We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bingley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Had a fabulous time here. As an Hotelier of 40 teras standing I found it difficult to fault anything. The Staff , food entertainment absolutely first class

Rooms clean and well decorated, loved the binnoculares and stuffed dogs on the bed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
Dear Stoylee,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review. Its great to receive positive feedback from an experienced hotelier.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    272
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
223
1,080
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Have stayed here twice in the last couple of months, once for business and a return trip for pleasure. Both times the staff, the rooms and the meals were very good. Nice little touches like free DVD loans, Beatrix Potter stories in the loos and binoculars in the lake view rooms all add to the feeling that you count here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
Dear Fred_Simons,

Many thanks for the great review regarding your two recent stays with us. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead whether it be for business or pleasure.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

cant remember date but we stayed here a while ago the day it was reopend from refurbishment, it was lovely, we have stayed in lo9ts of nice hotels but this still stands out as one of the all round niceest, the rooms were lovely and the attention to detail fab, little things mean alot! also the view and the food were perfect, we will deff return here

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
Dear kaz36,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. The hotel is still equally as impressive as when it was orginally refurbished since your last visit with a few extra touches here and there. We have also just been awarded an AA rosette for food quality and service.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead soon.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just returned from our first visit to the Waterhead Hotel and it certainly won't be our last. The staff were friendly, helpful and really went out of their way to make you feel at home and well looked after. Food in the restaurant was excellent as was the location, having breakfast looking out onto Windermere and the snow covered peaks beyond was magical and just a 10-15 minute walk into Ambleside centre. Oh and the room, this must have been the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, fantastic.
Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
Dear Ste43,

Thank you for posting your recent review. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and got to enjoy the beautiful scenery the Lakes has to offer.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

The hotel is beautiful. Yes, there is a busy (for the lakes) road between it and the lake but not too bad that you would notice. Yes, the windows are small, but it is an old building. The rooms and communal areas of the hotel are done to a very high standard.
What lets it down is the usual English penny pinching attitude.
For a room with double occupancy I would expect it to be fairly obvious that there would need to be two bottles of still water (and two of sparkling, if offered). Also two sachets of bath salts would be required, as would (possibly) two shower caps.
Worst is their attitude if you have the temerity to show up without a credit card. Their policies simply do not allow for this, as a debit card, if used for payment, could bounce by the time of checkout. We had to pay over £300 on the debit card on arrival bacause of this policy. This is not an issue as it would have to be paid in 3 days anyway. However, we now have to remember to take a means of payment with us at every opportunity, to breakfast (to pay the £1.50 upgrade on some cooked items), lunch, and dinner, if we want a newpaper (to pay the £1 cost). Admittedly last night we had a £50 meal. This is 1/6 of the cost of the hotel that we have already paid. It is not likely that we will not be able to pay.
Anyway, nice room, bad policies, and inflexible staff who will treat you like a credit risk if you turn up without a credit card. Stay somewhere where they have heard of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Dear Mr. Hare,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. As a realist hotelier it is inevitable we cannot forfill every guest's expectations, however the team and I do our best to ensure all guests leave the hotel having had a great experience.
This is evident from the other reviews on trip advisor and the recognition of our recent award which is based primarily on customer service and positive reviews. Just to clarify our pre-authorisation procedure is one that is currently in use at all major hotels in the UK and worldwide and we only take an authorisation of a £1.
I will take your comments on board and appreciate your feedback.

Regards

Mark Needham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I have just got back from our two night stay at the Waterhead. We stayed in a luxury lake view room.

The good points:
• The hotel is located right on the edge of Lake Windermere and has lovely views of the lake and beyond. It is also a stone’s throw from waterhead pier, which is very handy for boat trips etc.
• The room was very spacious and had a huge bed- it was probably one of the comfiest I’ve ever slept in!
• The room was very clean and the beverage tray was replenished every day with a range of coffees, teas and hot chocolate. There was also fresh gingerbread and fruit in the room daily 
• The breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice. The staff were friendly and efficient.
• The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a good range of DVD’s to borrow from the DVD library.
• Since it was Valentine’s Day when we were there, we got back after breakfast to find a little box of chocolates on the bed which I thought was a lovely, thoughtful touch!

Now for the negatives. I must add these aren’t huge negatives, and didn’t ruin our break, but I feel they should be mentioned considering the price we paid for our stay (£444 for two nights bed and breakfast)
• When we entered the hotel we came through the back way from the car park and I must admit it did smell like I was entering an old people’s home! However this smell did seem to disappear once we were in our room and for the rest of the stay.
• Although the room was lovely and the view was equally as lovely, I do not feel it was worth the extra you pay for a luxury lakeside view. If there had been a balcony, my views on this may be different.
• The bathroom wasn’t anything special and you weren’t provided with bathrobes. Furthermore, the toiletries were obviously in reused bottles, which had a little tag on them saying they could be purchased at reception. I thought this was a little cheeky considering how much we had paid for the room. Most other 4 star hotels I have stayed in have provided free toiletries.
• The room service is NOT worth the money. There is not much choice on the menu and the food that is on there is extremely overpriced! We paid £14 for a steak sandwich and a few chips!!
• We dined in the restaurant on valentine’s night and must say we were really really disappointed. Firstly the atmosphere wasn’t very romantic, the music they were playing was quite loud and the same that was playing in the bar in the afternoon. I’m not saying i’d have liked it to be ott with cheesy heart balloons and Celine Dion playing in the background but i thought they may have gone to some effort to make it a little bit different from any other night of the week. Furthermore, we were not asked if everything was ok with our meal which i think is quite rude. In addition, the quality of the food was nothing special and very much overpriced.all in all i was extremely disappointed with the restaurant and would not recommend others to dine in there.

All in all we had a lovely stay and would probably visit again. However, we’d probably just opt for a standard room as I really don’t think there is much difference between a standard room and a luxury lake view room, besides the hefty price difference! we would also choose to dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjcm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Dear Pinksara,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. It is through constant feedback like yours we can monitor our procedures and make any changes necessary to ensure our customers expectations are met.
All of our luxury and classic rooms have bathrobes and slippers as a standard that are stored in the wardrobes. The bathroom toiletries, we provide are free to use in all rooms in large dispensers and they are available to purchase as gift sets at reception as many guests really like them.
Thank you again for your comments, i hope you choose to visit us again at the Waterhead, if so please contact me personally at the hotel.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Waterhead Hotel in January and were very impressed with the hotel. The location by the side of the lake is excellent, and opposite the hotel are the jetties for boarding the pleasure boats to other resorts on Windermere. Ambleside is a 20 minute walk away.
The hotel is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was very comfortable, modern and spacious. We even had a log effect fire on the wall in case we needed extra heat. Each room has a large LCD TV and DVD player and at reception is a well stocked DVD library. Coffee / tea making facilities are first class with a range of teas, a cafetiere and some bags of ground coffee. The bathroom was well planned and attractive with under floor heating as well as a modern spiral radiator ,towels were luxurious and the toiletries were of a designer range.
All the furniture, chrome light switches, bathroom fittings gleamed. The room was so clean and well cared for.
The food too is first class. Breakfast, looking out across the lake, was very enjoyable. We both had excellent cooked breakfasts (one vegetarian) and really enjoyed the wide selection of cereals, fruit and pastries.
The evening meal was also of a very high standard; lots of choice, excellent well-prepared dishes and a very good selection of wines and beers. The dining room has a lovely atmosphere with its modern decor and warm lighting.
The staff are so smart, friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to have discussions with them as they showed a real interest in you and your needs.
Hotel guests may use an excellent fitness centre and swimming pool at one of the sister hotels about a mile away. It also has an excellent ho tub.
This must surely be one of the leading hotels in Britain.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Dear David Haigh,

Thanks for the fantastic review you recently posted. I was glad to hear you had a great stay with us at the Waterhead. Your comments will be passed onto the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing