We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. Everything has been thought of and there was real attention to detail. Wonderful, spacious bedroom with a huge bed and fantastic bathroom with funky towel rail and underfloor heating! Great selection of teas and coffees in the room- these were refilled when we went out for dinner in the evening and chocolate left on the bed. The bar area of the hotel is lovely with a fantastic real coal fire to relax by. Breakfasts were excellent, the full English was perfect and haddock with poached egg the second morning was also delicious. We had a fantastic stay , the staff were so attentive and lovely- thank you for making it a perfect weekend away. We will recommend this hotel and stay again next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear Spruth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and all of the little touches which we feel set us apart form the rest. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future. Have a great Christmas.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,059
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horsforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Booked a one night stay at the Waterhead as a last minute thing to take my wife away to relax. THis is an excellent hotel beautifully situated right on Lake Windermere. We arrived early (around 10.30am) to make the most of the day and just popped in to the hotel to let them know we had arrived. Even though the do state chek in from 3pm we were told if we waited 10 minutes the room would be ready. In the room by 11am - the rooms are good size, we had a lake view, with excellent facilities (under floor heating, great bed, good TV on wall etc) We headed straight out from the hotel and enjoyed the walk along the lake to the centre of Ambleside. We went to the Waterhead's sister hotel - Low Wood - where you get complimentary use of the leisure facilities (about 1 mile away) which were excellent. Outdoor hot tub in the snow was a highlight.
Back at the hotel we enjoyed a drink in from of the roaring fire before dinner. The restaurant food was great - a very extensive and seasonal menu made for a very difficult choice. All courses were excellent with my wife's tuna cooked exactly as requested and the rack of lamb the same. A great nights sleep was followed by a lovely cooked breakfast - with a choice of fruits, breads and pastries for those that did not want the full English!
For £160 dinner, bed and breakfast this was a tremendous visit and one we will definetly repeat in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear andyandhelen,

Thanks for the great review. It is certainly pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Be sure to check out our winter offers for some great deals.
I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment!!

When we arrived we were given an upgrade to a lovely lake view room. The room was a really good size and had some really nice touches like bath robes and slippers, binoculars, bowl of fresh fruit and locally made gingerbread on the hospitality tray! The hotel was very quiet, I guess because of the time of the year but this suited us. Even though the hotel is situated by the road, its not a busy road so there wasn't much noise. Only a 10 minute walk into Ambleside which is really pleasant during the day through the park and past some Roman Fort ruins!! The hotel has plenty of parking, clearly signed. Not that we moved the car once when we got there! There are plenty of lovely walks from the centre of Ambleside.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night. Its not cheap but its nice food. The breakfast is plentiful and equally as delicious as the dinner was.

We were treated really well by all the staff, all of whom were very helpful and welcoming. It felt like a real treat staying here for what we think was a bargain. We will definitely be going back for another stay sometime.

So, if you're looking for a hotel with a touch of class in a great location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longlegs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear Longlegs14,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your free upgrade to one of our luxury rooms. Keep an eye out for our winter offers on our website and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at the waterhead hotel on the 23/11/10 as an anniversary treat.We checked in at lunch time and found we had been upgraded to a superior lake view room(2) .The room was beyond our expectations,with lots of little touches such as robe and slippers.We had a restaurant reservation at 8pm where we had a 3 course meal which was ok,my husband ordered the breast of pigeon,pheasant and partridge which was overcooked and also had bone and pieces of shot in(not very good on the teeth).We were told by the waiter that it was to be expected and that there was nothing they could do!(maybe this should be mentioned by the waiting staff when an order for the dish is taken or a warning printed in the menu maybe!).We went down for breakfast at 7.30 am as we had an early start,there were no waiting staff in site until 7.40,not very good when breakfast is 7.30-10.00.
The hotel and rooms are great the food ok service ok,may return but wouldnt eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjrob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear kjrob30,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, it is only through guest feedback we can review procedures for the benefit of future guests. I am glad you enjoyed the room and the little extras, however my sincere apologies your restaurant experience was not upto our usual high standards. I do hope you will consider returning to the Waterhead to give us an opportunity to restore you faith in our restaurant offering. As you can see from other reviews the restaurant is normally extremely well received but i appreciate there will be times when these things can happen.
Thank you again for your comments and i do hope to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

My wife and myself spent one night staying at Waterhead as a bit of a treat and we weren't disappointed. On our arrival (which was early!), we were informed that our room was ready for us and that we had been given a complementary upgrade to a suite (rm 17). The suite itself was beautiful, spacious and had fantastic views of Lake Windermere and the mountains beyond. The bed was really comfortable and ensured we had the best night sleep we had had in ages!

We had booked at a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate which proved to be great value as we enjoyed a great 3 course evening meal in the restaurant, and a lovely breakfast the morning after - both of which sourced local products.

The location of the hotel is great. Right on the lakeside, but only a short and scenic walk from Low Wood Leisure Centre in one direction and Ambleside in the other.

All in all, a hotel I would really recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Dear Blink_vader,

Many thanks for the great review, its pleasing to read you had an enjoyable night's stay with us.
Keep a look out for some of our fantastic winter offers and i look forward in welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We had a 2 night stay in one of the Superior rooms, room 16, Very good size room, well furnished.
First night I had problems sleeping, due to the road noise, but passed this off as we live in a very quiet area with no passing traffic, second night even worse, it was only when I looked at the windows I realised why, at least a 4 mm gap between in the frame.
Staff were excellent, food good, buy why only 1/2 a mushroom with breakfast and microwaved Scrambled Eggs!
Even with a late rooms deal £400 for 2 nights DB&B too much for such a noisy room

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa_HouseHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Dear Alexa_HouseHarrogate,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Firstly my apologies that you did not have an enjoyable nights sleep due to the windows. I can assure you this problem has now been addressed and i am sorry that this affected your stay. In response to your comments about breakfast i can assure you we do not microwave our scrambled eggs and i agree that half a mushroom may seem a little tight so this has now been resolved. It is only through constant feedback we can continue to improve our overall product at the Waterhead.
If you would consider returning please contact me personally at the hotel.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel is situated just across a ( not too busy ) road from the lakeside, where there is a very pleasant walk, with the lake ferry dock close by, and an easy 1 mile walk to Ambleside town centre. It would be difficult for any other hotel to have a better location.

It's clear that a lot of money has been spent on the hotel in the recent past, and the standard of decor in our lakeview room, and the public rooms we used, were very good, being very bright and modern, and our room was spotlessly clean.

We didn't eat in the restauraunt in the evenings, but ate in the bar and the food was fine, although the menu choice in the bar was fairly limited, but there is a pub/inn just across the road which has a wider choice of bar-type food. The breakfast ( which was served in the restauraunt, again with lake views ) was excellent, with the cooked selection being cooked to order by a chef who obviously took pride in his or her job.

All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

The only slight disadvantage we found was that car parking on the hotel grounds is quite limited, and divided between three separate areas. On occasion, we did have to rather hunt around for a space, although there is a large public car park next door.

We got a good rate on the hotel group's own website, and very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stwffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Dear Stwffin,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review. It was pleasing to read and i will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. If you return be sure to try the restaurant as we get some excellent feedback and i am sure you wont be disappointed. Keep a look out for our upcoming winter offers on the website and i hope to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing