We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 18, 2006

On arrival at the hotel at around 10pm it was rather disconcerting to hear a terrible noise coming from the kitchen extractor. This seemed to permeate the corridors and also the rooms. Luckily as we arrived the kitchen closed and the noise stopped - how this would affect those staying in the hotel earlier I am not sure.

This was the only negative about the hotel. The room was gorgeous, very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was great and nicely decorated with underfloor heating and piped music! The bed was incredibly comfortable and there were some nice touches such as fresh fruit in the room and amazing gingerbread.

Breakfast was faultless - plenty of variety and the quality was excellent.

All in all a lovely place to stay, I just wish we were there longer than 12 hours!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bevldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

Having booked 2 nights b&b midweek for £270 we were looking forward to a luxurious (by our by no means snobby standards) mini break. Unfortunately we were disappointed in some ways (not all though)... The welcome was barely warm, we were rushed to our room (no. 5) chasing the receptionist down the stairs trying to keep up whilst listening to faint instructions floating past our ears, something about speakers in the bathroom and underfloor heating neither of us heard what was said.

On arrival to our room we had no complaints, 'it looked liked it did in the pictures' and everything worked. Perhaps a little smaller than expected and it was by the road but the noise wasn't too bad.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel partly because of the reviews we'd read prior to our stay and partly because of the poor choice (we only saw the evening menu during our stay - so couldn't comment on lunch). The breakfast like our room didn't disappoint there was plenty of choice and the service was good.

One big bug bear for both of us was to return to our room one evening and find the tv was on, the cushions had been removed from the bed and wrapped messily in the drape then thrown on the floor and then we found two face cloths soaking in the toilet - which reception did kindly come and remove for us!! Before we realised we'd had our turndown service we had thought that we'd been burgled :)

Although as mentioned the room was great and breakfast was good we just didn't feel that we'd got good value for money - perhaps we're too fussy in some respects as to how we spend our hard earned money! If we had money to burn then yes we'd stay here again but we won't be returning otherwise.

Would recommend: Lucy's on a Plate and the walk up to Jenkyn's Cragg - the views of the Lake are stunning. Would avoid: ever eating again at the Lighthouse in Windemere.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heres_trouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We stayed at the Waterhead for one night and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our brief stay. Our room was spacious, well equipped (tea making, plasma TV, DVD player, fruit, and water) and well decorated with a comfy bed. Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cereals, croissants, cheeses; fruit and you can order a selection of hot food. We also had dinner in the restaurant and although the menu only offered a relatively small selection of main courses there was something for everyone (meat, fish, vegetarian) and the food was of good quality - my only very slight gripe is that service was brisk, perhaps slightly rushed. The hotel has fabulous views across the lake and the boat trip office is conveniently located close by but it’s a good 1/2 mile walk back into Ambleside village itself. We had a great time and would definitely hope to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed here for 5 nights and had booked a deluxe waterview suite. They originally showed us #19, which was a nice room, but a very small window view. We then asked to see a different room and were shown #3 which is ground floor but has very nice window views. We did get some road noise, but it wasn't bad. I might be leery of this room in the summer as the outside patio is adjacent and we heard the music they play on the patio even though our windows were closed. The room and the decor were very nice and the bathroom was also very nice. Our adult children joined us for one night and their rooms were also very nice. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. We sent laundry out and it came back unpressed! Tried again the next day and printed on instructions - please press - again came back unpressed. We had heard about Lucy's on a Plate to eat. We ate there twice and it was very good. She also has another restaurant close by called Lucy 4 which is more of a casual dining place - we did not care for it at all. There is a great small restaurant in Windemere called Francine's, which turned out to be our favorite of all. The Waterhead is located very close to everything and overall was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cheshire, England
15
Reviewed May 6, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Enfield
15
Reviewed April 26, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $163 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing