We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$136
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
$175
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,807 results
Traveler rating
1,429
304
57
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
304
57
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beansdog bedlow woodlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomsister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,637 - 1,642 of 1,807 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2009

we spent three nights at the waterhead for our honeymoon and enjoyed the best short break we've ever had. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world!! The receptionist was happy to help with our enquiries about local attractions and the bar staff were very knowledgeable about the food being offered on the menu. Next time we visit we will take advantage of the spa facilities at their sister hotel.
We will certainly be returning for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2009

Dear Abi09

Many thanks for the great review, and I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your honeymoon.
Please don't hesitate to get in contact prior to your next visit and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Congratulations on your wedding, and best wishes from all the team here at The Waterhead.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Waterhead at the beginning of June and were lucky enough to have the most fabulous weather. As it was my first time in the Lake District you can imagine how pleased I was to leave the waterproofs in the car for the whole week after all the warnings of how terrible the weather can be there.

On arrival at the hotel we parked easily enough and were offered help with our bags Check in was very quick and friendly. Our room was large and clean with lovely white linen sheets and fluffy towels. Dressing gowns and slippers are provided which is a nice touch and the toiletries were good quality and abundant. The rooms are decorated in a clean, modern style and the view over the lake added to the ambience.

The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were excellent with fresh ground coffee for the cafetiere. Beware of the Sarah Nelson gingerbread which is replaced every day and is totally addictive! Fresh fruit was also provided in the room on a daily basis, together with water and ice. Turn down service is provided but you can cancel this with reception if not required.

The most important meal for us when we travel is always the breakfast and the food provided at the Waterhead cannot be faulted. There was a good choice of cereals including porridge and an abundance of fresh and dried fruits, yogurts, fresh breads and cheese and ham. We’re not great meat eaters but we did have sausages, plenty of delicious eggs, smoked salmon and kippers. We did find that the coffee at breakfast is not as good/strong as the coffee provided in the room so we had our coffee in our room before breakfast. We only ate dinner at the hotel on our last night and although the food at Lucy’s and the Glass House had been great, the Waterhead restaurant provided the best meal of our stay – we had the Salmon on a bed of Saag aloo and summer pudding for dessert. Delicious!

If you stay at the Waterhead you can use the Spa facilities at the Low Wood Hotel just along the road. We did use the swimming pool once which was fine as hotel pools go but the changing facilities are a little tired and could do with an update. Not the cleanest changing facilities and not really on a par with the level of quality of the Waterhead. If we were having bad weather we would have wanted to use it more, but as it was so hot it didn't really matter to us but may be a consideration to those with children.

Major upsides – friendliness and efficiency of staff, relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and the views, cleanliness or rooms and excellent food.

Minor downsides – noise from the road in front of the hotel but the traffic virtually stopped around 7pm, the fact that the garden allows smoking even though food is served in there during the day. The tables are quite close together and we were “smoked over” several times and had to move. There is a separate garden at the front of the hotel and I would suggest the hotel management allocate this as a smoking area to relieve those of us who like our lungs just the way they are. After all, most people are here to walk/take some form of exercise.

Something we laughed at – a recording of the Tales of Beatrix Potter is played in the loos which is a nice touch but Wainwright’s Walks are played in the parking area and by the fourth day we wanted to strangle him whilst trying to navigate between concrete pillars in the compact but bijou car park! Those who have visited will know exactly what we mean….

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpernickelYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2009

Dear pumpernickelYork

Many thanks for the fantastic review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Please do contact me prior to your next stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead oin the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Waterhead Hotel on the 31st May for one night. We booked direct through the hotel and received a big discount compared to what other booking websites were quoting.

The staff on reception were friendly and efficient, however it wasn't until later we realised we didn't know where the bar and the dining room was... but that wasn't difficult to work out!

Ours was a standard room (with no lake view guaranteed) - but we had a lovely lake view from our bathroom window :o) Our room was gorgeous, with modern decor and everything you need for your stay (even if it is just one night!). Fresh fruit, ice-box with ice, bottled water, masses of tea and coffee and local gingerbread....... the list goes on!

We must have stayed during the hottest weekend of the year, which is a bit of a shame as we spent very little time in the hotel. We ate at a restaurant in Ambleside (15 minute walk on the top road - the bottom road is longer!) (The Glasshouse - delicious meal - but don't get the Prawn cocktail!) as our stay was so short we wanted to visit more than one establishment - but after the breakfast we had, if we had been staing longer we would definately have dined in the Waterhead restaurant (The Bay View?)

I have to point out the bed - this was the best night's sleep I have had away from home in a long time, so that definately ticks a box for me!

As I mentioned before the weather and the length of our stay was maybe against us a little as we weren't able to appreciate the hotel fully.... so maybe a trip to The Waterhead will need to be booked for later in the year...... I certainly hope so! xx

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cygneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

Dear cygneus

Thanks for the fantastic review, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Please do get in contact with me prior to your next visit, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed here as a last minute booking for one night and were really impressed by the contemporary style, especially the bedrooms. The beds were really comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The hotel is a short walk from Ambleside and in a good location, with Lake Windemere opposite and a good pub right across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2009

Dear MichelleDerby

Thanks for taking the time to post a great review and I was pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
Your kind comments will, of course, be passed on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We travelled to this hotel after attending a wedding in scotland. We needed a place to recuperate after a hectic weekend and this hotel completely fitted the bill. From a friendly welcome on arrival at reception, to finding a lovely room waiting for us we could not have made a better choice. We had a lake view room complete with binoculars and underfloor heating. The restaurant was excellent and again we could not fault the staff or food which was fresh, inventive and tasted divine. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the lakes and discounted trips on the lake are available when staying at the hotel. There were lots of things about this hotel that were unique, from the slate waterfall in the bar area, to the beatrix potter stories playing out in the w.c's and car park. Sadly we only had two nights here but would love to return in the future.
On a lighter note my partner said the gents urinal in the bar area deserved loo of the year for design ( another slate waterfall ).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Dear jules364

Thanks so much for the fantastic review, and it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay - in particular, the little touches that we believe can make all the difference to your time spent with us.
Your kind comments will, of course, be passed on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews