.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewart96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear stewart96,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your extensive review of your recent stay with us. It was certainly pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and i will pass your comments onto the team. The Waterhead is the perfect place for two tired parents to relax and unwind and i hope you went away feeling refreshed. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future should you need another escape.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A wonderful hotel with spotless, comfy modern rooms. The beds are very cosy...and you can hear a pin drop at night it is so quiet. Perfect for a good nights sleep.

The bathrooms come with some lovely smellies and have underfloor heating with plenty of fluffy white towels and even dressing gowns and slippers. There are tea and coffee making facilities and a fantastic hairdryer - ladies (and men!) save space in your bag and use theirs - its fab!

Rooms have flatscreen tellies and you can borrow DVDs or free if you want a cosy night in. Ice is available if you want to have a bottle of wine chilling - the staff are discreet but friendly and helpful.

Location wise - its a pleasant 20 minute walk into the lovely little town of Ambleside where there are loads of great places to eat and drink. You are literally right on the banks of Lake Windermere and the views are stunning.

The Bay Cafe at the hotel serves a good selection of food in a relaxed but trendy setting - breakfast was perfect. Its not cheap but theres loads of choice both continental and cooked.

All in all - perfect for a weekend stay or if you want to splash out - as a base for a week away in the heart of the Lake District.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Amy_Lea_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. You can be sure i will pass your comments onto the team. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are always looking for extra little touches we can do so customer feedback is imperative to the ongoing improvement of our product. Keep a look out for some great up and coming offers. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, in the UK. They thought of everthing, flame effect fire in the bedroom and even binoculars to look at the view of the lake. Made a business trip very pleasurable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We enjoyed staying at this hotel and that was down to the staff being so friendly and the service being as good. Obviously the management have stressed customer service to the staff and this showed, well done. The breakfast included within the room rate was as good as any that I have experienced but the portions were on the small side. Having stayed in numerous Hotels around the world, the Waterhead ranks with some of the best.

There were no real negative points, except when we entered the hotel, we came through the back way from the car park. I would have expected this door to have a security reader on it that was accessed only by a swipe of you room card, (after you had booked in at the main entrance door) but this door was open for anyone to access the hotel which I found to be a bit disconcerting. Also would it be possible for the Hotel to provide a bottle of water per person and not one between two

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaycee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Jaycee001,

Many thanks for the review. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly look into the access at the rear of the hotel which is a valid point. We have recently changed our water in the room upgrading to a litre bottle in all of our rooms which we feel is more than adequate for 2 people. We would also be more than happy to bring more if needed. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We chose the Waterhead Hotel based on other reviews, and we had never been to the Lake District before so didn't know what to expect. The hotel is very welcoming and the rates were very reasonable I thought.

We chose to upgrade to a lake view room, however there was a problem with the toilet so we were moved to the room we had originally booked. However the standard room was bigger than the lake view room so we were happier there!

The restaurant was quality - I haven't read the recent review in detail of the people who complained about poor food, but I'm not sure what standard they are used to! The main courses were excellent, and the desserts were amazing. The manager was very involved in the restaurant and making sure everything was ok - the restaurant deserves good reviews, we ate there both nights.

The manager made up for the slight problem we had on our first night so we were very happy.

Location is perfect - right next to the lake and where the boats leave to get to the other areas (Bowness etc). We walked into Ambleside at one point which is only a mile away and there is lots going on there.

Not sure what else to say other than we would definitely go back there next time we go to the Lake District.

Finally they knew it was my wife's birthday so with breakfast in the morning they sent a card and a box of chocolates which was very thoughtful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Jeff871,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. My apologies again for the problems with your room on your first evening. It was great to read you enjoyed the rest of your stay and was pleasing to read you dined both nights with us, enjoying both meals. I hope your wife had a memorable birthday and look forward to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

When I read the reviews, I booked this hotel straight away. It is not a cheap hotel but I decided that for the apparent quality and great location from the photo's would be worth it.

The rooms are nice but the main disappointment came at breakfast. We waited for what seemed like an eternity to be served and the food was very poor. The fish smelled very old (very bad smell) and there was no salad at all.

One night we ate out and wanted to wake up a little later on the next day. We didnt want to go to breakfast after the experience above, so left the 'do not disturb' sign out (a stuffed toy with 'let sleeping dogs lie' written on it). However the maid decided to completely ignore it and walked stright in waking us up.

The final disappointment was the health club, which you have to drive to get to. Most of the lockers were broken in the changing rooms and so my wife had to wait outside the mens changing rooms and pass me her clothes to put in my locker. The changing rooms were also very dirty.

I had to spend 3 days with inlaws who now doubt my judgement in good hotels.. it just shows that no matter how good reviews from other people are, you never really know until you go there.

If you can get a cheap deal, I would say its worth a visit just for the location (beatiful view across the lake) but if your wife or husband has high standards, choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterLfc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear ChesterLfc79,

Firstly may i apologise for the service failures on this occasion. As you read prior to booking we get fantastic reviews on the hotel but i am a realist and accept there may be a slight error along the way. Regarding your comments on breakfast i am sorry if you felt the fish you had smelt funny, i can assure our fish is delivered fresh daily from great local suppliers. We do not normally garnish breakfast items with salad, however any request we are happy to oblige. Again i apologise you were disturbed by the housekeeper, i can assure you this has been dealt with. Finally i will pass your comments onto the leisure club manager but apologise on there behalf that it was not upto our usual high standard. I do hope you will give us the chance to restore your faith in our product in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $179 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing