We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in our favourite part of the UK - Lake District”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in our favourite part of the UK - Lake District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

This is one of the best hotels around here, if not THE best. The location is a delight, the service is superbly attentive whilst remaining non-obtrusive, the food is exquisite, the wine list good, the room a little small but expected in this area - the tasteful décor and flowers in reception more than made up for this.

I have never written such a good review. Full marks to the management and team for making our visit so memorable.

This is no ordinary hotel!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
Dear kevmar

Thank you for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    272
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
223
1,080
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Lovely hotel, greeted by the smell of lilies in the lobby & a pleasant welcome from the receptionist. Modern decor, decent sized room, nice bathroom, with bath & shower. Lovely breakfast, buffet & table service cooked breakfasts. Fantastic views across Lake Windermere. Good location, about a mile outside the centre of Ambleside, next to a bus stop, with links to Windermere train station & the rest of the Lakes, though buses are sparse later in the evening. Delicious Grasmere gingerbread left in the room each day. We didn't try the restaurant, dining at The Log House & The Glass House in Ambleside, both of which we could highly recommend. Fairly priced at £106 a night including breakfast. The only negative point is that the under floor heating made the room very hot, even on mild days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Dear TerraIncognito

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will share your comments with the rest of the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in anywhere. The staff are among the most friendly and efficient I have encountered, from reception to bar/restaurant to cleaner - they all had a smile and a greeting. The room we had overlooked Lake Windermere - a very pleasant view first thing in the morning. The room was well proportioned, very clean and tidy, and the bathroom was exceptionally well decorated and clean. One has to mention the shower (AMAZING) because if you have never experienced showering under a waterfall you have not lived!
The restaurant does not serve typical hotel food - it is way better than that! Many a fine restaurant would struggle to meet the quality and presentation of the food (and the breakfast was well worth having too!).
All in all I would recommend this hotel very highly, the only negative thing I could say about it is that I wish we had stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goatwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
Dear Goatwatcher

Many thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review, and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Waterhead.
Your kind comments will, of course, be passed on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the wonderful Waterhead hotel in Ambleside to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and already we can't wait to go back! From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel so welcome (the receptionist even knew it was our wedding anniversary even though I'm sure I only mentioned it once briefly on the phone!). The room was very comfortable and clean with a Lake view (which we weren't even expecting so a lovely surprise!). We loved the cute toy dog sleeping on the bed - very nice touch! The bathroom was very stylish and spotless. The bed was very large and comfortable.

We ate at the hotel on both nights of our stay and loved the food (we also got a very generous discount and a complimentary glass of champagne with the 'Relish' card so worth getting one of these if you are thinking of staying here and eating in the hotel's restaurant), the staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was fabulous and I could have quite happily sat there for hours enjoying the lovely food and the great view!

Every member of staff (receptionists, restaurant staff, housekeeping) we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful - they had even left us a card in our room wishing us Happy Anniversary (a lovely touch).

All in all we had a wonderful time and can't wait to return - might even bring the children next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
Dear jodanners

Thank you for the fantastic review following your recent stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and, in the meantime, many congratulations once again from all the team here at The Waterhead.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Three yr s after our last stay that was amazing, we decided to go again for my 30th. The small things were noticable that left us feeling a little let down from our last visit. We had loved the two mattress bed before but only got one this time - still comfy and huge though, but we barely slept in the heat (29 during the day). Bath plug had not been fixed - and i had read this on a previous review on here for the same room!!!! 4 * need to pay attention to detail for a 200 pound a night hotel!!!!, the previous occupants review leaflet had not been taken and a new one left for us. We had coffee the first morning, only to my annoyance the second morning find that it had not been cleaned out. We had a random phonecall and someone knocking at the door after breakfst. The tv was much smaller than the one our previous stay and it hurt ur eyes to see it as the room was an awkward shape and the tv was not adjacent to the bed.

Staff were very polite though and the waiter moved us to a bay view in the restaurant as the restaurant was quiet. the food is exquisit though i wouldtn reccoment the most expensive item on the menu - the steak - it does not even come with what it suggests on the menu, a random pancake is also put on top, no fries, and two purrees i had o idea what they were but i would have preferred proper veges! The first night i had the lamb and it was beautiful - i wish id had it the second night. The menu is a little OTT in its description of food but i guess they have to do that to make up for the price!!

i woud prob go back and hope it was like our first time??

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
Dear lozmozz

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, and I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.
I assure you that any necessary retraining will take place immediately regarding the issues you highlighted with the used cafetiere and guest questionnaire in your room.
I have searched Tripadvisor for previous comments regarding a bathplug, but have not found such a review going back to August 2008 - please rest assured that all maintenance issues are dealt with promptly and we would never leave any issue unresolved for future guests. The flat screen televisions in our rooms are the same ones as during your previous visit.
I am sorry that your steak was not to your liking - we do describe the dish accurately on the menu - ie the beef blade ravioli on top of the steak itself, and no indication that the dish is served with fries.
Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit, and I will be happy to make any arrangements necessary to ensure we do all we can to meet your expectations and ensure you haveanother memorable stay at The Waterhead.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Waterhead Hotel where we celebrated my partner's 40th birthday. This was our first stay at the hotel and we have every intention of going back soon.

I booked the trip after looking for somewhere special and first reading reviews on TA. Our experiences of staying in 4 star hotels in the UK without leisure facilities on site are usually very good as generally such hotels have to offer something a bit special to achieve 4 stars - we were not disappointed.
thanks again horsley

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Dear dezpet

Thanks for taking the time to post a great review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us.
Your kind comments will, of course, be passed on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed here 12 years ago on our honeymoon,when the hotel was still very traditional - and very comfortable. We have stayed a couple of times since then, but this was the first time since the upgrade/refurb.

It's lovely, and very comfortable, and the food's great. Our room was huge and well-equipped, and everything was spot on...except our room (2) was in what used to be the old hotel's dining room , and as someone else has said, it was on the ground floor, overlooked by the bar and we couldn't enjoy the lake view we had paid for as much as we would have liked, especially after dark (we stayed at the end of February).

The location couldn't be better, and we spent an afternoon in Ambleside (10 mins walk) then caught the earliest ferry into Bowness the following morning. We had a wonderful weekend altogether - I just wish we had been able to enjoy the view we had paid for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2009
Dear Moorfoot

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, although you felt that you didn't get the full benefit of the fantastic view of the lake and fells, especially at night.
We do have luxury rooms on the ground and first floors, and are always happy to offer alternative rooms in an effort to ensure each and every guest enjoys the full benefit of the great local scenery.
Please do feel free to contact me prior to your next visit, and I will be happy to discuss your requirements and book an appropriate room for you.
Thanks once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing